Jump to content


Photo

Hd500x?


  • Please log in to reply
95 replies to this topic

#81 sloppyfingers

sloppyfingers

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts

Posted 11 July 2013 - 07:08 PM

I'm only speaking for myself, but about 9 years ago I got this shiny thing called "Guitar Port"..It was the kewlest thing ever..I still have it, and it doesn't owe me a cent..1Close to 20 years ago I remember thinking that one day we'll be able to have effects run from our computers (i believe it was already happening then).I never dreamt that this new technology called  amp modelling  will be on our pc's exceeding my dreams of running effecs.

 

Fast forward to today, and I swear i can run 5 guitarists out of my apartment if i include my  home stereo system as one of the power sources for said modelling devices.

 

I have the basic gearbox, and now Jam vox software.Basically through Guitar Port, I now have the option of running Gear box or Jam vox.

On my i pod touch I have I -rig, and now that my wife bought me an I pad mini, I had to go out and buy the  latest.I -rig Hd to run amplitube on it.

I upgraded my pod xt to the hd 500 about three years ago, and to really truth be told my Marshall combo is good enough on it's own without running modellers in front of it. Why would I model a Marshall into a Marshall anyways..My hd 500 does sound great with my 4x12 and marshall rack power amp though.

 

Look I'm not bragging about my gear..it's actually a lil sad that i buy into the latest and greatest  shiny gadgets that come out (it is fun though !).

The point is that I personally will not be trading in my hd 500 for the 500x.I don't run duel amps..The 500 has enough processing power for me.

I spent two weeks this past winter finally programming this thing properly. At some point we have to say "screw it" and stick to what we got until it dies.

Yes I'm trying to convince myself and resist the urge, but I'm sure that this is it as far as amplication goes for me..knowing my nature, I'm surprised that I'm not all over the 500x..I must of been cured finally! The pod hd 500 is a great unit, so why change up? 

 

Rambling on now over


  • 0

#82 Rational_666aze

Rational_666aze

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 11 July 2013 - 07:22 PM

Well I doubt there's any upgrade process so I'll have to sell my hd500 if I want it. Does anyone know if my warranty can be transfered? I only bought my hd500 a year ago and got a 3 year warranty.

 

Pound for pound it's not a huge improvement but its worth it to me, losing a hundred or so dollars on reselling my hd500 to get the added dsp. I use it live on a regular basis so I've more than got my value out of it. It'll be nice to use dual amp setups(along with delays and reverbs) without running out of dsp. Makes it more pheasible for me to run it direct or into a power amp instead of running it 4cm with a head.


  • 0

#83 bjnette

bjnette

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1071 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 11 July 2013 - 11:46 PM

Yeah with bands like MUSE and DAFT PUNK and others the ability to create new guitar tones is the modern trend.

I totally understand, Even our old standard tones were once "the new sound" 

I thought a new model wouldn't work but I can see why Line 6 have released it.  


  • 0

#84 toneman2121

toneman2121

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2788 posts
  • Locationphilly
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 12 July 2013 - 03:32 AM

Well I doubt there's any upgrade process so I'll have to sell my hd500 if I want it. Does anyone know if my warranty can be transfered? I only bought my hd500 a year ago and got a 3 year warranty.

i'm 99% sure the warranty is transferable. there is a FAQ somewhere in the knowledge base. and i'd plan on loosing a little more than $100 because i've seen new hd 500 for$400. but with the warranty transfer, which is excellent and i also have it, is a good selling point. 


  • 0

I'M SO HAPPY!


#85 silverhead

silverhead

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 15566 posts
  • LocationOntario, Canada
  • Registered Products:15

Posted 12 July 2013 - 03:58 AM

...Does anyone know if my warranty can be transfered? I only bought my hd500 a year ago and got a 3 year warranty...

 

The Line 6 warranty is for one year, and is definitely transferable - it is a device warranty not an ownership warranty. If you have a three year warranty then it is offered by someone else, likely the store where you bought it. You will have to ask them about transferability.


  • 0
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans.
.... John Lennon

#86 toneman2121

toneman2121

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2788 posts
  • Locationphilly
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 12 July 2013 - 04:15 AM

if you bought the warranty at GC called pro coverage, it is transferable. it's in the warranty booklet, i had to look it up


  • 0

I'M SO HAPPY!


#87 Guitarmaniac64

Guitarmaniac64

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 12 July 2013 - 10:16 PM

Well i dont know if i need this update it is very rare that i have got the "your out of DSP power" message it happend sometime after i bought it (got the desktop version) and wanted to try everything (mostly when i had pitch harmony which b.t.w sucks and Line6 attemt to mimic the talk box)

After that i learned that if you want those effects you had to cut down on dist,comp,mod etc etc otherwise the unit cant handle the data it requires


  • 0

#88 Rational_666aze

Rational_666aze

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 12 July 2013 - 10:34 PM

i'm 99% sure the warranty is transferable. there is a FAQ somewhere in the knowledge base. and i'd plan on loosing a little more than $100 because i've seen new hd 500 for$400. but with the warranty transfer, which is excellent and i also have it, is a good selling point. 

