Jump to content


Photo

How Do You Conect Your Ipad...


  • Please log in to reply
87 replies to this topic

#41 Bassgumbo

Bassgumbo

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 06 January 2014 - 12:34 PM

When you say reinitialize the router, I take it that's the looong press on the reset button.  After hooking it up to the M20-d, how much set-up is there?  Can it be done with an iPad, and is it through the Stagescape app?


  • 0

#42 evanmichaels

evanmichaels

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 January 2014 - 03:48 PM

I have the Stagescape, an Apple Airport Express, ethernet cable and USB to ethernet adapter. I have tried plugging in every different combo and reset both parties.  Still cannot get my iPad to connect to the mixer. What have I missed? Do I have to have a laptop and or anything else to go with this setup?


  • 0

#43 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2698 posts

Posted 06 January 2014 - 03:59 PM

Are you using the Apple branded ethernet/USB adapter, not all brands work?

 

Have you reset the Airport Express while it was disconnected from everything and then plugged it into the M20d?



#44 Bassgumbo

Bassgumbo

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 08 January 2014 - 03:24 PM

Sorry to be a persistant pest, but I'm still not connecting through my Belkin router/Apple ethernet-USB adapter.  After reinitializing the router and connecting it to the M20-d, the iPad can connect to the router; the M20-d says it is trying to connect, but never gets there.  I get the same response whether I use the 5Ghz band alone or the 2.4/5 Ghz route.  Was there any sort of initial set-up of the router via the iPad that I needed to do?

 

Thanks again.


  • 1

#45 ArneLine6

ArneLine6

    Line 6 Staff

  • Product Management
  • PipPip
  • 352 posts

Posted 08 January 2014 - 03:59 PM

Are the m20d and the StageScape iPad app on the same firmware version? You find this information on the mixer in the "I" menu when you press the button in the upper right corner. On the iPad it is in the (iPad) settings menu.
  • 0

#46 Bassgumbo

Bassgumbo

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 08 January 2014 - 04:25 PM

Yep.  The M20-d and iPad connect fine with the Samsung dongle that I'm trying to avoid using because of wireless unit interference.


  • 1

#47 jeanpicasso

jeanpicasso

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 52 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 03:35 AM

remember to make sure you have your router set to DHPC/NAT and not set to BRIDGE mode.


  • 0

#48 bassman24

bassman24

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 80 posts
  • LocationSouth West Germany

Posted 09 January 2014 - 05:07 AM

Just a stupid question, but just to be sure: From what you describe, Bassgumbo, is the M20d connected to a LAN port on the router?


  • 0

#49 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2698 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 03:21 PM

yes ... connect to LAN.  You'll probably get a message "not connected to the internet" which is correct.



#50 Bassgumbo

Bassgumbo

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 04:22 PM

Just a stupid question, but just to be sure: From what you describe, Bassgumbo, is the M20d connected to a LAN port on the router?

 

Doh!!  Obviously, NOT a stupid question, as I had the M20-d connected to the modem port.........

 

yes ... connect to LAN.  You'll probably get a message "not connected to the internet" which is correct.

 

I will sure give it a shot, and report back.  So is there really any set up of the modem other than connecting things (correctly, that is)?


  • 0

#51 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2698 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 04:35 PM

It might ask you to create a password for your new network.  



#52 tinorios

tinorios

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • LocationNorthwest FL, USA

Posted 09 January 2014 - 05:12 PM

I'm really interested in the answers to these questions because I just bought the Belkin N600 router and Apple USB Ethernet adapter based on the recommendations in this thread.

 

Can one of you network wizards give us a step by step set up procedure for those of us less accomplished practitioners? Please.

 

Thanks.


  • 0

#53 Digital-sound

Digital-sound

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 381 posts

Posted 09 January 2014 - 09:50 PM

It really isn't too difficult, but something that many may not know.

Right out of the box, plug in your router. Plug your apple ethernet adapter into your M20D, and then, connect that to your router with an Ethernet cable into the LAN port. Go to the settings on your M20D (the "i" in the top right corner), click "settings" and then click wifi. I can't remember what shows from there, but it should be obvious I hope. When you connect your ipad, you will be asked for a code which you also get from the M20D settings menu.

