Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

How to record through USB

tpodgorski85

Hi everyone

I've been looking for a comprehensive answer to this all over the Internet and somehow just cannot find a guide that would explain things from start to finish.

The question is: What do you do to achieve good sound when you connect a Line 6 POD HD (500, in my case) to a PC, using USB?

I've connected mine, installed Line 6 Monkey, made sure all software is up-to-date, set Studio/Direct output mode on the POD, set the POD as a soundcard (both for output and recording), but the sound is far from one would expect.

Here's a sample:
http://www.filedropper.com/line6directusbsample

I'm not an expert in recording or sound engineering - probably like most people who buy a POD and would like to have decent sound when hooking it up to a PC.

How are you monitoring your sound? You should be using the Pod audio outputs. Also, make sure you are using a USB 2.0 port, not USB 3, and make sure you are using the Pod's ASIO driver.

In at least my case, I had to switch to a USB 3 port. I was having problems on a USB 2 port. Go figure.

How are you monitoring your sound? You should be using the Pod audio outputs. Also, make sure you are using a USB 2.0 port, not USB 3, and make sure you are using the Pod's ASIO driver.

I connect it to USB 2.0 - but I can check 3.0 and let you know. I connect my headphones (http://www.amazon.com/Brainwavz-HM5-Studio-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B006MA9XXM) to the Phones output on the POD and anything that comes from the PC through this output sounds fine (except the guitar, of course). As far as the drivers, I'm using the POD's ASIO, not ASIO4All (I uninstalled the latter).

Took a listen to the sample. What exactly are you hearing that you think is wrong? There's nothing there that immediately jumps out at me.