Jump to content


Photo

Pod Hd300 Problem


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Layne09

Layne09

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 21 September 2013 - 07:12 AM

Hi everybody,

I'd like to buy the POD HD300, but a friend of mine lend me this POD and I have problems related to a weird noise (like a shrill scratch) I hear from time to time when I try to record a track with my electric guitar using the "Studio One 2 x64" computer program. Some time ago, I also tried an old model of POD, and the noise was also there.

I have tried to modify the latency, I have used another computer program too, I also try to disable the computer speakers from windows, so I only have the soundcard of the POD on,... but the noise still comes up, so I don't know what to do, cause I'm really interested in this product.

Could you help me?

Thanks in advance


  • 0

#2 silverhead

silverhead

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 15303 posts
  • LocationOntario, Canada
  • Registered Products:15

Posted 21 September 2013 - 08:22 AM

If you are using a laptop computer, and the noise sounds like an electrical hum, you are probably experiencing a ground loop. To test for this, run the laptop on batteries and disconnect its power supply from the wall. If a ground loop is the problem the noise will disappear.


  • 0
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans.
.... John Lennon

#3 Layne09

Layne09

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 22 September 2013 - 10:07 AM

Thanks Uber Guru, but I have run the laptop on batteries disconnecting the power supply, and I still have the noise


  • 0

#4 arislaf

arislaf

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1785 posts
  • LocationGreece
  • Registered Products:12

Posted 22 September 2013 - 11:27 AM

1st of all, what guitar you are using?what kind of pickups?

 

2nd of all, did you try to change cables?


  • 0

Before line6 was called line6... they used to do r&d for other companies like alesis + others. and when those customers came to visit the offices of line6 (before it was called line6) and the receptionist needed to warn all the guys who were designing products for other companies (and for themselves... ) who were like 'in the back' the receptionist would announce over a tannoy 'tellephone call for 'fred smith' on line 6' the cunning part was that they only had 5 telephone lines, so it was the secret code for "hide your sh1t the feds are comin'" or "someone's coming, let's hide these PODs that we aren't going to release for another few years so they don't see them" 

 

BEST CABS: www.studiocat.com


#5 Layne09

Layne09

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:10 PM

Hi Arislaf, I'm using a Yamaha Pacifica 611 with Seymour Duncan pickups, and yes, I have changed the cable


  • 0

#6 arislaf

arislaf

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1785 posts
  • LocationGreece
  • Registered Products:12

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:18 PM

Hi layne, i see that your guitar is ot the deal (i have with my guitar the same problem but it is the non hum canceling pickups).

Just in case, have you tried another guitar? and to play it in your friends house? if yes any difference?


  • 0

Before line6 was called line6... they used to do r&d for other companies like alesis + others. and when those customers came to visit the offices of line6 (before it was called line6) and the receptionist needed to warn all the guys who were designing products for other companies (and for themselves... ) who were like 'in the back' the receptionist would announce over a tannoy 'tellephone call for 'fred smith' on line 6' the cunning part was that they only had 5 telephone lines, so it was the secret code for "hide your sh1t the feds are comin'" or "someone's coming, let's hide these PODs that we aren't going to release for another few years so they don't see them" 

 

BEST CABS: www.studiocat.com


#7 Layne09

Layne09

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:57 PM

The thing is that the noises are digital noises, clicks, not analogical noises


  • 0

#8 still_fiddlin

still_fiddlin

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • LocationTexas
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 22 September 2013 - 03:32 PM

Are you hearing the noises in the POD headphone out when it's set to be both the input and output device for your recording app?


  • 0

#9 wcmexbm

wcmexbm

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 64 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 22 September 2013 - 05:17 PM

Sounds to me like you're describing digigtal clipping, which whould mean that the best place to start is to lower the channel volume or the master volume on the Pod and see if that dosent make it stop.


  • 0

#10 still_fiddlin

still_fiddlin

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • LocationTexas
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 23 September 2013 - 05:11 AM

Windows?  (If you are using a MacBook, I'll suggest GarageBand.)

 

On Windows, are you connected to a USB port that is attached to the first level USB hub?  This shows the connection on my system, where you can see there is a 2nd hub at the same level as my HD400.  If you are one more hub removed, that can introduce problems.

 

hd400conn.jpg

 

Also, use Device Manager confirm the driver is the latest.

 

hd400driver.jpg

 


  • 0