Jump to content


Photo

Anyone using Strymon's Nixie software editor along with the Helix Editor?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 spikey

spikey

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2447 posts
  • LocationUSA
  • Registered Products:8

Posted 16 January 2018 - 04:22 PM

Just wondering if the settings in Nixie are being updated every time a SnapShot is changed on the Helix controller? 

 

I'm running a midi Solutions midi-merger so that I can change the patch settings on my Strymon pedals via Nixie "and" or Helix.

 

There was a firmware update on the Strymon pedals in November 2017 and just recently updated.

 

Now, Nixie for some reason does not reflex the changes on its software whenever I change Snap Shots on Helix.

 

???


  • 0

I've used everything in Helix, but then I'm not from this planet ...    :lol: 

 


#2 CraigGT

CraigGT

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 20 January 2018 - 06:03 AM

I've used Nixie on my pedals (with the latest updates) but I couldn't get Nixie to see my pedals if I used the Helix as the midi port so It's been one of the other for me.

I presume the midi out from the pedals is going to your pc and you're just merging the inputs?

 

Craig


  • 0

#3 spikey

spikey

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2447 posts
  • LocationUSA
  • Registered Products:8

Posted 20 January 2018 - 07:42 AM

Figured it out finally! Once I set Bank CC00 to “0” (and not off), Nixie started responding to program changes and the patch change matched the Strymon pedal settings.  :D  :D 


  • 0

I've used everything in Helix, but then I'm not from this planet ...    :lol: 

 


#4 CraigGT

CraigGT

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 20 January 2018 - 10:07 AM

That's good to hear, I take it from the fact that you're using a merge box that you couldn't get it working using the Helix as a midi port either?


  • 0

#5 spikey

spikey

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2447 posts
  • LocationUSA
  • Registered Products:8

Posted 20 January 2018 - 11:21 AM

Oh yes, Helix would switch the pedals ok, I just couldn't get Nixie to follow suit until I switched the "Bank CC00" from "off" to "0". The way its set up is I have Helix as one midi out port and the midi-sport 4x4 (running the Strymon Nixie software) as the 2nd midi output for controlling the Strymon pedals. Both of these midi outs connect into the Midi-Solutions Merge Box. The output of the Merge Box then goes to the midi in on Mobius, which is then "midi" daisy chained in and out to the TimeLine and BigSky. Then midi out from the BigSky is sent back to the midi-sport 4x4 midi interface (I'm using port A for send and return), and this is where Nixie now knows where/how to configure itself and now matches the settings from the Helix editor. Switching (from the Helix Editor or the controller) to change SNAPSHOTS, and now Nixie follows it correctly. And I can also use the Nixie software as a switcher and editor as well, as that software's GUI allows to adjust and save any FX changes on all 3 pedals, and then save them on the pedals library where ever I want. :)


  • 0

I've used everything in Helix, but then I'm not from this planet ...    :lol: 

 


#6 CraigGT

CraigGT

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 22 January 2018 - 09:14 AM

But if you could use the Helix as the midiport then you could lose two boxes. I must assume that the Helix as a midi port isn't fully specced, maybe it doesn't handle sysex or something.


  • 0