Jump to content


Photo

Breaking The Rules


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Karl_Houseknecht

Karl_Houseknecht

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4027 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 02 November 2013 - 02:12 PM

I don't know why I never did this before, but there's something to be said for trying things that go against the "rules" with the DT/POD combo.

 

For instance, I had a pretty decent Marshall tone going on with the P75 preamp on the HD500 using topology II.  That's the way it's supposed to work, right?  But I'm more of a Mesa kind of guy and I like my "Marshall" tones a little more modern.  Switched the topology to IV using the same preamp.  Bingo.  Right where it needed to be to match up with Crunch mode on CH2 of my Mark V.  Has just the right round boldness without annoying top end.

 

The rules are made for breaking.  I've been all smiles for the last couple of hours.


  • 0

Guitars: Schecter C-1 Custom, C-1 Custom FR, Wolfgang Special, Strat, Teles, Variax Standard 
Amps Effects: AX8, Helix, Kemper Power Head, Marshall JVM410H, Mesa Mark V


#2 MGblade

MGblade

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 03 November 2013 - 12:10 AM

I don't know why I never did this before, but there's something to be said for trying things that go against the "rules" with the DT/POD combo.
For instance, I had a pretty decent Marshall tone going on with the P75 preamp on the HD500 using topology II. That's the way it's supposed to work, right? But I'm more of a Mesa kind of guy and I like my "Marshall" tones a little more
modern. Switched the topology to IV using the same preamp. Bingo. Right where it needed to be to match up with Crunch mode on CH2 of my Mark V. Has just the right round boldness without annoying top end.

The rules are made for breaking. I've been all smiles for the last couple of hours.


+1
I run most of the pre's (bassman, plexi, blkface) through topIII, i realy like the depth an sponginess of that topology.
  • 0

#3 geppert

geppert

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 365 posts
  • LocationWest Coast, Canada
  • Registered Products:7

Posted 03 November 2013 - 10:54 AM

+1
I run most of the pre's (bassman, plexi, blkface) through topIII, i realy like the depth an sponginess of that topology.

 

 

I am a big fan of Top III as well … "spong (iness)" ….. good description !~!  From now on I will say …. "I think it needs more "spong" …. nice.

 

Good post from Karl … in my experience it often pays to try everything and anything despite what the "literature" says. Great discoveries are made that way.


  • 0

#4 Karl_Houseknecht

Karl_Houseknecht

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4027 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 03 November 2013 - 01:48 PM

Played this patch with my Tele at church this morning, which I just yesterday put a DiMarzio Area Hot T in the bridge and went up a gauge on strings....man, it smoked.  

 

Literally.  We had to cut our worship set short because smoke was pouring out of our heating ducts into the building. :)  Turned out to be a fan motor that seized up and then burned up.  But let me tell you, I was worried for a moment because I left everything on stage as we evacuated.  HD500X, DT25, Tele...entire rig.  I'm thinking to myself, man, I just got this thing sounding great and now it's going to get burned up or water dumped on it?

 

Turned out everything was contained to the heater unit and no further damage.  Thank God!  It really sounded good.


  • 0

Guitars: Schecter C-1 Custom, C-1 Custom FR, Wolfgang Special, Strat, Teles, Variax Standard 
Amps Effects: AX8, Helix, Kemper Power Head, Marshall JVM410H, Mesa Mark V


#5 MGblade

MGblade

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 04 November 2013 - 03:45 AM

[quote name="geppert" post="23826" timestamp="1383504871"]

I am a big fan of Top III as well … "spong (iness)" ….. good description !~! From now on I will say …. "I think it needs more "spong" …. nice.


It,s funny how we intent to describe tone, chunky, fat, creamy, organic, but in some way almost every one(guitarist) knows wat you mean.

Try to describe for instance the colour blue to a blind man, that's imposible
  • 1

#6 Karl_Houseknecht

Karl_Houseknecht

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4027 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 04 November 2013 - 06:56 AM

It,s funny how we intent to describe tone, chunky, fat, creamy, organic, but in some way almost every one(guitarist) knows wat you mean.
 

 

Two tonal descriptors I've heard countless times but STILL don't know what they refer to:

 

1.  Three dimensional

2.  Organic

 

To me, those are the most useless descriptions of tone I've heard.  Fat, creamy, chunky...those convey some real information.  But organic?  Was my tone grown on a farm where they didn't use pesticides?  Three dimensional?  I don't even know how that applies to sound. :)


  • 1

Guitars: Schecter C-1 Custom, C-1 Custom FR, Wolfgang Special, Strat, Teles, Variax Standard 
Amps Effects: AX8, Helix, Kemper Power Head, Marshall JVM410H, Mesa Mark V


#7 phil_m

phil_m

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 8490 posts
  • LocationMinneapolis, MN
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 04 November 2013 - 07:49 AM

Well, poop is three dimensional and organic... So maybe if someone describes a guitar tone in those terms, they're trying to say it's a real crappy tone. :blink:


  • 0

"It is not our duty to understand the arbitrary, meaningless dictates of machines"

- Don Norman in The Design of Everyday Things


#8 Karl_Houseknecht

Karl_Houseknecht

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4027 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 04 November 2013 - 08:51 AM

LOL!  I am so stealing that.


