Jump to content


Photo

Jtv89f - Appears To Have Died


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jmeunier

jmeunier

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Registered Products:11

Posted 03 September 2013 - 02:36 PM

I've got a 4 month old JTV89F.  For whatever reason, the guitar doesn't work, meaning---no audio, and L6 Monkey can't 'see' it.  It's plugged into an HD500 and then into a DT25, all digital.

 

Whenever I power on the HD500, I can hear a faint 'click' from the guitar, but beyond that, nothing.

 

I've opened a support ticket with Line 6, but wondering if this has happened to anyone else, and if so, what was the solution?   Maybe an internal fuse or something equally obvious that I'm missing.

 

Also--I've tried the exact same config/connection scenario with my Variax 500, and all works, so I know that the HD500 and DT25 are working as they should.

 

Thanks!
Jay

 


  • 0

#2 ozbadman

ozbadman

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1900 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 03 September 2013 - 02:57 PM

Sounds like some of the magic smoke escaped. Time for a warranty fix. The only self-serviceable parts in the JTV electronics are replacement pickups.


  • 0

#3 Leftzilla

Leftzilla

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 548 posts
  • LocationBurlington, VT
  • Registered Products:10

Posted 04 September 2013 - 06:14 AM

Well this might sound redundant and not to say you haven't tried this but is the battery charged and the Variax modeling light on?  Are you using the quarter inch output or the VDI?

 

Are you getting any sound at all from the mag pickups?  I find this to be strange since the mags should work no matter what.  This sounds like it could be something wrong with the quarter inch out or if you are using the vdi something internal with the power.


  • 0

#4 jmeunier

jmeunier

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Registered Products:11

Posted 04 September 2013 - 06:24 AM

I'm not using the 1/4" at all--it's all VDI.  Unfortunately, no lights are on on the guitar at all--seems to be some sort of internal power issue.


  • 0

#5 phil_m

phil_m

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 8740 posts
  • LocationMinneapolis, MN
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 04 September 2013 - 06:25 AM

Have you tried powering the guitar with a battery and using the 1/4" out to see if it works at all?


  • 0

"It is not our duty to understand the arbitrary, meaningless dictates of machines"

- Don Norman in The Design of Everyday Things


#6 jmeunier

jmeunier

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Registered Products:11

Posted 05 September 2013 - 05:45 AM

So, just for the sake of completeness, I put the battery in the guitar and plugged it into an amp via the 1/4" cable.  As expected, the guitar sounded fine through the mag pickups, both with and without battery.

 

After doing that for a few minutes, I decided to go back over to the HD500/DT25 combo, connecting to the HD500 the VDI cable--no 1/4".  To my surpise, the little blue LED backlighting the selector knob lit up, and the guitar worked fine once again.  I then updated the firmware to 2.0 with no problems.  Tried 5 or 6 power cycles of the guitar, and each time it came back up ok.

 

Is it possible that playing through the 1/4" jack did something?  Now I'm worried that I may just have an unstable guitar that works only some of the time--although, I'm happy for now since it works once again!

 

Jay


  • 0

#7 Charlie_Watt

Charlie_Watt

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2515 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 05 September 2013 - 06:06 AM

No that isn't possible but you may have a cable that just doesn't always make a good connection.  It wasn't getting power.


  • 0

#8 jefflynyrd

jefflynyrd

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 80 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 05 September 2013 - 08:17 AM

You just put the majic smoke back in it! :)


  • 0