Jump to content


Photo

Helix Rack Tap Tempo from Midi Pedalboard

rack tap tempo midi pedal pedalboard

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 shawngs

shawngs

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 23 April 2016 - 05:59 PM

Hi Line 6 geniuses, I am in need of your expertise.

 

Recently I purchased a Helix Rack to replace the Pod HD Pro. I'm having some trouble getting the tap tempo working from my pedalboard correctly. The pedalboard is a Fractal Audio MFC-101. Per the Helix user manual I have the tap tempo switch set to midi cc# 64 and on/off values of 127. I've tried on/off values of 64/64 and 64/127 as well but it just doesn't seem to be receiving the messages. All other midi controls are working (changing presets, enabling disabling blocks, volume control, tuner, etc.). Is there something in particular that I should be doing to set the tap tempo from a footswitch?

 

Attached File  Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 8.57.53 PM.png   341.91KB   0 downloads


  • 0

More gear than skill :/

MFC-101 | MFC 4 Button Extension | Line 6 Helix Rack | Variax | Eventide H9 | Korg PitchBlack | Mission SP-1


#2 shawngs

shawngs

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 05 May 2016 - 10:54 AM

Bump


  • 0

More gear than skill :/

MFC-101 | MFC 4 Button Extension | Line 6 Helix Rack | Variax | Eventide H9 | Korg PitchBlack | Mission SP-1


#3 soundog

soundog

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 05 May 2016 - 04:42 PM

I think this is a known bug and will be addressed in a future firmware update.


  • 0

#4 PeterHamm

PeterHamm

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1985 posts
  • LocationMaineville, OH
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 06 May 2016 - 02:36 AM

I can't IMAGINE using the rack without Control. If there is ANY way you can swing getting one, I would. It will work totally seamlessly in ways that make your whole workflow a LOT easier.


  • 0
I play Tom Anderson, Wechter & Line 6 (for whom I am a Beta Tester for Helix Rack)

Chuck Norris was the most amazing human being that ever lived until Peter Hamm was born.  :)

 


#5 soundog

soundog

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 06 May 2016 - 08:46 AM

For sure, though I can see how someone would want to try using the controller they already own to save $$$ if it might provide the functions needed.  And even with Helix Control you still can't send a CC with tempo value as described in the manual. That's a shortcoming that I believe will be addressed soon.


  • 0

#6 PeterHamm

PeterHamm

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1985 posts
  • LocationMaineville, OH
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 06 May 2016 - 09:23 AM

For sure, though I can see how someone would want to try using the controller they already own to save $$$ if it might provide the functions needed.  And even with Helix Control you still can't send a CC with tempo value as described in the manual. That's a shortcoming that I believe will be addressed soon.

Fortunately, it's not a bug, it's simply a lack of a feature.


  • 0
I play Tom Anderson, Wechter & Line 6 (for whom I am a Beta Tester for Helix Rack)

Chuck Norris was the most amazing human being that ever lived until Peter Hamm was born.  :)

 


#7 shawngs

shawngs

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 06 May 2016 - 10:02 AM

Thanks for the responses! I know the Helix seems to be aimed at the "professional" market and, that being said, a large number of pros use either custom made midi pedals or "high end" ones such as the Fractal MFC-101. Implementing fully functioning midi capabilities for the Helix Rack seems like it should be a major focus. The rack sounds are incredible and I believe the Helix could be a potential competitor to the Axe-Fx once it is able to be fully controlled using professional Midi equipment. I've noticed you also cannot enable/disable effects blocks via midi cc message, you can only assign them to one of the 10 virtual "Line 6 pedals" like on the Helix Control. The MFC-101 has 17 foot switches + 4 external switches + 4 control switches + up to 4 effects pedals… A lot of potential Helix rack purchasers would not want to give that up for the 10 switch (+ 2 control switches) Helix Control.


  • 0

More gear than skill :/

MFC-101 | MFC 4 Button Extension | Line 6 Helix Rack | Variax | Eventide H9 | Korg PitchBlack | Mission SP-1


#8 soundog

soundog

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 06 May 2016 - 10:06 AM

Semantics, eh wot? Wikipedia defines a software bug as "an error, flaw, failure or fault in a computer program or system that causes it to produce an incorrect or unexpected result..." 


