Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Helix Output Volume Way Too Low

FreeBlues1

I'm brand new to Helix, just plugged it in today.  My issue is the output volume to my powered monitors (KRK VXT8's) is very, very low.  I've got the volume on the monitors turned to max.

On the Helix, the big volume knob needs to be near max to get home volumes I consider to be only a bit too loud.  When I roll off my guitar volume the volume disappears when that knob is below 7 or so.  I have set the channel volume on various patches  to near max, not all that much difference.

I've tried using both quarter inch and balanced outputs to the monitors, have checked the global settings to make sure they are set correctly.

So, if I can barely get home volumes to adequate levels, how will I ever be able to use this at a gig?  Any help suggestions?

Have you updated Helix to the latest firmware yet? Not saying that will necessarily solve the issue but at least you'll have the best starting point for debugging.

You can get the latest software versions by going here:

http://line6.com/software/

Select Helix in the Software field and check the Beta box beside the selection fields. This will let you download an installer file. Run the installer to install the Helix editor, the Line 6 Updater program, and the latest driver.

After installation connect Helix to your computer via usb and run the Line 6 Updater program. This will install the latest firmware on your Helix device.

Have you updated Helix to the latest firmware yet? Not saying that will necessarily solve the issue but at least you'll have the best starting point for debugging.

You can get the latest software versions by going here:

http://line6.com/software/