That is the most basic setup. If you want to change your network name, or password, you will have to go through it in your manual. It also isn't too hard.
  • 0

#54 bassman24

bassman24

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 80 posts
  • LocationSouth West Germany

Posted 10 January 2014 - 12:14 AM

OK, just to throw in some advice from the network admin perspective:

You might want to change the default passwords for your wireless network and the default admin password for the router and also change the encryption to WPA2 if it´s WEP by default according to your router manual after initial setup. Just to keep this pesky not-so-talented script kiddies with their smartphones away from messing up your setup during a gig if they get bored (the more talented will hack the system anyway if they could, but it´s not very likely you will meet one of those at a gig, because it would reuqire more hardware than a smartphone to hack the system ;))


  • 0

#55 Digital-sound

Digital-sound

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 381 posts

Posted 10 January 2014 - 08:23 AM

OK, just to throw in some advice from the network admin perspective:
You might want to change the default passwords for your wireless network and the default admin password for the router and also change the encryption to WPA2 if it´s WEP by default according to your router manual after initial setup. Just to keep this pesky not-so-talented script kiddies with their smartphones away from messing up your setup during a gig if they get bored (the more talented will hack the system anyway if they could, but it´s not very likely you will meet one of those at a gig, because it would reuqire more hardware than a smartphone to hack the system ;))


Completely agree! But, before you do that, it is nice to see that you can connect. Once you can connect, the you do need to figure out how to set up you admin rights on the router. I am not a hacker, but sometimes, if I connect to a router that has the default name, I check if it has the default password. And it almost always does. So while no one could get to your stagescape without the 4 number pin, they could lock you out of your own router and it is very easy to do.
  • 0

#56 tinorios

tinorios

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • LocationNorthwest FL, USA

Posted 11 January 2014 - 11:07 AM

I've been trying to connect the mixer and iPad all morning with the Belkin N600 router and the Apple USB Ethernet adapter and I can't make it work. When I choose the Belkin 858 network in the iPad WiFi choices, it wants to connect to the internet and not the mixer. I'm totally frustrated, specially since it seems so easy reading about it in this forum. I've gone to the Belkin website and all they write about is connecting to the internet. I'm just about ready to go back to the USB dongle and return the router and adapter. 

 

Is there a place where it is explained how to connect the router to the mixer?


  • 0

#57 jaminjimlp

jaminjimlp

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 178 posts
  • LocationGeorgia

Posted 11 January 2014 - 11:12 AM

I've been trying to connect the mixer and iPad all morning with the Belkin N600 router and the Apple USB Ethernet adapter and I can't make it work. When I choose the Belkin 858 network in the iPad WiFi choices, it wants to connect to the internet and not the mixer. I'm totally frustrated, specially since it seems so easy reading about it in this forum. I've gone to the Belkin website and all they write about is connecting to the internet. I'm just about ready to go back to the USB dongle and return the router and adapter. 

 

Is there a place where it is explained how to connect the router to the mixer?

did you change the setting in the M20D to network, make sure it is not on the stand alone mode, sorry I am not at my unit right now and can't remember the exact wording. I use the "engenius" dongle and it is temperamental at times but works most of the time and was thinking of going the other rout as well.... you can try connecting with the dongle over the router network as well as with the usb to ethernet way.


  • 0

May you be blessed and our Lord Jesus keep you!!!


#58 tinorios

tinorios

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • LocationNorthwest FL, USA

Posted 11 January 2014 - 11:20 AM

did you change the setting in the M20D to network, make sure it is not on the stand alone mode, sorry I am not at my unit right now and can't remember the exact wording. I use the "engenius" dongle and it is temperamental at times but works most of the time and was thinking of going the other rout as well.... you can try connecting with the dongle over the router network as well as with the usb to ethernet way.

No. There is Unit Name already set up in the mixer that someone must have made. Do I need to delete this old set up and make a new one? There doesn't seem to be a way to edit it or make a second one.

 

Thank you for your help.


  • 0

#59 jaminjimlp

jaminjimlp

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 178 posts
  • LocationGeorgia

Posted 11 January 2014 - 11:25 AM

I would try to delete the old setup first and see what happens


  • 0

May you be blessed and our Lord Jesus keep you!!!


#60 tinorios

tinorios

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • LocationNorthwest FL, USA

Posted 11 January 2014 - 11:31 AM

I would try to delete the old setup first and see what happens

 

I can change the name but that's it.


  • 0

#61 jaminjimlp

jaminjimlp

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 178 posts
  • LocationGeorgia

Posted 11 January 2014 - 11:50 AM

mind you I haven't never tried what you are doing but 1. iPad connects to router? and stay connected? 2. you open the M20D app and it never connects? 3. does the M20D show that it sees the router network? 


  • 0

May you be blessed and our Lord Jesus keep you!!!


#62 tinorios

tinorios

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 90 posts
  • LocationNorthwest FL, USA

Posted 11 January 2014 - 03:18 PM

Update: It went from bad to worse. I gave up on the Belkin router and went back to the EnGenius EUB9801 and it still doesn't work.

 

Everything in the mixer is as the manual describes. The iPad settings are good. It recognizes the mixer as a WiFi device and let's me select it.

