Jump to content


Photo

Latest Firmware Is Very Harsh (high Gain Tones) Pod Hd500

latest firmware pod hd500 hd guitar

  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 juaquito16

juaquito16

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 15 September 2013 - 11:14 PM

Hey guys,

 

For many months I have been practicing and recording using my Pod hd500 (Firmware 2.10) and i've tried many Custom tone high gain presets like ENGL,Treadplate and more but All of them sound very harsh and dirty without any "body", the opposite of a thick and warm tone. Each preset that I downloaded from custom tone sounds very bad.  

 

Now I have just installed 2.0 (Rollback) and all those high gain tones which sounded very bad and harsh now sound excellent and very thick!.I'm a little confused, Perhaps the presets were intended to be used in the firmware 2.0?. Anyway they sound 100% different, now i am very happy! My recordings sound very good and clear! I'm in love with my pod again.The only thing that I miss the last firmware are the SOLDANO models... 

 

There is a problem with my pod? Any one of you has the same problem? What can i do? 

 

My Gear:

Schecter hellraiser c1 fr ---------> Pod HD500--------> Shure Shr840 Headphones/M-audio BX8D2 Studio monitors

 

Pod settings:

-Studio/Direct.

 

Thank you for read!


  • 0

#2 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17697 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:16

Posted 16 September 2013 - 04:13 AM

custom tone is always a starting point only... someone could have made a tone on some very dark sounding speakers and uploaded it... and on a brighter setup it will sound harsh.

in any case... my guess would be that flashing the update probably changed an output mode that was disagreeing with you and updating to 2.1 should be safe...

why not back up your tones and give it a try.


  • 0

#3 hurghanico

hurghanico

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3764 posts
  • LocationBologna, Italy
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 16 September 2013 - 06:55 AM

Perhaps the presets were intended to be used in the firmware 2.0?.

 

if you press the "expand view" button in customtone you can also see every patch publication date

the latest fw 2.10 was released in 10/16/12, and the previous 2.02 in 4/3/12, etc etc....

 

therefore with a quick calculation you can easily discover the mystery

remember, however, that also the guitar used to make each patch is enormously important


  • 0

#4 arislaf

arislaf

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1782 posts
  • LocationGreece
  • Registered Products:12

Posted 16 September 2013 - 11:59 AM

Nope, Juaquito is correct.After the update many things and sounds changed.My fav tone that I created, ari sweet, is not sweet anymore.and I use the same guitar.


  • 0

Before line6 was called line6... they used to do r&d for other companies like alesis + others. and when those customers came to visit the offices of line6 (before it was called line6) and the receptionist needed to warn all the guys who were designing products for other companies (and for themselves... ) who were like 'in the back' the receptionist would announce over a tannoy 'tellephone call for 'fred smith' on line 6' the cunning part was that they only had 5 telephone lines, so it was the secret code for "hide your sh1t the feds are comin'" or "someone's coming, let's hide these PODs that we aren't going to release for another few years so they don't see them" 

 

BEST CABS: www.studiocat.com


#5 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17697 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:16

Posted 16 September 2013 - 12:03 PM

now that i think about it... is this the update that implemented variable input z?

you may just have to change the input z from auto to 1m to get back to the old default.


  • 0

#6 DeanDinosaur

DeanDinosaur

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 757 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 16 September 2013 - 04:54 PM

Early on the Uber was  what is  now called Line 6 Elektric. It was brought back by popular demand as a new mp when the original Uber was changed dramatically as part of a firmware update. Firmware sometimes can introduce significant change in the tone relative to the guitar being used. Compare the uber with line 6 Elektric and you will feel the difference Even thought they were originally intended to model the same identical AMP.  For those who have Variax, the latest update significantly changed the sound of many models, that many are really unhappy. I'ms starting to think this firmware update thing were models are completely reworked is a waste of time. If you dig deep you will notice that some effects also changed. Aside from new effects and amps and bugs, it's purely personal and speculative whether the models really improve with every firmware. It's almost the same as the arguments about good tone! 


  • 2

#7 juaquito16

juaquito16

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 16 September 2013 - 06:11 PM

Thank you all for responding to my post!

 

As I said before, I am really impressed with the big difference between 2.0 and 2.10. I understand that among the updates there may be a small/big  difference and a lot of things will probably change, but to be honest my POD sounds really harsh with the latest firmware. I'm scared that maybe in the next update my pod sounds bad and that I won't be able to enjoy the benefits of the new one. For now I will continue using 2.0...

 

Feel free to comment and leave your opinion! 


  • 0

#8 phil_m

phil_m

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 8234 posts
  • LocationMinneapolis, MN
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 17 September 2013 - 06:10 AM

There shouldn't be any difference in the overall sound between those two versions. A few new amp models were added in 2.10, and they added support for the StageSource speakers, but other than that nothing changed. If you're hearing differences, it's probably because some setting is changed on your HD500.


  • -2

"It is not our duty to understand the arbitrary, meaningless dictates of machines"

- Don Norman in The Design of Everyday Things


#9 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17697 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:16

Posted 17 September 2013 - 06:39 AM

AGREE.

 

There shouldn't be any difference in the overall sound between those two versions. A few new amp models were added in 2.10, and they added support for the StageSource speakers, but other than that nothing changed. If you're hearing differences, it's probably because some setting is changed on your HD500.