  • 0

Guitars: Schecter C-1 Custom, C-1 Custom FR, Wolfgang Special, Strat, Teles, Variax Standard 
Amps Effects: AX8, Helix, Kemper Power Head, Marshall JVM410H, Mesa Mark V


#9 MGblade

MGblade

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 04 November 2013 - 08:58 AM

Well, poop is three dimensional and organic... So maybe if someone describes a guitar tone in those terms, they're trying to say it's a real crappy tone. :blink:


brown sound?
  • 1

#10 geppert

geppert

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 365 posts
  • LocationWest Coast, Canada
  • Registered Products:7

Posted 04 November 2013 - 09:20 AM

As a career professional Recording Engineer I can assure you I have heard some unbelievable "descriptions" for tone. One short story (and it is a true one), in a session once the (rather stoned) keyboardist came in to the control room and said "hey, can you do "something" with my sound" … lol, I said, "how about I just turn it off" …. honest !~! … under the circumstances (we were all friends) it got a nice laugh but honestly, there are many many ways to "try" and describe sound but like MGBade says …. many times the "concept" is conveyed by the most unusual words. Recently I have been working with a product called "Jam Hub", it is a headphone monitoring concept for rehearsals etc. IF the drummer has eDrums then everyone can plug in after pedals without the need for amps. The bass player said " yes that's cool but sometimes you just need amps to get the "Bone Feel" … I thought that was a very "organic" description and right on the money … and ... I knew EXACTLY what he meant … !!!


  • 0

#11 Karl_Houseknecht

Karl_Houseknecht

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4027 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 04 November 2013 - 01:40 PM

you just need amps to get the "Bone Feel" … I thought that was a very "organic" description and right on the money … and ... I knew EXACTLY what he meant … !!!

 

As in, feeling the sound "in your bones"....or something a little more...risque?


  • 0

Guitars: Schecter C-1 Custom, C-1 Custom FR, Wolfgang Special, Strat, Teles, Variax Standard 
Amps Effects: AX8, Helix, Kemper Power Head, Marshall JVM410H, Mesa Mark V


#12 edstar1960

edstar1960

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1649 posts
  • LocationUK
  • Registered Products:7

Posted 15 November 2013 - 09:11 AM

 

 

For instance, I had a pretty decent Marshall tone going on with the P75 preamp on the HD500 using topology II.  ...............................................................................  Switched the topology to IV using the same preamp. ......................

 

 

 

This maybe a dumb question - but do you select the preamp and save it in the HD500 patch, and then when you stomp on that patch, do you then manually switch the topology on the DT25 to the one you want, then save the patch again on the HD500, and then when you swap to that patch in future does it remember to recall the topology you switched to?  Or does it always recall the Line6 assigned topology for the preamp selected in the HD500 and you have to manually switch the topology on the DT25?   


  • 0

#13 radatats

radatats

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2317 posts
  • LocationOrange County, NY
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 15 November 2013 - 10:53 AM

I build my patches in HD Edit and the topology you select when you build your patch saves with it.  When you select that patch in the future it configures the DT just the way you specified in the patch.


  • 1

Quit complaining and DO something or help somebody with their issues...


#14 edstar1960

edstar1960

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1649 posts
  • LocationUK
  • Registered Products:7

Posted 17 November 2013 - 05:27 AM

I build my patches in HD Edit and the topology you select when you build your patch saves with it.  When you select that patch in the future it configures the DT just the way you specified in the patch.

 

Ah! Thanks radatats!  I usually program my HD500 using the hands on control when I am connected to my powered PA speaker or when connected to my DT25.  I keep forgetting about HD EDIT!

So to do the same thing outside of HD EDIT, is presumably to set the sound on HD500 and then set the topology on DT25 and then save patch on the HD500.


  • 0

#15 radatats

radatats

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2317 posts
  • LocationOrange County, NY
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 17 November 2013 - 08:45 AM

that should work!


  • 0

Quit complaining and DO something or help somebody with their issues...


#16 stumblinman

stumblinman

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 882 posts
  • LocationPacific Northwest
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 18 November 2013 - 09:52 AM

I find I like the treadplate with topology III. I think my plexi uses IV. You can really make the models stand out by changing cabs and topologies. Completely changes the EQ voicing. Great post!
  • 0

#17 RPascarella

RPascarella

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 22 December 2013 - 08:21 PM

Cool post.  I flipped my P75 patch to topology III and wow, it really jumped out at me.  So here's the question - how can I assign the topology change to a foot pedal on the HD500?  Is this possible?  I want to use this for a solo boost.


  • 0

#18 radatats

radatats

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2317 posts
  • LocationOrange County, NY
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 22 December 2013 - 08:57 PM

not possible... besides there would be a noticeable delay as the amp physically reconfigured.  I try to avoid any changes within a patch or song that requires a topology change.


  • 0

Quit complaining and DO something or help somebody with their issues...