 

But when I open the StageScape Remote App, it does not find the mixer and it spins on and on.

 

Maybe my home WiFi is overpowering it. I also tried Channels 1 & 3 on the mixer with no results. I tried Channel 2 on the mixer also, but it wouldn't make a connection. I ended up leaving it on Channel 3.

 

Now, I'm tired of this. I'm going to leave it alone and do something else.


  • 0

#63 Digital-sound

Digital-sound

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 381 posts

Posted 11 January 2014 - 05:38 PM

I've been trying to connect the mixer and iPad all morning with the Belkin N600 router and the Apple USB Ethernet adapter and I can't make it work. When I choose the Belkin 858 network in the iPad WiFi choices, it wants to connect to the internet and not the mixer. I'm totally frustrated, specially since it seems so easy reading about it in this forum. I've gone to the Belkin website and all they write about is connecting to the internet. I'm just about ready to go back to the USB dongle and return the router and adapter. 
 
Is there a place where it is explained how to connect the router to the mixer?


When you choose belkin858 in the ipad, where is it trying to connect to the Internet? In the ipad "settings" app, on the "wifi" page, it should show the network, and a check mark beside the one it is connected to. The ipad won't "try to connect to the Internet" unless you open safari, or App Store, or something. But it is ok to connect to the Internet if it wants to. But once you see it on your ipad as connected to your belking, the , go to the settings page on the stagescape and then the "wifi" section on the stagescape, and you should see the network available to connect to. And a 4 digit pin. Then, once the M20d is connected to the belkin, and you ipad is too, you can open the stagescape app on your ipad, enter the 4 digit pin, and be ready to remote control the mixer.
  • 0

#64 Digital-sound

Digital-sound

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 381 posts

Posted 11 January 2014 - 05:41 PM

Section 9.3 in the manual explains it. You want to "use with existing wifi network" and once that is selected, you will see your router. Connect to that.
  • 0

#65 jaminjimlp

jaminjimlp

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 178 posts
  • LocationGeorgia

Posted 12 January 2014 - 12:05 AM

Update: It went from bad to worse. I gave up on the Belkin router and went back to the EnGenius EUB9801 and it still doesn't work.

 

Everything in the mixer is as the manual describes. The iPad settings are good. It recognizes the mixer as a WiFi device and let's me select it.

 

But when I open the StageScape Remote App, it does not find the mixer and it spins on and on.

 

Maybe my home WiFi is overpowering it. I also tried Channels 1 & 3 on the mixer with no results. I tried Channel 2 on the mixer also, but it wouldn't make a connection. I ended up leaving it on Channel 3.

 

Now, I'm tired of this. I'm going to leave it alone and do something else.

I use the Engenius too, make sure the M20D is in "stand alone" mode then make the iPad connect to it and you should see a device down below the other networks it should be the M20D. sometimes [most times] I have to start stop and restart the M20D app and plug and unplug the Engenius dongle several times before it connects, mine seems to work better on channel 3 as well. 


  • 0

May you be blessed and our Lord Jesus keep you!!!


#66 Bassgumbo

Bassgumbo

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 12 January 2014 - 06:23 PM

Success!!!!  I did it as was recommended.  Factory reset Router, powered on and connected to the M20-d (via an LAN port on the router) with an Apple ethernet to USB adapter; iPad snagged the network, logged on with the router's password, and the iPad app hooked up faster than with a dongle. 

 

The Belkin router gives several different networks to hook up to; the network named " _ _ _ Belkin.media" is the 5 Ghz network; the one without the ".media" is the 2.4/5 Ghz network.  You really don't have to do anything more than that for set-up.  Digital-sound had made the recommendation to change the password on the router; the Belkin unit comes with an 8-digit alphanumeric password already assigned (unlike the "0000" assigned to some routers), so resetting the password is needed only for convenience, and can be done with an iPad.  The 5 Ghz capability I think will be important, as I've got a Line 6 G30 on the way; hopefully it will cut down on the frequency of app, dongle and sometimes, iPad reboots needed during a gig.

 

It seems that there should be more thorough, less ambiguous and yes, less incorrect info on the Line 6 website (".. just use a dongle to hookup the M20-d..." from the set up video). for those of us who find it less than intuitive.  Thank goodness for all your help here!


  • 0

#67 malcevansmusic

malcevansmusic

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 25 March 2014 - 02:42 PM

Is there a specific version on the Belkin router that I should use? Would this work? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/261430404618
  • 0

#68 Digital-sound

Digital-sound

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 381 posts

Posted 25 March 2014 - 08:14 PM

The belkin n600 will work. It is the router dboomer was speaking of connecting earlier in this post I believe. Your link took me to the belkin n600.