  • 0

#10 PedalTweaker

PedalTweaker

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 07 March 2014 - 05:35 AM

Off to the real topic, even on the latest update on Spider IV 75 watts amp. The latest firmware has made the clean and dirt sound too transparent to the point that even when I dial the gain at 12 o'clock, i can hear the harshness of any distortion effect I tried to use. Before I made the update, I wrote down my settings. Unfortunately it didn't sound the same anymore. I will attempt to revert to the original firmware. I can live w/ that.


  • 0

#11 marcgtr

marcgtr

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 25 May 2015 - 04:26 AM

totally agree with Juaquito, messed with it so much that I had send to repair shop due to after 2.62 update and contacting Line6 support that I needed to. Ending up being charged 100.00 for a simple reset, which I could have done only if informed that's how I get beyond the ver 0.00 lock up bug.

 

Tones are harsh now, I been trying to rollback until I find the right update, I will try 2.00 next.

 

Thanks,


  • 0

#12 brue58ski

brue58ski

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1167 posts
  • Registered Products:13

Posted 25 May 2015 - 04:34 AM

Have you checked your Global EQ which was added in this update. I don't know if it is on or off after you initially install the update, or what the settings are if it is on after the initial upgrade.


  • 0

#13 pianoguyy

pianoguyy

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1711 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 25 May 2015 - 05:13 AM

totally agree with Juaquito, messed with it so much that I had send to repair shop due to after 2.62 update and contacting Line6 support that I needed to. Ending up being charged 100.00 for a simple reset, which I could have done only if informed that's how I get beyond the ver 0.00 lock up bug.

 

Tones are harsh now, I been trying to rollback until I find the right update, I will try 2.00 next.

 

Thanks,

This post was started 2, maybe 3 firmwares ago. 

 

Have you checked your Global EQ which was added in this update. I don't know if it is on or off after you initially install the update, or what the settings are if it is on after the initial upgrade.

 

There was no GEQ in that firmware, 


  • 0

And it sure would be nice if I could use 500edit on my Android Phone or Android Tablet to manage my Pod when not at home.

Even if it needs to be a '500 Lite' version that only allows for the import and export of patches, and not a full-fledged working program.

Something needs done. 

 

 


#14 marcgtr

marcgtr

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 25 May 2015 - 09:33 AM

@ Gearhead, tried everything.. Turned global EQ on and off, set inputs manually (Guitar and Variax on 2, this helped a little) started patches from scratch, saved old and opened. nothing worked. So now I got V2.02 loaded, it appears warmer (it does not have Global EQ), which is a good sign. I used  tom run my XLR out to the church PA and 1/4 out to my in-ear monitor and it sounded fine before, now it has sounded like metal on metal, grating. especially on anything with overdrive, distortion of any kind. very thin. like it lost it's modeling and only sending 'pedal' efx???? LIne 6 support could be more helpful and provide better support details/documentation/warning on this issue, surely this has happened to a larger group. Using same guitar, same gear.


  • 0

#15 pianoguyy

pianoguyy

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1711 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 25 May 2015 - 09:57 AM

After the update, did you remember to go and reset your studio/combo/stack setting? 

 

 

 

*****

and for future reference.: 

no one is named Gear Hear. Names are in the blue line above that. 


  • 1

And it sure would be nice if I could use 500edit on my Android Phone or Android Tablet to manage my Pod when not at home.

Even if it needs to be a '500 Lite' version that only allows for the import and export of patches, and not a full-fledged working program.

Something needs done. 

 

 


#16 AlexKenivel

AlexKenivel

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 726 posts
  • LocationBay Area, California
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 25 May 2015 - 10:11 AM

Names are in the blue line above that.


LOL.. Pianoguyy, I'm just gonna start calling you Gearhead. Too funny
  • 0

#17 marcgtr

marcgtr

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 25 May 2015 - 10:25 AM

my bad pianoguy... yup output is studio direct. 2.02 seems to be better, have my amp and my inear monitor going and WAY better than 2.62. Something is different and not sure what it may but I am not touching that again. I play way to much and spent over 4 weeks.


  • 0

#18 Raf_666

Raf_666

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 25 May 2015 - 10:42 AM

I discovered a while back that you need to use 2 xlrs to get a decent sound , or the jack which is mono

Dunno if thats whats happening but using only one xlr sounds awfull

Raf
  • 0

#19 marcgtr

marcgtr

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 25 May 2015 - 11:03 AM

raf, 1 xlr sounds fine in my experience. Only issue is occasional ground noise, depending on where I am playing. I play a wide variety of music from light to edgy, so HD500 has been awesome in that respect. I am waiting on what is next after the 500X, not enough difference to upgrade.


  • 0

#20 Raf_666

Raf_666

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 25 May 2015 - 12:38 PM

raf, 1 xlr sounds fine in my experience. Only issue is occasional ground noise, depending on where I am playing. I play a wide variety of music from light to edgy, so HD500 has been awesome in that respect. I am waiting on what is next after the 500X, not enough difference to upgrade.


You would need to put a mono fx block at the end of the chain ...

At rehearsal we noticed how crappy the sound through one xlr was , using the left mono jack output solved the problem , same patch no tweaks ...

Raf
  • 0





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: latest, firmware, pod, hd500, hd, guitar