Jump to content


Photo

Dull String On Jtv-69

jtv-69

  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 steevw7

steevw7

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Registered Products:5

Posted 17 July 2013 - 11:49 AM

I recently bought a used JTV-69 from a studio that used it for 1 session (great deal). Took it to my tech for a setup and I noticed my g string sounds dull. Doesn't ring clear like the rest. Doesn't appear to be a nut issue as the fretted notes do it too. Also, sounds dull without being plugged in. Changed strings twice..tried 010's and 009's. Anyone out there have this issue? Maybe a saddle issue?

 

thx guys


  • 0

#2 thorneven

thorneven

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Location"Upstate" New York
  • Registered Products:8

Posted 17 July 2013 - 09:42 PM

I have a similar issue.  I wouldn't call it a "dull" string.  I would say the G string's volume is simply not as loud as the other strings.  Since all the string volumes are at max in my case (and which is the default), it's probably a good idea to achieve unity gain (all volumes the same) which means lowering the volume on the other strings to match the volume of the G string when the G string is at max volume.

 

Then again, maybe your problem is indeed a dull sound which may be a faulty piezo pickup.


  • 0

1969 Les Paul Custom / Spider V 120 / FBV long board.  FORMERLY: JTV-59 + Pod HD500X + Spider IV, Vetta 2 / Behringer FCB1010


#3 steevw7

steevw7

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Registered Products:5

Posted 18 July 2013 - 03:44 AM

Doubt it's the piezo since it still sounds that way when unplugged. String just doesn't ring or sustain....open or fretted.


  • 0

#4 snhirsch

snhirsch

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • LocationBurlington, VT USA
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 18 July 2013 - 04:01 AM

Doubt it's the piezo since it still sounds that way when unplugged. String just doesn't ring or sustain....open or fretted.

 

Have you tried another set of strings?  There may be an issue with the material the string is made from.  Also worth checking the bridge saddle and the nut under a magnifying glass.  If the bridge saddle is loose in the bridge that can soak up energy and dull out the string.  Ditto if the nut slot is slanted in the wrong direction.   If all else fails, try raising the action a bit and see if that helps.


  • 0

40 years of Rock-n-Roll and proud of it!

 

PRS Custom 24 (1990)

James Tyler Variax JTV-69(k) w/ Strat Neck

Fender / Roland GC-1 Guitar

Boss GP-10 13-pin Processor

Antares ATG-1 Autotune Pedal

Fender Mustang III.v2 Modeling Amp

 


#5 steevw7

steevw7

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Registered Products:5

Posted 18 July 2013 - 10:03 AM

Cool, I'll take a look closer at the bridge. The nut seems ok as it still does it on fretted notes. tried 2 sets on strings. thx all!


  • 0

#6 psarkissian

psarkissian

    Line 6 Staff

  • Service Engineer Moderator
  • 1739 posts
  • LocationCalabasas, CA

Posted 22 July 2013 - 03:26 PM

-Set-Up: string action height of the individual piezo, go to a guitar tech or set-up tech for this. Leave it to a pro, I can't count how many times I've had to undo someone else's good hearted attempt at a guitar set-up.

 

-Burr in the nut slot. They ought to be de-burred from time to time by a guitar tech. Had a few come back where someone would do it themselves and sand the slot too deep trying to remove a burr, and it required a new string nut.

 

-String going out, G's are the worst for this sort of thing.

 

-Changing string gauges when you change strings throws off the Set-Up. If you changes gauges when you change strings (a set with 9-gauge instead of a set with a 10-gauge), then a guitar tech will need to do a new set-up on it for the new gauge and tension.

