Jump to content


Photo

Line 6 With Linux?

linux with line 6

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Kellaway

Kellaway

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 14 December 2013 - 04:13 PM

I've just acquired a Line 6 HD300 unit and at the same time am considering a change of OS over to Ubuntu Linux for various reasons like MS no longer supporting XP..

Has anyone out there used this combination? There is no mention of Linux in the Monkey downloads.

I have very slow satellite broadband and have found the Monkey downloads so far painfully slow or even impossible as the biggest upgrade refuses to load the latest version. So I'm thinking Linux might make it totally impossible.

I may have to take the computer to a fast broadband for downloads but if Linux does work with it this would help.

 

Cheers,

Dan


  • 0

#2 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17813 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:17

Posted 14 December 2013 - 07:16 PM

line6 does not support Linux in any way... 
 


  • 0

#3 BigChas52

BigChas52

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2889 posts
  • LocationWashington, DC
  • Registered Products:21

Posted 14 December 2013 - 07:18 PM

. . . and I wouldn't expect it to any time in the reasonably foreseeable future.  Sorry.


  • 0

#4 Kellaway

Kellaway

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 15 December 2013 - 03:28 AM

Thankyou gentlemen, glad I asked before the plunge.


  • 0

#5 katiekerry

katiekerry

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 201 posts
  • LocationMinnesota
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 15 December 2013 - 05:14 AM

I am not sure if this helps I have a macbook pro so I don't use linux but I found a link for line6 support drivers for linux..

 

http://lxr.free-elec.../line6/driver.c

 

good luck


  • 0

JTV 59 Tobacco Burst

HD500

Alesis DM10 Studio

 


#6 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17813 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:17

Posted 15 December 2013 - 05:18 AM

they are not line6 supported, and will not enable any line6 applications to work natively within linux.

they are 3rd party audio drivers, that you can of course use of your own risk.


  • 0

#7 katiekerry

katiekerry

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 201 posts
  • LocationMinnesota
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 15 December 2013 - 08:04 AM

they are not line6 supported, and will not enable any line6 applications to work natively within linux.

they are 3rd party audio drivers, that you can of course use of your own risk.

Yeah I think any drivers that you are gonna find are gonna be third party.  I have never seen any pro audio manufacturer who supports linux..  But thats a perk of open source some one else will help you out in the comunity...


  • 0

JTV 59 Tobacco Burst

HD500

Alesis DM10 Studio

 


#8 OrangeCountyCarl

OrangeCountyCarl

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 22 December 2013 - 11:20 PM

I've just acquired a Line 6 HD300 unit and at the same time am considering a change of OS over to Ubuntu Linux for various reasons like MS no longer supporting XP..

Has anyone out there used this combination? There is no mention of Linux in the Monkey downloads.

I have very slow satellite broadband and have found the Monkey downloads so far painfully slow or even impossible as the biggest upgrade refuses to load the latest version. So I'm thinking Linux might make it totally impossible.

I may have to take the computer to a fast broadband for downloads but if Linux does work with it this would help.

 

Cheers,

Dan

 

The best thing to do is use a second computer (up to date with patches) and disconnect it from the Internet. Use that for Line 6 and other gear that needs Windows. Use Linux for everything else.


  • 0

#9 fr2632

fr2632

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • LocationThe Netherlands
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 28 December 2013 - 05:59 AM

Hey Kellaway,

 

I am a linux user too and I can confirm that if you install windows 7 on a virtual machine (virtualbox for example) it works! You can even upgrade the firmware/flash of your Line 6 HD300! I did it with my HD500x and I guess it should work with the HD300 aswell!

 

Good luck ;)


  • 0

#10 Kellaway

Kellaway

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 28 December 2013 - 07:39 PM

Thanks fr2632, I'll look into that.


  • 0

#11 Tmassar003

Tmassar003

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 February 2014 - 08:42 PM

Can anyone help me with how to use through a virtual machine? I can't get HD edit or Monkey to recognize my firmware past 1.0 and monkey says that the latest version is 1.0...besides that it works fine, I just need to fix this last firmware problem.