 

 

The Line 6 warranty is for one year, and is definitely transferable - it is a device warranty not an ownership warranty. If you have a three year warranty then it is offered by someone else, likely the store where you bought it. You will have to ask them about transferability.

 

 

if you bought the warranty at GC called pro coverage, it is transferable. it's in the warranty booklet, i had to look it up


I got it at GC and it is the 3 year pro coverage. I should clarify in my question though in asking...do you know if I can transfer my warranty from the old pod to the new pod. If not then I'm including the warranty with my pod when I sell it and transferring the warranty to whoever I sell it to so I can get some of my money back and get a new warranty with the new pod...say that 10 times fast. Sorry for bugging you guys with these questions when I could FAQ it but I'm the type of person that would rather just ask someone directly...but I will do some more research in the meantime. 

Thanks again. 


  • 0

#89 toneman2121

toneman2121

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2788 posts
  • Locationphilly
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 13 July 2013 - 02:43 AM

no problem. i don't know about that, but probably not. just sell it with the warranty. you'll probably sell it quicker, but i wouldn't ask for more than $300.  it's used, new 500's are going for $400 and it's the "old" model


  • 0

I'M SO HAPPY!


#90 mralmostpopular

mralmostpopular

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 13 July 2013 - 10:58 PM

Just a note for anyone looking to upgrade, the HD500X uses a different file format than the HD500 (.5xe for the 500X, .h5e for the 500). I went ahead and tried simply changing the extension, and they do seem to open in the new edit software. I haven't noticed any issues, but I also haven't yet had a chance to go through and make sure that they retained all of their settings. The reasoning for making a new file format was probably for the customtone gallery, but it seems like an odd move for them not to make the 500X directly backwards compatible with the older format. Luckily, I only had a handful of patches for the 500, but someone who's made a ton of patches over the last couple of years is probably going to find the process of changing the file format and testing the patches to be very tedious.
  • 1

#91 Astaroth_CY

Astaroth_CY

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 14 July 2013 - 07:22 AM

Ugh, I was hoping they wouldn't do that. That's totally unnecessary.
  • 0

#92 DragonRM

DragonRM

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • LocationLakewood, CO
  • Registered Products:7

Posted 14 July 2013 - 08:21 AM

Not a big enough upgrade for me right now from the 500... I'll wait for the pro-x or the likelihood of a 600 or something new next year...
  • 0
Pod X3 Live
Pod HD 500
DT50 212
DT25 Cab
DT50 HD Head
DT50 412 Cab
JTV 89
JTV 89f
G50

#93 lilguitar

lilguitar

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 14 July 2013 - 12:05 PM

Just a note for anyone looking to upgrade, the HD500X uses a different file format than the HD500 (.5xe for the 500X, .h5e for the 500). I went ahead and tried simply changing the extension, and they do seem to open in the new edit software. I haven't noticed any issues, but I also haven't yet had a chance to go through and make sure that they retained all of their settings. The reasoning for making a new file format was probably for the customtone gallery, but it seems like an odd move for them not to make the 500X directly backwards compatible with the older format. Luckily, I only had a handful of patches for the 500, but someone who's made a ton of patches over the last couple of years is probably going to find the process of changing the file format and testing the patches to be very tedious.

 

I've been beating this drum for a while now on backwards compatibility...utterly disappointing considering the minor upgrade to the X.

 

This is exactly the amateur Mickey Mouse BS that will keep users from upgrading...the fix is so simple! The common theme that resonates with what the user community wants is "ease of use". Give me Global EQ, so I don't have to EQ every patch when the room I'm in is too bassy/trebly...give me EQ in HZ to make it easier for me to understand what I'm tweaking...give me a power switch, so I can leave my POD plugged in...make the edit screen easier to navigate, make the screen bigger so its easier for me to see on stage.

The biggest one of all...don't make me start over building all my patches again!! Is anyone at Line 6 listening?

Please report back if you found some inconsistencies in your patch transfer...and good luck!


  • 0

#94 mralmostpopular

mralmostpopular

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 14 July 2013 - 01:25 PM

Please report back if you found some inconsistencies in your patch transfer...and good luck![/size]


So far, so good. I haven't come across any inconsistencies. It looks like changing the file extension is the solution. My guess is that they changed the extension for the customtone gallery, without changing the actual file structure. You don't want HD500 users downloading patches made for the DSP capabilities of the 500X, so I understand that decision. They should have made the software compatible with the HD500 patches, though. Not doing that makes little sense to me.
  • 0

#95 SjPedro

SjPedro

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 08 September 2013 - 09:07 AM

actually it is compatible if you open the files on the editor. I have tried it, on the flile selection where it says "file type" just change to "all" and you can just double click to open them


  • 0

#96 silverhead

silverhead

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 15566 posts
  • LocationOntario, Canada
  • Registered Products:15

Posted 08 September 2013 - 11:09 AM

...or, even more simply, just drag/drop a HD500 preset file into any preset slot in HD500x Edit. It will open without difficulty and then you can SEND it to the device.


  • 0
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans.
.... John Lennon