Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Something New with my Dream Rig...

I've been experimenting with full models on the POD HD500 and LVM on my DT50 2x12.

I have a standard patch that I work with. Its got delay, compressor, reverb, yada yada.

When ever I create a new patch it starts with the above FX and then I start dialing in the amp that fits the sound I'm going for.

In the past everything was edited through the POD edit software. Tonight I didn't feel like hooking up my computer so I started dialing through amps and fiddling with the settings on the amp face.

Let me back up a bit. 

In LVM (Low Volume Mode) I was using full model amps on the POD instead of the pre-amp only models. My slow butt just now figured out that the LVM on the DT has a modeled  power amp. (Yeah... I'm slow! But I play guitar really well So back up off me!)

Having discovered this, I started playing with full models on the POD and LVM on the DT.

The real magic happened for me when I used the amp knobs on the face of the amp to dial in a great tone. 

Yes, I know that the knobs on the POD do the same thing, Yes, I know that the POD Edit software does the same thing! But there was something organic and special about using the knobs in a traditional way that made a real difference for me. I held my head differently when listening to the amp. The speed in which I was able to tweaked the amp and strum my guitar was the way I remember it pre digital. Pre software!

Using the software involves getting a mouse to cooperate. That takes up time for me. That time took me out of the tone zone and put me into the "where is the pointer on my screen" zone.