 

Thanks,

Tim


  • 0

#12 fr2632

fr2632

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • LocationThe Netherlands
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 04 February 2014 - 04:59 AM

Can anyone help me with how to use through a virtual machine? I can't get HD edit or Monkey to recognize my firmware past 1.0 and monkey says that the latest version is 1.0...besides that it works fine, I just need to fix this last firmware problem.

 

Thanks,

Tim

Hi Tim,

 

I have got the same problem but in my case Monkey installed automatically the latest firmware. Make sure that your multieffect is recognised by the virtual machine and do not use usb hubs.  


  • 0

#13 Rodnikov

Rodnikov

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 16 August 2014 - 01:25 PM

Can somebody suggest any other normal guitar processor working fine with Linux?
Maybe if Line 6 does not want to do the driver fo normal operating systems, it is time to buy something from other manufacturers?

 


  • 0

#14 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17813 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:17

Posted 16 August 2014 - 01:40 PM

Haha.... KoolAid... it's delicious!

 

Maybe if Line 6 does not want to do the driver fo normal operating systems


  • 0

#15 crice53

crice53

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 24 August 2014 - 11:07 AM

I sorted Firmware issues using an old XP machine, then went back to using the Line6 software in a VM (Linux Mint - VirtualBox-XP).


  • 0

#16 hmoller

hmoller

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • LocationChile
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 05 September 2016 - 06:59 AM

at least in kernel 4.4 are included line6 modules. In ubuntu if you go to /lib/modules/4.4.0-36-generic/kernel/sound/usb/line6 you will see the modules:

snd-usb-line6
snd-usb-podhd
snd-usb-pod
snd-usb-toneport
snd-usb-variax

you should be able to load them with: modprobe
example:
sudo modprobe snd-usb-podhd

unfortunnately I haven't been able to bring my hd500x running, I don't know if it is because of the X or not. modprobe work's fine but I don't see it with

cat /proc/asound/cards

nor I see it in alsamixer.

hope this help, let us know how it goes.


  • 0

#17 andypierson

andypierson

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 October 2016 - 06:58 AM

I also use LInux.  One method to still use Windoze is to download Disk2vhd (the one i have is 2.01) from sysinternals.com.  This will allow you to create a virtual image of your Windoze computer.  If you use VirtualBox then when you open the program uncheck the "Use Vhdx" box.

 

Once that is done create your image, import to VirtualBox in Linux.  You will need to do some config on memory, video memory, USB port sharing but I suggest you RTFM or check forums on VirtualBox.

 

This only works if you have a Windoze pc still around.  If you don't, find a friend that has one that is not in use and clone it (with the understanding they format that pc so you do not violate the EULA).


  • 0

#18 arthroppus

arthroppus

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 30 November 2016 - 07:00 AM

I think it's a shame that Line 6 does not provide their software for Linux. The solutions using Virtual Box (or VMWare) are resource consuming.


  • 0

#19 hmoller

hmoller

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • LocationChile
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 28 February 2017 - 07:09 AM

Vote in ideascale fro the linux driver idea https://line6.ideasc...rs/870707-23508


  • 0

#20 jensverwiebe

jensverwiebe

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 12 December 2017 - 05:56 AM

Hi folks

I recently got a Line6 Helix LT and saw it is kinda usb-compliant at least on the mac.

So i gave it a try on linux and got it run.

I had to hack alsa to not try to read or set the fixed default 48kHz samplerate.

Then i still had small soundglitches cause the usbrate does not follow, so i made a hack with

an arbitrary value read from another working usb interface here too. ( implicite feedback not available ? )

Result: it works fine with jack ( incl. midi ), setting up all 8 in/out and also aggregate it via alsa_in/alsa_out with my focusrite scarlett 6i6.

Todo:

Pure alsa does not work atm as i don't get the control interface setup to have a mixer, which should be a passthrough like on mac annyway.

When i have time i wanna get rid of my arbitrary hack to read out properly the usb rate from the interface3 feedback endpoint.

Perhaps it can be calculated other way or a timer is needed, not sure atm..

Roundup: Helix (LT) is somewhat compliant on linux alsa, but needs some quirks. Perhaps such could be better supported in next firmware update.