 


  • 0

#7 steevw7

steevw7

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Registered Products:5

Posted 28 July 2013 - 08:26 AM

So you know, had it set up twice by a local tech. Although he is not familiar with variax. Played a gig over the weekend and it was ok, but still, my 300 plays better. I just don't get that. Looking for someone to do a proper setup and troubleshoot on these is not easy. Any suggestions? I am in south jersey.
  • 0

#8 psarkissian

psarkissian

    Line 6 Staff

  • Service Engineer Moderator
  • 1739 posts
  • LocationCalabasas, CA

Posted 29 July 2013 - 07:49 AM

When a piezo goes out, it goes out. Since you say that it sounds dull even when it's not plugged in, more than likely something loose mechanically between the bridge and the tuning machines. Could be the nut slots need to be de-burred, the string button end might not be seated properly,..... I see those two way too often.

 

Line 6 Customer Support can point you to an authorized service center in your area who would know Line 6 products. Sending it to Line 6 for servicing if the other options are exhausted. Get with Line 6 Customer Support for those options.


  • 0

#9 big_vin

big_vin

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 23 October 2014 - 11:46 PM

Hi, I know this is an old thread but I too have the same 'dull' string problem. It's the G that's the problem and I've had my guitar tech look at the problem and it's the same even when not plugged in. I have a new nut - but it can't be this as the 'dullness' is still there when the string is fretted. It's not buzzing on a fret - my tech says it has to be a problem with the bridge saddle/pickup.

I'm just wondering was a solution found to rectify this?

Thanks in advance,

Vin
  • 0

#10 Charlie_Watt

Charlie_Watt

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2515 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 24 October 2014 - 06:15 AM

Is it "Dull" with the mag pickups?  If so, it's a mechanical problem. (probably at the bridge if it does it fretted).  Look carefully at how it breaks off at the bridge end.  Something is damping it if it's dull.  I assume you have tried replacing the strings.


  • 0

#11 snhirsch

snhirsch

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • LocationBurlington, VT USA
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 24 October 2014 - 07:07 AM

In my experience, fret buzz on solid G strings tends to manifest as a "dull" sound.  Try raising the bridge saddle a bit and see if that helps. 


  • 0

40 years of Rock-n-Roll and proud of it!

 

PRS Custom 24 (1990)

James Tyler Variax JTV-69(k) w/ Strat Neck

Fender / Roland GC-1 Guitar

Boss GP-10 13-pin Processor

Antares ATG-1 Autotune Pedal

Fender Mustang III.v2 Modeling Amp

 


#12 zaphodboy

zaphodboy

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 229 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 24 October 2014 - 07:17 AM

I had my JTV59 professionally set up after having the guitar for 12 months or so. The guitar tech put .10 gauge strings on by mistake, which I actually quite liked (.11s were previously fitted). He offered to swap them back to .11s but I told him I would give them a try. Before I had the set up all the strings rang out as they should but shortly after getting it back one of the strings (can't be 100% sure but I think it was the G) went very dull. Swapped the strings back to .11s and problem solved. 

 

I think .11s are fitted by Line 6 out of the factory so maybe that's the answer.


  • 0

#13 psarkissian

psarkissian

    Line 6 Staff

  • Service Engineer Moderator
  • 1739 posts
  • LocationCalabasas, CA

Posted 24 October 2014 - 08:21 AM

JTV guitars are strung with D'Addario XL-110 (10 to 46 gauge) from the factory.

 

When you change the gauge, you change the tension, when you change the tension,

you change the set-up. When changing gauges, be sure to have the guitar re-set up

by a guitar tech for that gauge set.


  • 0

#14 big_vin

big_vin

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 24 October 2014 - 09:05 AM

Thanks for the reply guys.

It's not fret buzz and the sound is there regardless of if it's plugged in.... So it's not an electrical problem. The problem is still there even with new strings.... I use 11's.

