Jump to content


Photo

Line 6 Pod Hd500x Vs M13

pod hd500x m13 m13 pod

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 colmwiggle

colmwiggle

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 25 July 2013 - 04:25 AM

I'm thinking of changing up and selling my M13 and getting a Pod HD500X.

Though the M13 is an amazing piece of kit it seems to me that the Pod HD is just a couple of steps ahead in terms of tweekability. There seem to be loads more options with the Pod and Line 6 seem to be done with firmware upgrades for the M13 - which to my ears sounds like they have moved on from the M13, which is a shame cause I love it.

So I'm wondering what are the cons (if any) for the Pod HD500X?

 

chairs and tanks

 

c

 

P.S. I play regular gigs in various venues and the thought of having the flexibility of plugging straight into a PA if nees be sounds very handy.


  • 0

#2 colmwiggle

colmwiggle

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 25 July 2013 - 05:20 AM

And by the by, I have posted previously and in detail about what upgrades/tweeks I would like to see in the next firmware upgrade for the M13, both here on this forum - here's some

http://line6.com/support/thread/86968

http://line6.com/support/thread/86361

 

and through http://line6.ideascale.com/


  • 0

#3 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17787 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:17

Posted 25 July 2013 - 05:31 AM

i think you can "flatten" by basically having the looper be post....

and you can probably control the harmonizer like you want with the 500...

i've not tried it specifically, but you can assign effects parameters to the expression pedal.

 

anyway I may be wrong, but someone will surely point that out lickety split! :D


  • 0

#4 llemotivell

llemotivell

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

Posted 30 July 2013 - 05:41 PM

Hi

POD HD500 is not true Bypass, Think about that

Bye


  • 0

#5 clay-man

clay-man

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1964 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 01 August 2013 - 05:20 PM

Isn't the M series basically a POD HD minus the amp simulation?


  • 0

For a minute there, I lost myself.

Radiohead_bear-728286%5B1%5D.png 


#6 phil_m

phil_m

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 8909 posts
  • LocationMinneapolis, MN
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 01 August 2013 - 05:28 PM

Isn't the M series basically a POD HD minus the amp simulation?

 

Kind of... In terms of effects and complexity of signal chain, you can actually have more simultaneous effects and more complicated signal chains with the Hd500 than you can with the M13. However, the M13's form factor is very convenient to use. There's really no other multi-fx unit I've found that is as easy to use. That's probably why it's been on my board for nearly 5 years now. I do have the HD500 as well, but I love my M13 for playing live.


  • 0

"It is not our duty to understand the arbitrary, meaningless dictates of machines"

- Don Norman in The Design of Everyday Things


#7 clay-man

clay-man

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1964 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 01 August 2013 - 06:33 PM

Kind of... In terms of effects and complexity of signal chain, you can actually have more simultaneous effects and more complicated signal chains with the Hd500 than you can with the M13. However, the M13's form factor is very convenient to use. There's really no other multi-fx unit I've found that is as easy to use. That's probably why it's been on my board for nearly 5 years now. I do have the HD500 as well, but I love my M13 for playing live.

 

They definitely look cool, but the HD seems like an upgrade from the M13 stuff. 


  • 0

For a minute there, I lost myself.

Radiohead_bear-728286%5B1%5D.png 


#8 Anse

Anse

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 29 September 2013 - 03:55 PM

IMHO,the M series has sound quality that is hard to surpass.That said,the HD 500 is dull and flat.To be fair,I have not played through the new HD500X.It is hard to understand why it was introduced so soon after the HD500.I have had Day 1 hardware and software issues with recent M series (M5),with no support from either the local dealer (Guitar Center) or Line 6..I am reluctant to upgrade to the HD series,since my old generation Line 6 devices are  so wonderful,no problems with either software or hardware. BTW,I am under threat of a ban from Line 6 for honest opinion posts like these. 


  • 1

#9 silverhead

silverhead

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 15821 posts
  • LocationOntario, Canada
  • Registered Products:15

Posted 29 September 2013 - 04:54 PM

... BTW,I am under threat of a ban from Line 6 for honest opinion posts like these.