/proc/asound/HELIX/stream0:

LINE 6 HELIX at usb-0000:07:00.0-2, high speed : USB Audio

Playback:
  Status: Running
    Interface = 2
    Altset = 1
    Packet Size = 224
    Momentary freq = 48005 Hz (0x6.0029)
  Interface 2
    Altset 1
    Format: S32_LE
    Channels: 8
    Endpoint: 3 OUT (ASYNC)
    Rates: 48000
    Data packet interval: 125 us

Capture:
  Status: Running
    Interface = 3
    Altset = 1
    Packet Size = 224
    Momentary freq = 48005 Hz (0x6.0029)
  Interface 3
    Altset 1
    Format: S32_LE
    Channels: 8
    Endpoint: 3 IN (ASYNC)
    Rates: 48000
    Data packet interval: 125 us


Cheers ... Jens


  • 1

#21 shemeshg

shemeshg

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 10 January 2018 - 08:28 AM

Hi, Just Startin'

 

Will it be possible to post, the steps you have made to make Alsa recognize Helix speed correctlly?

 

I guess I wil have to download ALSA and recompile it with specific exclusion of speed negotiation for the Helix,

is that so?

 

Will it be better for me to wait for it to be at the next ALSA release?

 

Was it required any kernel changes required also?

 

Thanks 

These are greate news, and

I hope Line6 will make Helix more USB compliant, on next Firmware Update

so it would work out of the box in OSX and Linux, with no driver or othe changes required.

This will also assure that no matter what changes would Apple or Linux do, Helix would remain rock solid.


  • 0

#22 phil_m

phil_m

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 9059 posts
  • LocationMinneapolis, MN
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 10 January 2018 - 10:50 AM


I hope Line6 will make Helix more USB compliant, on next Firmware Update

so it would work out of the box in OSX and Linux, with no driver or othe changes required.

This will also assure that no matter what changes would Apple or Linux do, Helix would remain rock solid.

 

The Helix is already a Class Compliant OS X Core Audio USB device...


  • 0

"It is not our duty to understand the arbitrary, meaningless dictates of machines"

- Don Norman in The Design of Everyday Things


#23 jensverwiebe

jensverwiebe

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 10 January 2018 - 01:34 PM

Hi, Just Startin'

 

Will it be possible to post, the steps you have made to make Alsa recognize Helix speed correctlly?

 

I guess I wil have to download ALSA and recompile it with specific exclusion of speed negotiation for the Helix,

is that so?

 

Will it be better for me to wait for it to be at the next ALSA release?

 

Was it required any kernel changes required also?

 

Thanks 

These are greate news, and

I hope Line6 will make Helix more USB compliant, on next Firmware Update

so it would work out of the box in OSX and Linux, with no driver or othe changes required.

This will also assure that no matter what changes would Apple or Linux do, Helix would remain rock solid.

 

Hi

The steps i made are very simple atm., also i only recompile the snd_usb_audio.ko for the runninng kernel.

I'am awaiting some hints from alsa devs to make the ep->freqn requested in the right way, but thats not yet solved.

Up to now all voodoo i tried did not gave me better results ( such as sync_endpoint redirection etc. )

So ....either get your kernel from the precompiled repo, or git clone the dedicated tag, up to you.( latter is better to diff later )

 

My diff:

diff --git a/sound/usb/format.c b/sound/usb/format.c
index 2c44386..1c0107d 100644
--- a/sound/usb/format.c
+++ b/sound/usb/format.c
@@ -298,6 +298,20 @@ static int parse_audio_format_rates_v2(struct snd_usb_audio *chip,
 		goto err;
 	}
 
+	/*
+	* Line6 HELIX does not respond to sample rate
+	* query requests. The only valid rate is 48000.
+	*/
+	if (chip->usb_id == USB_ID(0x0e41, 0x4244)) {
+		fp->nr_rates = 1;
+        	fp->rate_min = 48000;
+        	fp->rate_max = 48000;
+        	fp->rates = SNDRV_PCM_RATE_48000;
+        	fp->rate_table = kmalloc(sizeof(int), GFP_KERNEL);
+        	fp->rate_table[0] = 48000;
+        	return 0;
+    	}
+
 	/* get the number of sample rates first by only fetching 2 bytes */
 	ret = snd_usb_ctl_msg(dev, usb_rcvctrlpipe(dev, 0), UAC2_CS_RANGE,
 			      USB_TYPE_CLASS | USB_RECIP_INTERFACE | USB_DIR_IN,