It's puzzling....
  • 0

#15 Charlie_Watt

Charlie_Watt

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2515 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 24 October 2014 - 12:27 PM

Got to be something with the bridge saddles for  that string since you say it's there when you fret the string. (eliminates the nut)


  • 0

#16 snhirsch

snhirsch

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • LocationBurlington, VT USA
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 24 October 2014 - 03:50 PM

I have to disassemble my JTV-69 this weekend to replace a dead transducer.  While it's apart I'm going to take a very close look at how the transducers contact the bridge pieces.  I've long had suspicions about both mechanical and electrical issues in this area.  For example, if the bottom of the transducer has a slight rise in the middle and a little side-to-side "slop" it might be capable of draining energy from the string.


  • 0

40 years of Rock-n-Roll and proud of it!

 

PRS Custom 24 (1990)

James Tyler Variax JTV-69(k) w/ Strat Neck

Fender / Roland GC-1 Guitar

Boss GP-10 13-pin Processor

Antares ATG-1 Autotune Pedal

Fender Mustang III.v2 Modeling Amp

 


#17 big_vin

big_vin

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 24 October 2014 - 03:53 PM

Thanks again for the replies - I'll let you know if I get it sorted.

Vin
  • 0

#18 bigmac11

bigmac11

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 04 November 2014 - 06:45 PM

try adjusting the saddle towards the bridge to increase the downward tension on it.  I lowered my bridge and had the same problem with my low E string.   I set it back a bit and now works fine.


  • 0

#19 snhirsch

snhirsch

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • LocationBurlington, VT USA
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 05 November 2014 - 04:57 AM

My vote is still on poor ground connectivity being behind about 80% or more of the "weak string" issues on JTV-69s.  Adding ground wires cured a "dead" low-E string and general uneven volume problems on mine.


  • 0

40 years of Rock-n-Roll and proud of it!

 

PRS Custom 24 (1990)

James Tyler Variax JTV-69(k) w/ Strat Neck

Fender / Roland GC-1 Guitar

Boss GP-10 13-pin Processor

Antares ATG-1 Autotune Pedal

Fender Mustang III.v2 Modeling Amp

 


#20 Charlie_Watt

Charlie_Watt

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2515 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 05 November 2014 - 07:13 AM

I agree that grounding is most likely the issue.  I had this problem on my 500 for many years on and off.  I would wiggle things and it would work well again for a while.  I replaced the pickups with Ghost pickups that had two wires each and that cured the problem.


  • 0

#21 snhirsch

snhirsch

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • LocationBurlington, VT USA
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 05 November 2014 - 03:27 PM

I considered the Ghost pickup route, but another user (was it you?  Don't recall...) mentioned that the height adjust set screws did not align well with the milled grooves on the bridge plate (JTV-69).  Also, I believe that a set of (6) with the proper offset was a special order from GraphTec.


  • 0

40 years of Rock-n-Roll and proud of it!

 

PRS Custom 24 (1990)

James Tyler Variax JTV-69(k) w/ Strat Neck

Fender / Roland GC-1 Guitar

Boss GP-10 13-pin Processor

Antares ATG-1 Autotune Pedal

Fender Mustang III.v2 Modeling Amp

 


#22 Charlie_Watt

Charlie_Watt

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2515 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 05 November 2014 - 03:54 PM

It was not me.  I have a 69S but with the stock bridge and pickups.  I put the ghost pickups on my 500 over a year ago.  I have not had any dropout problems yet with my 69S but I had them a few times with the 500 and I am absolutely sure it was grounding.  I could always get it back by fooling with the bridge.  The fixed bridge on the 500 was a good match for the ghost Strat pickups with the screw in the center.  I think they make offset ones now that may work with the JTV 69 but I have not looked into that other than seeing what goes on here.  The 500 sounds better with the ghost pickups but I had to drop the string volumes to about 50% to handle the far greater output from them.


  • 0

#23 snhirsch

snhirsch

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • LocationBurlington, VT USA
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 06 November 2014 - 04:48 AM

According to SteveKC, the string volume adjustment happens in the digital domain after A-D conversion.  If that's the case, I'd be concerned about hotter pickupts overrunning the A-D stage.  I assume you're not hearing any such ugliness?


