Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Found A Solution For Failed Device Detection Or "no Authorized Device" Issue On The Pc *finally*

I feel compelled to post my experience regarding this issue in the hopes that it may help out those of you who are struggling with this problem.  It appears that in many cases it might be believed that the device is defective.  

The is the second time that I have experienced a disappearing, failed detection, "no authorized device" problem on a PC (Windows 7 64bit).

This is the first time, after countless hours over a period of months, that I have been able to restore functionality.  Though I have over 25 years of experience in IT and I would have liked to pinpoint the very specific cause of this problem, I was unable to do so.  I was able to get it working again which is enough for me.  I'd like to post my scenario here and urge you to try what I tried and post the results.  It's possible that someone else might understand exactly what component corrupts and where it is located and how to deal with it.  Line 6 developers are in the best position to analyze this and provide us with the appropriate fix or information, but so far I don't see any such information or a fix forthcoming.

Most likely this problem may be the result of a few issues, one possibly being a defective device.  In other cases the problem might be remedied by all the other suggestions found throughout the forum.  What Line 6 support was able to provide via the forums as well as other helpful forum members did not help me.  I am pretty confident that it is more of a OS and software/driver issue than a hardware issue as both the machines feature entirely different chipsets/platforms.