Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Surprisingly Liked Amps

brettchinery

I am new to the "Helix world" and being a blues/rock kind of guy, I have always gravitated to the Marshally type sounds in any modeller

However, I have been auditioning all the amps and have been surprised at how much I love the vox & fender amps with various overdrive pedals and my new absolute favourite is the mail order twin (based on a Silvertone?)  It sounds killer with light & heavy overdrives and also the fuzzes

It shows you really should disregard your preconceptions and just use your ears !!!         If it sounds good, it is good !!

I was shocked that I liked the Litigator and the HiWatt and the /13, not amps I'd probably dig in the real world.

I was REALLY shocked how much I like the Soldano.

I was less surprised by the cabs I ended up liking best (I only use 4 in the whole box, but love love love love love them... Z, 4x10 and the two Matchless, better for me than any 3rd party IR I tried early on, so I just gave up on IR for cabs.).

• Upvote 1

I am new to the "Helix world" and being a blues/rock kind of guy, I have always gravitated to the Marshally type sounds in any modeller

However, I have been auditioning all the amps and have been surprised at how much I love the vox & fender amps with various overdrive pedals and my new absolute favourite is the mail order twin (based on a Silvertone?)  It sounds killer with light & heavy overdrives and also the fuzzes

It shows you really should disregard your preconceptions and just use your ears !!!         If it sounds good, it is good !!

Don't be surprised if you change your preference over time too.

I play classic rock. And at first I was using the Treadplate Boogie amp model. (this was back in Oct. of 2015 and there were only a few models in that first couple of months). It was the "BEST"!