Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

What is Global EQ (GEQ)

dhewer

Hi Group.

Dumb question(s), but what is GEQ?  How different is it from the current firmware for the POD 500X?  Where will it be?

What changes if any to 'the tone'?  Is there something on the board now that I am not aware of?

I really like the POD 500X....But I am still new to it. Thanks

dH

WHAT IS IT? 

Think about your Master Volume. That is what the Master EQ is. >>> I am calling it Master EQ from now on, its easier for some to understand. 

It is separate from all of the other eq's. It is the MASTER. 

WHERE IS IT? 

Right now, it is nowhere. It has not been released yet. 

If I understood it correctly (I didn't pay too much attention to this part), it will be adjusted using the physical 'amp' knobs. 

**see the correct place a couple posts down. 

WHAT CHANGES TO ANY TONE? 

No changes to your tone, other than  -- HELLO, ITS AN EQ. But you can bypass it when not needed.   

The best usage for it is for 'room shaping'. That way, when you are in a different room, which will have different acoustics, you can adjust your tone without changing your patches. Much like a master volume, you can adjust how loud you need to be given a particular situation. You can adjust your EQ. 

I don't like how Charlie said that it is there for all of your patches. He is right, but his wording may confuse people. It has nothing to do with your patches. 

• Upvote 2

WHERE IS IT? 

Right now, it is nowhere. It has not been released yet. 

If I understood it correctly (I didn't pay too much attention to this part), it will be adjusted using the physical 'amp' knobs.