5 replies to this topic

#1 mosternaz

mosternaz

Just Startin'

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 04 December 2013 - 04:03 PM

We just set up a new system at our church, and are doing a concert this week and a children's musical next week.  This scares me!  I'm not a sound engineer and just want to confirm some basic information and beg for any assistance you can give!.

We will use one body pack with a Countryman E6, two body packs with the LIne 6 lavs, and the rest will be Line 6 handhelds.  We have good line of sight and the receivers are about 50-70 feet from the transmitters.  We are using the built-in antennas for the handhelds and the auxiliary antennas for the body packs. 

We scanned the channels and have nice clear channels.  We are on RF1 and Hi power.

I'm reading about gain.  Our units are set to unity.  Is this the best way to go?  We want to avoid as much of the pops, breath sounds and rustling noise as possible.  In testing the lavs, it seems that they are not as sensitive as the E6 or the handheld.  And they seem to be sensitive to movement.  It seem they sound best when taped to the sideburn area of the face. 

So, what can we expect when we pull this all together?  Should we set anything any differently?  I would truly appreciate any tips of the trade from you more experienced guys.  Please tell me anything you think I should know in setting up these mics.

With my undying gratitude.....

Monica

#2 RonMarton

RonMarton

Power User

• Line 6 Expert
  • 1276 posts
  • LocationSydney, Australia.

Posted 04 December 2013 - 05:14 PM

Aargh...

As you've foreshadowed, the two Line 6 lavs will be the source of most of your grief, Monica.

You'll appreciate that, given a choice, we'd never use them for this application, but the lack of funds for three proper headworns is only too (two ? ) understandable.