Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Patch level balancing

Phil_GMC

Hello folks,

I know perceived volume etc all come into this but, what's the best way you've found for matching the output from one patch to another? I'm a home studio guitarist and for the way I work I'd like to set all patches to hit the peak meters with the same db or pretty close.

Please don't go on about boosted should be louder than not boosted etc, I know that and I will be using snapshots to cover that sort of thing but, I want the initial patch to be close to all the others.

I know the long winded way of finding the cleanest, least compressed patch and setting levels to that and using it as a reference point but have you found anything more streamlined?

Cheers

Personally I have a small 4 channel mixer I connect up to my Helix when I'm dialing in patches.  I always set my Master Volume on the Helix at the same spot and then I dial in the patch volume using the signal lights on the mixer as a guide.  I still have to adjust a bit by ear based on the patch, but it works very well at least for maintaining a consistent signal level going to the PA for live performances.  Should work fine in a studio as well.  As long as the patches are consistent you can adjust the Master Volume accordingly to get the right signal strength across all patches.