#1 radamo

radamo

Just Startin'

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 October 2013 - 12:55 AM

Hi,

I am not a musician, and I bought the M20d for conferences with people talking into mic. I choose the M20d for the weight, size, possibilities, and feedback control.

I made my first job 2 days ago, in a large room (40x30m), with 4 x KR200 system sound, and 8 mic HF (sennheiser). i was a little stressed because I did not know how the mixer will play and did only 10 minutes test with 1 mic the day before (i know, i should be more prudent).

1) The good :

incredibly intuitive. All i wanted to do, i could do it !! In one day without reading a lot and in real condition, i could do it. I used a yamaha 01V and it much much hard to use, and bigger. So, the M20d is my first choice mixer now, for big or small  configurations.

2) What gave me some trouble :

-Feedback control

That is my nightmare. I used dbx224, behringer, Sabine, 31 eq,...All these tool should in theory work perfectly if you have enough time to make them work. In the real world it is no so clear. To be able to have feedback control on each input was new for me and a real "plus".

It works well with the M20d but you have to make so much noise that you need the room to be empty. And if you switch off the mixer, you lose every filters settings. That is a big issue for me. During the show, in the morning after the test, i start without any filters and could not make the larsen start because there where many people in the room. Another problem is that the room does not sound the same will people and without. So, doing test without any people is not the best way to do.

Please, make us possible to keep the filters in memory, because if we can't the feedback control is useless.

- Autotrim