  • 0

#9 Echophilia

Echophilia

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 May 2016 - 08:30 AM

Same here could not get the Tempo to work_did not now this was a known bug or non-feature??Why?

Being able to use a different controller was why I bought The Helix Rack.  Being able to control an entire rig with one controller is a selling point for Line6 I would think........

The Rack not recieving CC values other than on/off is a pity also..

 

Get on this Line6 Please.

Kj


  • 0

#10 PeterHamm

PeterHamm

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1985 posts
  • LocationMaineville, OH
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 09 May 2016 - 09:22 AM

Same here could not get the Tempo to work_did not now this was a known bug or non-feature??Why?

Being able to use a different controller was why I bought The Helix Rack.  Being able to control an entire rig with one controller is a selling point for Line6 I would think........

The Rack not recieving CC values other than on/off is a pity also..

 

Get on this Line6 Please.

Kj

What all are you going to integrate alongside Helix in your rig? Control might be your best option. The way it works with Helix Rack is simply extraordinary.


  • 0
I play Tom Anderson, Wechter & Line 6 (for whom I am a Beta Tester for Helix Rack)

Chuck Norris was the most amazing human being that ever lived until Peter Hamm was born.  :)

 


#11 Echophilia

Echophilia

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 May 2016 - 03:31 PM

Yeah I had the Floor unit so I understand the switching program pretty well.
I would like to change my 3 channel Amp which received only PC in 4CM and an Helix effect at the same time. But the Helix toggle gets out of sync with 3 or more changes in a song. Scenes or being able to send ON/OFF CC values would be AWSOME with my set up
Thanks for your time
Kj
  • 0

#12 shawngs

shawngs

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 09 May 2016 - 04:10 PM

What all are you going to integrate alongside Helix in your rig? Control might be your best option. The way it works with Helix Rack is simply extraordinary.

 

I use 4 Eventide H9 pedals for distinct sounds that can not be created with the Helix. They are mounted in a drawer in my rack and controlled, along with the Helix, with the Fractal MFC-101 pedalboard. The pedal board has 4 additional foot switches connected to it giving me a total of 25 foot switches. Also connected are 3 expression pedals, with the option of adding a fourth if needed….but that would just be crazy ;p


  • 0

More gear than skill :/

MFC-101 | MFC 4 Button Extension | Line 6 Helix Rack | Variax | Eventide H9 | Korg PitchBlack | Mission SP-1


#13 PeterHamm

PeterHamm

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1985 posts
  • LocationMaineville, OH
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 10 May 2016 - 02:57 AM

I use 4 Eventide H9 pedals for distinct sounds that can not be created with the Helix. They are mounted in a drawer in my rack and controlled, along with the Helix, with the Fractal MFC-101 pedalboard. The pedal board has 4 additional foot switches connected to it giving me a total of 25 foot switches. Also connected are 3 expression pedals, with the option of adding a fourth if needed….but that would just be crazy ;p

 

Good LORD... all in mono? I would think you could, if you needed, control it all with Control, but I see your point.

I need to see a video of your rig and how it works, man... because I'm the kind of guy who thinks that a fourth EXP is NOT overkill... :rolleyes:


  • 0
I play Tom Anderson, Wechter & Line 6 (for whom I am a Beta Tester for Helix Rack)

Chuck Norris was the most amazing human being that ever lived until Peter Hamm was born.  :)

 


#14 ormen67

ormen67

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • LocationHouston Texas
  • Registered Products:5

Posted 13 May 2016 - 05:30 AM

i love my eventide h9 max along with my helix...it does have awesome sounds and it only increases the sounds of the combined systems..it is a plus...i just wish i could control the tap tempo from the my helix..mine is the floar board model. i also use an electro harmonix epitome. use 2 send and returns and i finally feel that my total system is complete...(well, till the Helix can control all timing)...lol


  • 0





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: rack, tap, tempo, midi, pedal, pedalboard