Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

4cm and bypassing my preamp

lcrump29

hey guys im a noob to the line 6 world although i had a digitect rp1000 for a few years im not that new to amp modelers..but by far the hd500x blows away anything ive ever played through. my question is when im using the 4cm does this bypass the preamp on my amp which is a rocktron replitone 212. all i want to use is the power amp in my combo and get all the tone from the hd500x so is there any settings i need to change in order to do this or just use the fx send and return on my amp and thats it...thats the way is was withe the rp1000 and i just wanna make sure before i do it that way

You can go into the power amp of your amp. The output setting of the Pod should be set appropriately. Although you could try all the output settings. As far as the cable routings I think there's 3 ways you could do it. I do think you'll have more control with the 4CM though. You should just try a few different set ups to see what gives. I can't see it taking that much time.

Edited by Brazzy

i was just checking cause ive saw where some people add their amp in the fx loop but i didnt wanna do that

I'm certainly not the say all end all, hopefully you get more reply's. When I feel up to it I like to try as much as I can with routing. I find it fun. When I take break from playing I play around with options.

If you want to bypass the preamp entirely on the amp, and just want to hear the HD500 in all its glory, i

would get rid of the 4 cable method, and run the HD500 output(s) directly in the amps FX Return(s).

4CM is great if you want to switch between all combinations with preamp inline, but trickier. Your

patches will be easier to build, and less tap-dancing on footswitches if you can do without the preamp.

• Upvote 1