Jump to content


Photo

Workbench Preset Volume


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 oehman

oehman

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 31 August 2013 - 08:01 PM

File this under:

"I should have noticed that..."
 
The biggest problem with the 2.0 models, for me, was the low output of the Spank models. So I tried boosting the pickups in all Spank models to the max 6db. It sounded better, but still not as loud as my American Strat. 
Then I noticed the "Preset Volume" on the bottom left of the Workbench HD interface. Genius! I raised the preset volume of all Spank models 4db and set the pickup outputs to +4.5 db. Perfect. 
 
The "preset volume"  resolves the other thing that bothered about the Variax. The volume of the models is designed to match the guitars that Line 6 modeled. 
So the Lester is naturally loudest. But I want all my models to play with the same output, so switching models in in mid-set (or mid song) doesn't require changing pedal or amp settings. 
 
So I went through all the models and matched their volume to the Lester model. 
Then, I adjusted the height of the actual pickups in the guitar so the their output matched the output of the Lester model.
Then, I connected the Variax through Workbench and played each model vs. the Lester model. It takes some time, but I raised each model to match the output of Lester. I did this because the output of Lester is actually really close to my actual Les Paul. Most of the models needed a little extra output. One of the acoustics needed a db reduction, so I typed in -1. 
 
I'm sure many veterans of Workbench knew about the Preset Volume. But it sure was a perfect fix for the minor gripes I had with he Variax. I don't usually like to tinker with stuff this much, but it was well worth it!
Spank sounds damn good now!
 
Thanks
 

  • 2

#2 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17706 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:16

Posted 31 August 2013 - 08:45 PM

you should post your volume leveled bundle here: http://www.vguitarfo...php?board=138.0

could save alot of work for others :)


  • 0

#3 oehman

oehman

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 01 September 2013 - 07:49 PM

OK uploaded as

All Models Output Adjusted to match

 

http://www.vguitarfo...hp?topic=9388.0

 

Thanks


  • 2

#4 JoniKatita

JoniKatita

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationPortugal
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 02 September 2013 - 02:12 PM

Thanks man but, all banks are the same. They are all "Lester-1" to "Lester-5". You must select the correct bank to save.


  • 0

#5 oehman

oehman

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 03 September 2013 - 05:47 AM

Crap.

 

I thought I could save a bank by clicking on the header before saving. It highlighted the 5 positions for the bank that I named and saved them. But I guess you have to load (double click on) a model, then click the bank header and then save as a bank.

 

 

I just re-saved and uploaded them. Workbench is still new to me....

Sorry for the mix-up.


  • 1

#6 JoniKatita

JoniKatita

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationPortugal
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 03 September 2013 - 05:59 AM

Thanks man... all is ok now. Good work.


  • 0

#7 Johnny_5

Johnny_5

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Registered Products:5

Posted 03 February 2017 - 01:44 PM

Crap.

 

I thought I could save a bank by clicking on the header before saving. It highlighted the 5 positions for the bank that I named and saved them. But I guess you have to load (double click on) a model, then click the bank header and then save as a bank.

 

 

I just re-saved and uploaded them. Workbench is still new to me....

Sorry for the mix-up.

Hi man could you please send me the bundle? I have no access to the attached file in the original post, and registration always fails saying my email is a spam :blink:


  • 0

#8 eenymason

eenymason

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 308 posts
  • LocationOrstrayia
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 04 February 2017 - 01:38 AM

I don't see the point personally, in levelling all the modelled guitars to the same volume - I use the fact that they have different output levels, which in turn drive the amp selected in different ways. E.G. i might play a rhythm part with a Strat model, then flick to a higher output pickup to boost the signal (amongst other methods), for a hotter/dirtier rhythm tone, or when soloing.

Horses for courses I guess.....


  • 0

#9 JTSC777

JTSC777

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 431 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 04 February 2017 - 12:17 PM

Great Tip! Just barely started adjusting this myself.I usually have to my own sound so I pop my solos/ emphasize parts with a boost pedal.
Having all the guitars jumping around does not work for me either.Very very helpful info!!!

Thank You!
  • 0

#10 eenymason

eenymason

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 308 posts
  • LocationOrstrayia
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 07 February 2017 - 01:18 PM

Great Tip! Just barely started adjusting this myself.I usually have to my own sound so I pop my solos/ emphasize parts with a boost pedal.
Having all the guitars jumping around does not work for me either.Very very helpful info!!!

Thank You!

By knowing which models naturally "pop out", you can make solos stand out more ;)


  • 0

#11 JTSC777

JTSC777

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 431 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 07 February 2017 - 04:02 PM

True dat.However if I am playing Folsom Prison Blues using the rear Telecaster pickup I would really rather not switch to the Lester rear pickup setting for the solo even though it pops out.I dont even usually like single/single/ humbucker guitars for this reason.I like to use all pickup positions for rhythm and lead work. I adjust all three pickups on all three positions of all of my strats to have the same relative output level for this same reason. But yes many players use the pickup selector on any electric to raise the level of a solo and it works very well!
  • 0