  • 0

40 years of Rock-n-Roll and proud of it!

 

PRS Custom 24 (1990)

James Tyler Variax JTV-69(k) w/ Strat Neck

Fender / Roland GC-1 Guitar

Boss GP-10 13-pin Processor

Antares ATG-1 Autotune Pedal

Fender Mustang III.v2 Modeling Amp

 


#24 Charlie_Watt

Charlie_Watt

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2515 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 06 November 2014 - 05:59 AM

Not hearing any clipping.  But if I did, I would lower the gain of the analog amplifier stage before the A/D's.


  • 0

#25 brue58ski

brue58ski

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1453 posts
  • Registered Products:13

Posted 06 November 2014 - 09:11 PM

OK I've recently gotten the high E, low level problem and this has been my solution. So far it works and is  cheap and easy. Apparently the connection to ground happens due to the contact between the piezo and bridge itself. There seems to be some slop in there so I can see how it could get grimy in there and create a less than good connection for ground. I sprayed some electronic cleaner into the piezo area using the thin straw and so far...Problem Solved!!!!!!  i specifically used Radio Shack's Precision Electronics Cleaner. It leaves no residue although when you first spray you'll probably start cursing.me. But I swear it goes away. It's been two weeks. I have changed my string and resprayed all the piezos again. I attempt to change my strings every month so I'll let you know if the cleansing keeps the problem away for a month. I think just a monthly squirt of electronics cleaner will end your string lownessdullness factor. Mostly because it's taken a year (or more) for this problem to start.


  • 0

#26 GrahamGunn

GrahamGunn

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 07 November 2014 - 04:59 PM

I've recently bought a new JTV69s and tonight the G string kept dropping out. After unplugging and plugging back in the string was back, only to drop out again some minutes later. Will check brue58ski's solution to see if that helps.


  • 0

#27 GrahamGunn

GrahamGunn

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 08 November 2014 - 10:28 AM

I've recently bought a new JTV69s and tonight the G string kept dropping out. After unplugging and plugging back in the string was back, only to drop out again some minutes later. Will check brue58ski's solution to see if that helps.

 

Sorry, no change. The piezo works when totally out of the bridge, just not when in place. (Off to the repairer?)


  • 0

#28 faisal6863

faisal6863

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 21 July 2015 - 11:39 AM

got a jtv 69 about a week ago

 

1. plays almost ok in normal mode.. problem : the 1st E string has a bit lower in volume than all other strings)

 

2. in variax mode the 1st E and the 2nd B string volume is much lower .. say about 4 to 6 db.. 

 

3. the 1st E string is the lowest..

 

4. the 4th D string is a bit low too but workable..

 

5. the 3rd G string is the loudest..

 

6. ******   this is happening consistently across all the models********. 

 

now, i know string volume can be adjusted using workbench..but adjusting all the volume of all the strings across all the models is an unrealistic solution

 

how do i make all the strings sound equal ??????? please help  

 

 

 

 


  • 0

#29 snhirsch

snhirsch

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • LocationBurlington, VT USA
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 21 July 2015 - 12:04 PM

HD workbench has the ability to set global string levels.  Many of us have noted the soft High-E and B strings.  It's particularly bad on the Spank models.  I dropped the lower four strings about 6db on mine and it seems to have much better balance.


  • 0

40 years of Rock-n-Roll and proud of it!

 

PRS Custom 24 (1990)

James Tyler Variax JTV-69(k) w/ Strat Neck

Fender / Roland GC-1 Guitar

Boss GP-10 13-pin Processor

Antares ATG-1 Autotune Pedal

Fender Mustang III.v2 Modeling Amp

 


#30 Charlie_Watt

Charlie_Watt

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2515 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 21 July 2015 - 02:22 PM

Piezo gains vary a lot.  Adjust the global string levels on the low strings until you like the response.  Also check with the Mags.  If the string is dead with the mags, you have a setup issue.


