Jump to content


Photo

New Pc Build, Os And 3.0 Usb Questions


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Jimmikatt

Jimmikatt

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 87 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 04 November 2013 - 02:26 AM

I am finishing up the new PC build i have been working on for the last month,

and i wanted to know if the UX2 is going to have any issues or updates for Windows 8.1,

and any feedback on using the 3.0 USB ports.

I should have the build finished in a few days, will the 3.0 USB help with signal latency.?

do you, or will you be supporting win 8.1.? 

I have updated all my drivers and my Monkey to this PC, and everything is working fine, 

but my new PC will be 20 x faster than this old lollipop thing, and even though it's working fine,

will it benefit me moving it all over to the new build. I will eventually be moving everything over, as this can't last forever.  


  • 0

#2 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17705 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:16

Posted 04 November 2013 - 06:10 AM

you dont want to use usb 3.0 no advantages and it sometimes causes issues. windows 8.1 works fine. 

 

no telling if you'll have issues... too many variables to know until you give it a try... different ram, chipsets, drivers installs, etc etc...

in all likeliness you'll be fine.. but some machines just have issues regardless of age etc.


  • 0

#3 Jimmikatt

Jimmikatt

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 87 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 05 November 2013 - 12:07 PM

this is a AMD build if that makes a difference.

here is a list of my build, just waiting on the GPU and i'm finished.

 

http://www.overclock...view/id/5496778


  • 0

#4 Triryche

Triryche

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 6902 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 07 November 2013 - 11:14 AM

FWIW, here is my last build (3 years ago already!!??)

 

I tested the UX2 with the USB 3.0 ports and had no issues.

Put as Zap points out, YMMV

 

eNwVpXU.jpg


  • 0

#5 Jimmikatt

Jimmikatt

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 87 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 18 November 2013 - 11:35 PM

I guess the only way to find out is swap over all my programs from Line 6 to my new PC..

will i have issues of any device not working due to new PC.?

I remember all the hoops i had to jump through to get this stuff working proper the 1st time...lol

the only thing stopping me is my old lollipop Cool Edit Pro 2.1  i really like it,  

i guess if i do not remove anything from my old PC, i'll still have it..  as i have both PC running side by side.

 

And Thank you for the Help.


  • 0

#6 Triryche

Triryche

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 6902 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 19 November 2013 - 09:27 AM

Start with the newest version of Monkey to get current drivers, firmware, ect.

http://line6.com/software/

 

Then you should be able to your tone files to the new pc.


  • 0

#7 bugwahn

bugwahn

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 11 February 2016 - 03:26 AM

I can't work with USB 3.0 and Pod HD500x.
Sometimes it works for a few days, but suddenly the system crashed several times.
From one moment to the next I get a second latency on every action, even starting the sequencer.
When I'm lucky I get it to save the projekt before it crashes. And then it crashes several times, with blue screen talking bout podhd driver problems.
No way to risk it in a live setup...
I use asio4all now and connect my Asus Audio out to the aux input minijack of my hd500x, what was not my intention, of cause.
Now I must search for an alternative.
Or a better line6 driver.
 


  • 0

#8 fflbrgst

fflbrgst

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2447 posts
  • LocationNew England
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 16 February 2016 - 05:34 AM

You'll do better posing your questions in a new thread, rather than tacking onto a 3-year-old one.


  • 1