Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Want to trigger patch/effects changes via Logic (HD PRO)

dryicekills

I'm fronting an acoustic rock/folk band, and I've been using some effects on the HD Pro to really liven up the sound of both vocals and guitar (dual patch). However, singing and playing the parts sometimes prove too much when trying to trigger these changes. If I wanted to trigger all of my effect/path changes from a DAW session running click tracks, where would I start? I'm totally new to MIDI. I know that the POD doesn't act as a MIDI interface on its own. Would one of those M-Audio Uno cables do the trick? and where do I start within the session? Thanks.

At minimum, you'd want something listed here. I use a cheap one with an HD500X and Reaper with no problems.

Then take a look at appendix B of the advanced user guide for the specific information about CC#s, PC messages, etc.

Not exactly sure what Click Tracks is or how it might affect your DAW's use of outgoing midi messages, but you'll also have to figure out the actual sending of midi from whatever DAW you use.

I do this in Logic with excellent results.  I setup my backing tracks including some keyboard parts, guitar rhythm when I'm playing solo and other parts to better fill out our songs.  I also do all of my MIDI programming within the program.  I bounce all of the audio and export the MIDI tracks into Ableton Live when I perform though.

I'm sure there could be easier ways to do this, but I've been doing it this way so long and it works for my purposes.

1: To setup in Logic you will need to view the event list by choosing Show>View List Editors.

2: In this Event List you program your changes.  Set your playhead at the position along the timeline when you want a change to occur.