Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Hd500x through Amp fx return Jack

Dufrense

Hello,

Total noob here. I have the Pod hd500x (great device!). I have been running it straight into the front of my combo, an Bugera v55, but now I tried connecting it to the amps return jack. Big difference in sound compared to front! However, the amps volume is at its maximum all the time, no volume knobs on the amp works. I thought that the amps Master volume would still work, but it doesn't in this setup, all knobs on the amp are 100% disabled. Is this normal? Can the amp be damaged with this setup? Sure I can adjust the volume with the Pod but going more than a quarter on the master knob almost blows my eardrums.... as I said, I don't know much about these things, but is this normal?

Thanks guys and gals!

Others will come in with more knowledge I'm sure but from my experience with some amps the master volume will still be in the circuit and other not. It won't damage the amp - it's as if the pod volume is now the master volume for the amp. Your pod is using the full power of the power amp, as required.

You might also try playing with the Output mode (under the Setup menu) for different sounds. From section 2*8 of the manual:

Combo Power Amp & Stack Power Amp: For connecting to the power amp of a combo or head amp.

TIP: When using the Combo or Stack options and connecting into a tube amplifier, we also recommend that you choose a Preamp Model from the Amp Model menu (rather than one of the “Full†Amp Models). HD Preamp Models include no power amp emulation, making them typically better suited for this connection. That said, there is no wrong choice! PODs have always been about flexibility... Check out all the possibilities and decide which Models work best for your tone!