Photo

First Run Of Xd-v75 - Getting Distortion. Please Advise.

distortion hiss modulation xd-v75

Best Answer RonMarton , 12 July 2013 - 09:05 PM

In considering what I'm about to say, tangierc...

It may be handy for you to know that I'm a professional TV Sound Supervisor/Audio Director with over forty years of experience, travelling the world covering live (or "as live") events for audiences who are both at those events and listening "at home".

That being said, as part of training some younger members of my team, they and I have spent some time listening vary carefully to both of your (truly excellent) samples via monitoring that is truly "state of the art", (Focal monitors and Sennheiser HD25 headsets) with the result that we can unequivocally settle one of your queries...

(Drum roll. please...)

The adapter cables you are using to connect both of your mics to the XD-V75 beltpack are definitely, absolutely, certainly and beyond any doubt correctly wired.

(Tish-boom !) :)

Now to the trickier stuff.

...I got the same distortion sounds and hiss behind the voice that modulated up and down...

It'll probably surprise you to hear that there's not a lot wrong with either of your samples.

Indeed, the ONLY artefact present that might be attributed to an XD-V system is the slight "opening and closing around each word" effect ...and that sound is one that we would attribute to your receiver's "Dynamic Filter" probably being set to "NORM" rather than "OFF", exactly as predicted by the amazing Mr Boomer.

Given that, in your situation, I would probably be operating (especially when using any headset mic that a pastor might wear) with my receiver's "Dynamic Filter" set to its far harsher "TALK" mode, the truly infinitesimally minimal amount of residual hiss (roughly 40 to 65 dB below the voice) that's in your samples would never be audible over the ambient noise of your location, regardless of how quietly attentive your congregation might be.