There's nothing wrong with respectfully expressing opinions, as you have done here. I've never seen a user here chastised for that. I have seen users chastised for personal attacks against other users.
  • 0
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans.
.... John Lennon

#10 mattwoolf

mattwoolf

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 19 December 2014 - 08:16 AM

My old rig was a Line 6 POD XT ran straight to the board.  It was super convenient and easy to level.  I ran it through a monitor so I could hear myself.  But the tone was, well, lacking.  No solid distortions, no sustain, and the cleans were weak.

 

I recently purchased a Mesa F30 and put a M13 (along with a few other pedals) in front of it.  My tone has never sounded better!  The M13 is incredible.  Prior to finding it I was purchasing single pedals, and my pedalboard was quickly losing real estate.  With the M13 you have every pedal you could want and more.  I've never been more pleased with my tone and I hear a lot of positive feedback from the audience.

 

PS:  I play lead guitar in an 80s tribute band.


  • 0

#11 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17787 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:17

Posted 19 December 2014 - 08:38 AM

all of the M effects are in the HD pods too... and you can get more than 4 at a time. :)


  • 0

#12 ColonelForbin

ColonelForbin

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1683 posts
  • LocationChicago, Illinois
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 19 December 2014 - 01:39 PM

Keep the M13, get an HD500x, and put the M13 into the FX loop in stereo in the HD500. Voila! 

 

I have the HD500, have had it for a while. Added an M13 briefly, had to sell it recently due to money woes... :(

 

But I really liked it! And I did just that with it, into the FX loop, where since you can program the fx loop position (pre, post, etc) on a per patch basis, you can get a lot of flexibility from the pairing. They use the same 'M class' FX, just vary how you access them.

 

And as noted previously, you can run the M13 in 'true bypass' mode, or in 'dsp bypass' mode, so it does function like a stomp box pedalboard. The manner in which it saves 'scenes' of on deck FX is quite nice - while you can only have four on at one, you can have 16 'on deck'. The number of dedicated footswitch controllers for the M13 is greater than the Hd500, since the HD500 has to choose whether you get 8 FX on/off switches - OR - you get four FX and four patch change.


  • 0

#13 ColonelForbin

ColonelForbin

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1683 posts
  • LocationChicago, Illinois
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 19 December 2014 - 01:42 PM

The HD500 has more bells and whistles in terms of how it can take VDI from a Variax, and it has the Line6 link, and also XLR ins, outs - some people may find those essential, others maybe not so much.

 

Lately, I have been using the HD500 linked, with my JTV59 and a DT25, so the HD500 is essential to that rig.

The ability to control so many different parameters in the three different pieces is quite nice - change amp model, change guitar model, change tuning, etc. Lots of cool stuff there.


  • 0

#14 michel_poirier

michel_poirier

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 January 2015 - 10:22 AM

I recently purchased the M13 to add to my gears. i very impressed by the facility to create a FX set-up and the quality of FX sounds it make.

I look also for the HD500x, i like the fact that you can go up to 8 FX at the same time.

But since i using  my Rocktron and / or Amp channel to created my overdrive or distorsion sounds, the need of amp simulaition wasn't nessecary.

What really make me decide to go with the M13 was the quantity of scene selectable, 12x, this wihtout have to hit button here and there to change bank.

 

I had several FX system in the past, Digitech, Boss, Rocktron (i like the sound), and many individual FX pedals, this M13 is by far the best i like,

Because it is so easy and flexible to adjust, copy, deplace as you want FX.

 

What can be improve on the M13:

I wish that Line 6 improve the U-Vibe, it a bit weak to get really the best Vibe on the market.

(i have to add a phaser in front to get a good effect, i losing one FX spot)

I wish that Line 6 improve the Rotatry Drum speed, by having more than just "Slow and Fast" as choice.

 

Can soemone from Line 6 can tell us if they are looking to provide any M13 update and what?


  • 0





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: pod hd500x m13, m13, pod