Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Compressed Dynamics On Playback

Hi there,

I'm a very happy m20d/StageSource owner. Our band uses the m20D along with 4 L2Ms and 1 L3s for small venues. The ease of setup and musician-friendly controls are incredible. Plus the sound rocks as many here have attested.

I'm a guitarist and I use a HD500 into a DT25 with the DT25's direct out going into the m20d.

Between rehearsals I've spent a lot of time trying to match the tone coming through the speakers with what I get out of the DT25. I use the m20d's 20 second recording capability to play a riff, record it and then tweak the m20d's EQ as I listen to it over and over.

What I've noticed is that when I use this feature it sounds like my tone is getting heavily compressed on playback - in other words it sounds thinner and has less high end than when I'm playing real time through the m20d and speakers. 

Should I be hearing a difference? If so, does it have to do with whatever format the m20d is using for those 20 second clips?

For reference we play hard rock so all of my patches use a lot of grit.

Ted

What I've noticed is that when I use this feature it sounds like my tone is getting heavily compressed on playback - in other words it sounds thinner and has less high end than when I'm playing real time through the m20d and speakers. 

Hi Ted

There may be compression on the preset in the mixer channel you are using.  The recording is directly after the analog to digital cobnversion and before any processing done by the mixer.  However when you play it back the mixer can be adding lots of things to the signal.  That is all user selectable.

Have you ever ported the recorded wave file over to a DAW?  Same result?

Hi there,