Jump to content


Photo

Anyone Have Troubles Updating From Vetta Hd To Vetta Ii Through Midisport Uno?

vetta hd vetta 2 midisport uno imac

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 BrianHensley

BrianHensley

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 09 November 2013 - 07:27 AM

 
Preferences
§
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
0
-
=
Backspace
 
Tab
q
w
e
r
t
y
u
i
o
p
[
]
 
Return
 
 
capslock
a
s
d
f
g
h
j
k
l
;
'
\
 
shift
`
z
x
c
v
b
n
m
,
.
/
shift
 
 
English
 
 
Deutsch
 
Español
 
Français
 
Italiano
 
Português
 
Русский
 
alt
alt
 
 
Preferences

I recently bought the midisport uno interface with the intention of updating my Vetta HD to the Vetta II.  I had to contact tech support because of a registration problem with the serial number.  When I told him of my update intentions he advised me not to update, saying that if anything went wrong during the update procedure that my Vetta would become an oversized door stop.  He said that it would have to be sent to the shop for repairs and that because of the age of the amp finding parts would be an issue.  So now I have a conundrum about whether to risk an update.  Has anyone heard of this problem before?  Any unrecoverable crashes during an update?  I've really been looking forward to performing this update for a while but now I'm afraid of losing everything if I do.  Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

 

Brian Hensley


  • 0

#2 DickFoster

DickFoster

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 09 November 2013 - 08:59 AM

I'd hook it up and try reading some patches etc. though the cable.  If all seems to be working well with it and the amp and everything functions as it should, then I'd go ahead with the upgrade after reading and gaining a full understanding of exactly what to do and when to do it.

But that's just me, it's your amp and your call. If this sort of thing gives you the willys and you're not comfortable with it, then when in doubt, obstain.

BTW no parts should be needed to do an upgrade or reflash the amp if things go wrong. If push comes to shove another amp can be used to do it.

Maybe the best thing for you to do is to first locate a shop that can handle it if things take a wrong turn so you don't brink your amp forever.

For what its worth, the upgrade is not really that big of a deal. The tuner works better and other stuff like that but all the factory patches still pretty much suck in my opinion whether it's the new or old software but that's pretty typical of any make. Factory patches just generally suck no matter what factory they come from or what gear they're going into.     


  • 0

#3 msc1958

msc1958

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • LocationCentral NJ
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 31 July 2017 - 01:44 PM

Anyone have Vetta firmware update success using a midisport 2x2 anniversary? Is it a viable alternative to the uno? I have the 2x2 but not the uno. Thanks Mark
  • 0
Regards,

🎸 Mark 🎶

<*)))>{ "Make a joyful noise unto the LORD, all ye lands." Psalms 100:1

#4 DickFoster

DickFoster

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 02 August 2017 - 09:58 AM

I've only used the Uno and I think it was the only recommended midi cable to use. For no more than they cost it's just not worth messin around with it. Do everything you can to ensure success from the onset. 


  • 0

#5 franknick

franknick

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 02 August 2017 - 05:52 PM

I use an old creative labs sound blaster audigy zs. Use an old version of monkey. I just did two amps with it!
  • 0

#6 DickFoster

DickFoster

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 04 August 2017 - 11:03 AM

I use an old creative labs sound blaster audigy zs. Use an old version of monkey. I just did two amps with it!

Monkey no longer works as line6 disabled it. it was a web based tool that was unwise to implement in the first place as it added far too many places for bad things to happen in the updating process. Best to use an update file and a direct connection to the amp instead of adding a bunch of internet garbage to the chain.  


  • 0





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: vetta hd, vetta 2, midisport uno, imac