#1 CTXTom

CTXTom

Just Startin'

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 November 2013 - 05:19 PM

Hi all!
I'm very new to line 6 gear.just picked up my hd500x which I'm pretty impressed with.Just lookin for some suggestions on live applications.Had my first rehersal today with the hd500x as my pre amp,plugged into a all tube 50 watt stereo power amp.Sounded quite good,just lookin for more thump,to push thru the stage type mix.Im thinking about the LT speakers,what would you suggest?We play pretty hard rock.I want the rest of the band to hear the guitar without any trouble,ect.Please give me your opinion on this.Thanks a ton guys! Tom

#2 radatats

radatats

Gear Head

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 688 posts
  • LocationOrange County, NY

Posted 24 November 2013 - 06:29 PM

Seriously?  50 watt tube stereo power amp with the POD should be able to cut through anything...  What cab(s) are you using?

Also how is your POD set up?  Make sure switches by the expression pedal are set to guitar, not pad and line, not amp.  Keep POD master up all the way and use your amp volume to set final level.  You can also play around with lower POD master/higher amp levels too.  Set input to 1-guitar, 2-same.  If that is too hot, set 2 to mic and try it again.  Play around with outputs but I find Combo Power Amp to work really nice with my Velocity 300 into a stereo 2X12 guitar cab.  Stack Power is harsh to me and both front settings are too thin.  Studio Direct works good too but is almost too polished for good rock guitar.

After all that if you still want to change, go with the T vice M models just because you will enjoy the versatility over time.  As for volume, well bigger is still better but maybe not needed depending on where you play.  You will have to try them out first if at all possible...

As for the rest of the band hearing you, that depends more on the sound tech and the monitor mix... more important that the audience hears you...  :)