Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

A handful of starter tones for a cover band?

marmatkat

Hi All. I'm new to modeling, and really enjoying my Helix LT, but I'm getting a little overwhelmed with all the models. I stepped back, looked at the songs in our sets, and decided that a handful of tones ranging from clean, dirty, raunchy, distorted, saturated (my terms) would be a great starting point. But even then I got wrapped around the axle, so I thought I'd ask: Does anyone perform using a small-ish set of presets that cover a wide range? Any tips would be awesome!

I don't have a smallish set of presets, but I do tend to use certain "go to" models and configurations for the sounds you're looking for.  Here's some ideas for you.

Clean - Jazz Rivet, Solo Lead (clean), Archetype (clean)

Dirty - Litigator, Matchstick, Tweed Blues

Rauchy - HiWatt with Minotaur, A-30 Fawn

Distorted - Brit P-75

Saturated - Panama, Archetype

Generally speaking I use compressors particularly on the Clean, Dirty, and Rauchy styles.  La Studio is my favorite as it's very subtle and controllable but the red squeeze is great for a more "in your face" type of compression.  All generally placed at the beginning of the signal chain, but can be useful sometimes after the amp and cab.

back in the old days of line 6, they had an amp with a 4-channel footswitch. Others advised that "A" should be clean, "B" a little over driven, "C" distortion, and "D" full distortion, primarily for guitar solos.

that stuck with me on the pod hd and now helix, so my first four tones are labeled A and name of the tone i choose to represent A, B, for a mid-1960's distortion, "C" for classic 70s, and "D" for more hard rock.

i am in a cover band too and these four work for about 80% of our songs. I was never was happy with the wah and boosts in the helix, so I use the send / receive option and hook up a boost and auto wah and they work quite well.