Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

New At Recording And Trying Reaper With Playback Issues

dhargrove

Okay, I admit, I'm new at this. I've downloaded Reaper and am trying to use the X3 as the playback device, using the headphones. Now, I can hear my guitar through the headphones and Reaper is recording the guitar (I've rendered to an MP3 and it has recorded succesfully), but when I attempt to hear the playback through the headphones, I hear nothing.

I think I've verified the settings correctly. Again, it is recording from the X3. I just can't hear the playback. I want to be able to record rythym tracks and record over them. Obviously, I need to hear the track.

Anyone have any thoughts?

Thanks

In Reaper, you need to go to the "Options" tab at the top of the screen, and then select Preferences. Once in the dialog window, you'll see a field that says Audio on the left hand side. Underneath that, there's a tab that says devices. This is where you set the POD as your input and output device.

This assumes that you've already installed the drivers for the X3.

More information on this: I had to reboot the machine for something and when I went back into reaper, without making other changes, I was able to hear the playback in my headphones. Great, I thought, but not so fast... It'll work for a little while, but suddenly I can no longer hear the playback. Reboot, and again, it works, for a while.

I'm wondering if I have some kind of a driver issue, or some operating system issue. It's configured correctly, with x3's ASIO driver, and works after a reboot - I can even import a mp3 into a project, play it and record on another track, until it decides to go south...

Thanks

EDIT: