Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

HD500X Control Knobs operation

Old-Rocker

Hi,i've joined the forum recently to read up on Line 6 after demoing a DT25 & being very impressed,my enthusiasm was damped when i read it was a Valve/Tube power amp stage.

Anyway i started reading & watching you tube dems about the Dream Rig(sounds amazing specially with dual DT25's) & i've been asking questions about this in the DR section about set-ups,control etc..

Now I'm old & slow & i'm a novice with MFX,my only experience was with a GT100(which didn't last long),but while reading up on the 500X,it's dawned on me that the control knobs appear to be Pots & not encoders,which on a product like the 500X means that when switching patches the values shown on the knobs in all probability bear no resemblance to the actual values in the Patch,is this correct,if so how on earth do you guys(who use the 500X on gigs)figure it out.

Why are encoders not used instead of Pots?,or am i just missing the point & getting it wrong.

Oh,i'm not trying to slag off the product,i'm really impressed with the sounds i've heard.

when you start moving the knobs, you can notice on the screen that the virtual knobs will move as well and there are little tick marks on where they were last set when they were saved, so if you bump one by accident you can find where it was and put it back

Simple answer - price. Encoders are more expensive both for hardware and programming. To make them really useful you'd need a ring of LEDs around each, which would also take up more real estate on the board. It would be nice, though, if you could lock the screen into the "amp panel" mode so that the setup would be visible as soon as the preset changes, instead of having to do a double tap on the joystick button to lock it in after each change.

I have about 8 basic patches that I 'know' the sound of so I don't need to see the values from the pots.