diff --git a/sound/usb/endpoint.c b/sound/usb/endpoint.c
index c90607e..026095a 100644
--- a/sound/usb/endpoint.c
+++ b/sound/usb/endpoint.c
@@ -888,6 +888,8 @@ int snd_usb_endpoint_set_params(struct snd_usb_endpoint *ep,
 
        if (snd_usb_get_speed(ep->chip->dev) == USB_SPEED_FULL)
                ep->freqn = get_usb_full_speed_rate(rate);
+       else if (USB_ID(0x0e41, 0x4244))
+               ep->freqn = get_usb_high_speed_rate(rate + 5); // ugly helix hack
        else
                ep->freqn = get_usb_high_speed_rate(rate);
 

Then i recompile form linux/sound/usb directory with a modified makefile:

KVERSION = $(shell uname -r)

snd-usb-audio-objs := 	card.o \
			clock.o \
			endpoint.o \
			format.o \
			helper.o \
			mixer.o \
			mixer_quirks.o \
			mixer_scarlett.o \
			pcm.o \
			proc.o \
			quirks.o \
			stream.o

snd-usbmidi-lib-objs := midi.o

# Toplevel Module Dependency
obj-m += snd-usb-audio.o snd-usbmidi-lib.o

all:
	make -C /lib/modules/$(KVERSION)/build M=$(PWD) modules

clean:
	make -C /lib/modules/$(KVERSION)/build M=$(PWD) clean

The resulting snd-usb-audio.ko goes to: /lib/modules/<your_actual_kernel_version>/kernel/sound/usb

 

Unload the former module: sudo rmmod snd_usb_audio

Then either plugin your helix or if already done : sudo modprobe snd_usb_audio

 

Thats it. The line where i add 5Hz to the usbrate may vary for you, i recommend to have another usb-interface plugged it the same port and get

the runtime rate from /proc/asound/<other_interface>/stream0 ( sound must be played thru this to see the runtime parameters )

 

I will post when i have a clean solution and will try to bring this to the kernel backports then.

 

Btw: 'am not sure if the OSX behavior can be called fully class compliant, but at least there you can get 48kHz without an additional driver.

Other interfaces at least allow to read and set the samplerate in a not vendorspecific way. Would be nice Line6 could reach out for possible

Linux users/buyers here ;)

The final goal would be to have this on alsa too + later can choose the other available samplerates. Hope never dies :)

 

Does this help ? ... Jens


  • 0

#24 shemeshg

shemeshg

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 11 January 2018 - 11:19 AM

Hi, Jens

 

Yes, I can see all the 8 channels, and re-amp on linux and Ardour and all thanks to you

 

As you've mentioned 

1. JACK is required since it is not plays directly using ALSA and PulseAudio,

However, Jack sink works greate. 

2. It will be required to recopy snd_usb_audio on every kernel update.

 

But it is huge benefit being able to Re-Amp and  not to require all of those XLR cables

 

Thanks

Shemeshg


  • 0

#25 jensverwiebe

jensverwiebe

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 11 January 2018 - 02:54 PM

Hi, Jens

 

Yes, I can see all the 8 channels, and re-amp on linux and Ardour and all thanks to you

 

As you've mentioned 

1. JACK is required since it is not plays directly using ALSA and PulseAudio,

However, Jack sink works greate. 

2. It will be required to recopy snd_usb_audio on every kernel update.

 

But it is huge benefit being able to Re-Amp and  not to require all of those XLR cables

 

Thanks

Shemeshg

 

Great you made it :)

 

Yep, avoiding analog wiring is a big quality win.

As well is the working midi, which allows you to use the miditemo depending delay timings + patch changes etc..

 

Just prepare an "all time patch", we need not to change kernels such often ( i hope, ask Intel :P) )

 

If you like you can post your experience in the alsa mailing lists too. More users rise the interest for developing a full implementation.

 

Sidenote: using pulse-jacksink can disturb jack freewheeling which is for example used by Ardour (stem-) export. If you experience oddness,

just deactivate for this usecase. ( pactl unload-module module-jack-sink / pactl load-module module-jack-sink channels=2 ),

i use prepared scripts for load/unload in the linux mint cinnamon scripts applet )

 

Cheers ... Jens


  • 0