Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Can't get clean sound on new Spider Classic 15

Expat1000

Hi, 

I just started playing around with my new AMP. Even after a reset, a power off/on, with FX both off, Drive turned full left, there are still a lot of FX in Clean mode. And the TAP LED is flashing! Why? FX are both off - why would the LED flash? But the main issue is I can't get a clean sound. Also, I tried saving these settings (no FX, etc) to another profile - the lights flash but the profile sound does not change. I'm pretty sure out of the box the sound was clean on CLEAN profile but no longer, and again, I reset to factory but it is still not clean.

My guitar is an Epi Les Paul Studio - nothing special about it and does not exhibit this behavior with other amps. Help, please!

I had the exact same problem. I started playing around with the settings then I could not get it to reset by holding the Clean channel when powering up. 

My guitar sounded like crap. I couldn't get it tuned properly.

Here is what I found. First I powered the amp off. Then I turned all the controls except main volume to zero. Next I turned the special effects all the way up. I held the Clean channel button down while powering up. After the lights flashed, I turned the special effects knobs to zero and I got it to turn off all delays and the TAP LED stopped flashing. I was able to re-tune and got the greatest most mellow sound I had ever got from a guitar.

After I finished practicing, I tried the other three channels with my foot switch. Then I tried the Clean channel and the special effects came back.

Next I will try the procedure to turn them off I described above and try to save that setting by holding the Clean channel button down like it says in the manual.

I can't really find any videos on how to set up the Spider Classic 15, just demos showing off certain sounds.

Please let me know if you find anything further.