Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Noob managing volume/gain question

Chrisgee5

Hi all. I'm a decent beginner that just got my 500X, using either headphones or a tech 21, and I'm trying to figure out how to use all the volume controls to get the most gain at a lower volume level so i don't fry my ears/bother the wife, understanding that there might some tradeoff. I've been reading MeAmBoobo and experimenting but i haven't figured it out. What is the right combination of the POD master volume knob, the POD volume knob, the guitar volume knob, and the tech 21 volume knob (when i'm using the tech 21 instead of headphones), assuming (correctly?) those are the four inputs to play with? Thanks!

• Downvote 1

There is no right answer. There is only the right answer for you. And unfortunately, we can't answer that question because we are not in your head. Only you know the answer. 

BUT

To answer the question ----- 

Since you use headphones, I would set the volume for a comfortable level for when you are using them. 

And then, when you plug into an amp, you use the volume of the amp to control volume. That way, there is no Pod variable. Keep the Pod the same no matter what sound source you are using. 

Sorry, i guess i did not structure my question well. I can figure out how to make the sound louder, and i realize how loud you want it is personal preference. What i am trying to understand is how you use the volume knobs to get max gain/distortion at a lower listening volume level. Right now when i cut the volume i lose most of the distortion, which i am trying not to do. Is this by keeping the master volume high for gain/distortion purposes and adjusting the listening volume using another knob on the POD or guitar volume knob? 

**Using the volume and tone knobs on your guitars are a completely separate subject and has a countless amount of data available already written about it. Google is your friend