Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Which Amp To Add To Pod X3live And Jtv?

Hi guys

I own a JTV 89F, a pod X3L and up to now I used my atomic reactor amp.

Maybe I will change my amp but I know the X3L has no line 6 link.

What will be the better choice?

Have an Lm speaker or a dt 25?

Do they have an input which skips the pre amp like I was used to with my atomic, so I can have all the advantage of my X3L?

I will only skip to a Pod HD when it will have the possibilities of the X3L.

So with bass amps and mic pre amps, until then I will be happy with my X3L.

By the way on this forum I read that the Pod 550 HD doesn't sound better than the X3L.

I have no experience with the 500 HD, so I don't know.

Thank you for your answers...

I have a JTV, HD500 and L2t. I can't tell you how happy I am with the L2t. I would recomend the L2t(m) to anyone who has bought into modeling. FRFR is great if you can find it. I have been chasing a true FRFR systems and modeling for at least 10 years.

Since I completed the dream rig with the L2t, I can sya I am completely satisfied. Buy it you won't be disappointed.

• Upvote 1

• 3 weeks later...

the HD amp modeling has ~10x the data of the X3 modeling, I  notice this most on the "mid-gain" tones with amps like the deluxe, Dr. Z, etc.  Either the HD500/X or the X3 will work great with the L2 using the XLR output of either POD and going into the L2 on "reference" (flat response).  the HD500/X will also give the option of the L6 link, which can "remember" the speaker setting with the preset and is great if you want to switch between electric guitar mode and acoustic mode with the touch of a button.

Hi guys

By the way on this forum I read that the Pod 550 HD doesn't sound better than the X3L.

I have no experience with the 500 HD, so I don't know...