Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Variax to control MIDI instruments

I'm a Helix owner and recently purchased a JTV-69.  I am fairly new to JTV and Variax HD, but I was wondering if it would be possible to have Variax generate/transmit MIDI notes to say Helix for use with hardware or software MIDI instruments.  Maybe this could be set as one of the Variax Custom models.

This is a major feature of Roland GK, Fishman Triple Play, the Graphtech Ghost system and maybe others as well.

Checking technical feasibility here before considering posting to Ideascale.  I'm not too optomistic though since from what I read, it looks like only mag signal, model signal and Variax control back is transmitted over VDI.

If this is the case, I will probably just get the Fishman Triple Play system for my JTV-69.

I'm a Helix owner and recently purchased a JTV-69.  I am fairly new to JTV and Variax HD, but I was wondering if it would be possible to have Variax generate/transmit MIDI notes to say Helix for use with hardware or software MIDI instruments.  Maybe this could be set as one of the Variax Custom models.

This is a major feature of Roland GK, Fishman Triple Play, the Graphtech Ghost system and maybe others as well.

Checking technical feasibility here before considering posting to Ideascale.  I'm not too optomistic though since from what I read, it looks like only mag signal, model signal and Variax control back is transmitted over VDI.

If this is the case, I will probably just get the Fishman Triple Play system for my JTV-69.

Hi Roscoe5,

None of the Variax models, Standard, HD, JTV or whatever is capable of doing "Guitar to Midi" conversion that you're after. It's an interesting notion though - it has been posted on Ideascale quite a few times, but some of that was more than a year back so don't hold your breath.