Should be straightforward setup.
  • 0

#69 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2698 posts

Posted 26 March 2014 - 06:11 AM

The most frequent mistakes I see are not resetting the router before connecting it to the M20d and not plugging into the LAN port. Remember you are setting up a local network and not going on the internet.

After the router connected to the mixer you can go back using the GUI and change to the 5GHz mode only (assuming your router itself is capable of that).

Also USB to Ethernet adapters that are not Apple brand most likely will not work even though they may be specified to work with Apple products. Please use the Apple branded part.

#70 brianj402002

brianj402002

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 71 posts
  • LocationSt. John's

Posted 26 March 2014 - 06:48 AM

I am using and Apple Airport Express with the Apple branded ethernet adapter. Never had a problem with disconnects until v1.2 upgrade. Is this a known issue with the update or should I reset my router and try again?


  • 0

#71 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2698 posts

Posted 26 March 2014 - 06:57 AM

I use the same and have had no problems.  You might check the firmware in your airport express.

 

I would suggest resetting the Apple express and connecting again.  In my case i use the same iPad but with multiple mixers.  I've found in that case deleting the setup in the iPad itself and then reconnecting is helpful



#72 brianj402002

brianj402002

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 71 posts
  • LocationSt. John's

Posted 26 March 2014 - 07:06 AM

Thanks..will give it a go!


  • 0

#73 case67

case67

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • LocationSouthwest Germany

Posted 26 March 2014 - 07:26 AM

I use the latest Airport Express router together with the Apple USB to Ethernet Adapter and this works fine for me.

 

But i want to be able to switch off the 2.4GHz Wifi and use the 5GHz Wifi only for the iPad .

 

I use wireless Line6 microphones XD-V75 and they operate on the same 2.4GHz wifi range,

so i want to avoid any interference between the airport and the wireless mics.

 

Unfortunately it is not possible to switch off the Airport 2.4GHz 

Does anyone here know a hardware hack or any other trick to switch off the 2.4GHz selectively, but leave the 5GHz in operation?


  • 0

#74 Digital-sound

Digital-sound

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 381 posts

Posted 26 March 2014 - 12:15 PM

I also use the airport express and have had no disconnection problems.

I am just starting to look, but is there a way to set the airport express to 5ghz only?


Edit: looking at the post above this one more closely (actually finishing reading it ), I see there is no way?
  • 0

#75 malcevansmusic

malcevansmusic

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 26 March 2014 - 12:19 PM

The belkin n600 will work. It is the router dboomer was speaking of connecting earlier in this post I believe. Your link took me to the belkin n600.
Should be straightforward setup.

I think I'll give this one ap go then, and buy the Apple adaptor as recommended. Thank you!
  • 0

#76 petepraise

petepraise

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • LocationScotland

Posted 31 March 2014 - 06:23 PM

I just bought the Belkin n600 it actually says play on the box when I went into the iPad wifi there were a few belkin options and one was labeled 5ghz so I was able to go strait to it. I had a USB to Ethernet already and gave it a go and after a shaky start it connected and seems fine now. It wouldn't connect and said no network adapter the router had went through its start up and the light changed from blue to orange I thought because there is no internet. I tried switching on the router and then quickly plugging in the USB so the desk looked for it before it got to the orange light and it worked. After that it seemed to connect ok the big test will be this weekend if it goes pear shaped I guess I'll just need to buy the Apple one.
What's another £25 when I've already spend £110 trying to get a stable connection 😡 (moan over)
PP
  • 0

#77 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2698 posts

Posted 31 March 2014 - 07:35 PM

Did you shut the 2.4G off?  You can do that in the advanced system setup software that came with the router.  Highly recommended.



#78 petepraise

petepraise

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • LocationScotland

Posted 01 April 2014 - 03:06 AM

Thanks Dboomer, I haven't done that.

Would I need to use a laptop to do it? I've had a 75 headset for a while, still in the box we don't use it in the group - although I might once I get used to it - but I'm going to use it when I'm playing guitar on my own so even just for that I would want to shut it off. And we've got a full day this Saturday to practice and get settings, were also playing the place in a few weeks so I'd want to shut it off ASAP and dial in a right good sound for the venue. I'm planing on trying my new mic and guitar then too.
PP
  • 0

#79 dboomer

dboomer

    Line 6 Staff

  • Moderator
  • 2698 posts

Posted 01 April 2014 - 06:06 AM

Yes, you will need an external computer to be able to run the Belden editor program.

#80 petepraise

petepraise

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • LocationScotland

Posted 02 April 2014 - 12:36 AM

Thanks for that I'll check out the Belkin instructions. I hope it's a set and forget cos we couldn't start taking a laptop with us, we spent a fortune to get rid of it.

PP
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users