Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

[Semi-OT] Software devs represent :)

zooey

Is it my imagination, or are there a lot of professional software developers, project managers, etc. here? I'm a developer, have been for a long time, mostly web these days. Just for the halibut, speak up if that's you too.

If so, I wonder why that is. One obvious reason is that you're less likely to be able to buy a Helix if you don't have some sort of "real" job.

But I bet it's also that tech folks are less likely to be put off by this sort of relatively complex and non-organic solution, and more likely to be attracted by its possibilities. That has implications for how Helix is marketed, and its potential market penetration. At this price point, it's never going to be a real mass-market item anyway, so maybe it doesn't matter, just thinking out loud.

There's also the fact that people who have jobs who keep them in front of a computer screen all day are more likely to post on these types of forums...

I'm not a programmer, but I do spend most of my time at work in front of a computer.

• Upvote 1

I'm a dev too - started with Data General stuff using real core memory, none of this new-fangled semiconductor stuff. 4k of memory is quite enough for most things!  As is walking uphill both ways to school in the snow.

But I agree, I think the helix is likely to be bought by more tech-literate people. I know guitarists who take one look at the knobs and displays and think it's going to too complicated. Then they go back to a pedalboard with pedals all over the place just to fit them all on the board, which I'd find more confusing than the Helix. Just depends on what you're used to of course!

Mike

Its because whenever things are looking tricky they start surfing the net and posting on forums.