  • 0

#31 cruisinon2

cruisinon2

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4963 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 22 July 2015 - 08:43 AM

got a jtv 69 about a week ago

1. plays almost ok in normal mode.. problem : the 1st E string has a bit lower in volume than all other strings)

2. in variax mode the 1st E and the 2nd B string volume is much lower .. say about 4 to 6 db..

3. the 1st E string is the lowest..

4. the 4th D string is a bit low too but workable..

5. the 3rd G string is the loudest..

6. ****** this is happening consistently across all the models********.

now, i know string volume can be adjusted using workbench..but adjusting all the volume of all the strings across all the models is an unrealistic solution

how do i make all the strings sound equal ??????? please help


If it really is consistent across all the models, then adjusting the global string volumes in workbench should take care of the problem. However, you may find that the more you mess around with the guitar, some models may have more pronounced string-to-string volume issues than others. I have found that to be the case, particularly with the Strat models. In that case, the only solution is to adjust the volumes on the individual model(s) in question until they sound balanced. I have tweaked most of the models I use regularly. Doesn't take long once you're used to it...and generally you should only have to do it once. Just make sure you keep all your settings if you're updating the firmware.
  • 0

#32 faisal6863

faisal6863

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 31 August 2015 - 02:37 AM

my jtv 69 .. 3 rd string is mute in all modeling sounds,,,,

 

have tried firmware refresh ...

 

bought it about 2 months ago from amazone..

 

please help 


  • 0

#33 cruisinon2

cruisinon2

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4963 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 31 August 2015 - 04:34 AM

my jtv 69 .. 3 rd string is mute in all modeling sounds,,,,

have tried firmware refresh ...

bought it about 2 months ago from amazone..

please help

As always, anything is possible, but the two most likely explanations are:

1) The piezo is dead, or
2) There's a connection problem somewhere, perhaps where the wire from the piezo connects to the small circuit board attached to the sustain block, underneath the bridge. They are very thin leads. Wouldn't take much for a poorly done solder joint to break loose.

Could also be that the G string's volume was turned to zero in Workbench...though that seems rather unlikely unless you were messing around with that.
  • 0

#34 faisal6863

faisal6863

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 31 August 2015 - 01:08 PM

many thanks ...

 

how is line 6 in resolving warranty issues ??? 


  • 0

#35 cruisinon2

cruisinon2

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4963 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 31 August 2015 - 04:03 PM

how is line 6 in resolving warranty issues ???

Worms, anyone? Faisal has just opened a fresh can. ;)

They fixed my rattling L2T. Took 2 tries. The first attempt was done at a local "authorized service center", which imho is roughly analogous to having your bowel resection done by Sal, the neighborhood butcher, but I digress...L6 paid the shipping the next time, and the 2nd repair seems to be holding up so far. 6 or 7 months now, and no more problems.
  • 0

#36 davidb7170

davidb7170

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 835 posts
  • LocationDavenport, IA
  • Registered Products:9

Posted 01 September 2015 - 07:08 PM

I've been lucky with my warranty work from L6, but that was 2011 (59 switch issue).... I thought they did a good job on that one. I'd hope they haven't declined, but who knows. My L6 gear has been pretty trouble free since then...

 

Dave


  • 0

Line 6 Gear - Variax 300; JTV-59, JTV-69S, Pocket-POD, POD XTL - (RIP), POD X3L, HD500, HD500X, HELIX
1966 Gretsch Country Gent, 1973 Fender Tele Deluxe, 1978 Strat, 2017 Tele Elite, Epiphone LP Classic, Epiphone Special with P-90's
Gigging Amps: Alto TS210, Alto TS112A, Quilter Tone Block 200, Crown XL1000; Yorkville NX35 Speakers

 






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: jtv-69