Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Exterior Preamp

Metalchef

I have a question my wife's brother just had surgery on his hand and won't be able to play anymore and is sending me his Lee Jackson Preamp can it be used with the Pod/DT 50 rig somehow? . I have no experience with these issues. I have heard tracks of him using this thing and oh my god does it sound nice. Does anybody have any experience with these preamps that can tell me about it. The Good and the bad Yo know?

I had to edit my first response 'cause I researched a little. I'm no expert as I have never used one of these set-ups. Since it's a preamp it sound like you would need a power amp. The DT50 would serve that purpose.

Hopefully someone who has more experience with lee Jackson preamp will reply for you. I still think the Pod/DT50 rig is more versatile, and sounds great.

I agree whole heartedly that my dt50/pod500 is way more versatile. This preamp literally fell into my hands free of charge just with a request that I give it a shot and use it when I can. I have never even seen one nor had any desire to own one but now that it is free that has changed. I I will in no way make it my go to over the pod unless it has the Grail Tone within it but something tells me it's just going to be a paperweight. I would really like to at least know how to go about routing it in to my rig if at all possible.

You can't beat it for free. I would certainly play around with it to see what it gives. Also, I think there's some web pages pertaining to modding it if your into it. I read a little about putting different tubes in it an such somewhere.

Since I was unfamiliar with this amp I dug in a little more, lol. Here's a video of someone using the Lee Jackson GP 1000 with a Marshall head. Here's another video. Looks like their made in the United States of America too, Wow.

Here's an article.