Jump to content


Photo

Stagescape + Apple Usb To Ethernet + Apple Airport Express == Happy!

stagescape network

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 dscheidt

dscheidt

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 81 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 05 January 2014 - 06:15 PM

Some times you just have to bite the bullet...

 

I had bought one of the original USB / Wifi adapters listed in the StageScape manual, and it worked great.  Only problem is that at one point, the bag the StageScape was in was thrown away because of an adult beverage being spilled on the bag.  Unfortunately, the wifi stick was in the bag :(  I tried the Samsung one for the TVs that was mentioned, which sort of worked, but I kept getting drop outs, and at one point, the StageScape completely locked up (in the middle of a song!!!!)

 

I decided to go nuclear, and go with the "it's gotta work and be easy" route.  I picked up the Apple USB to Ethernet adapter and the Apple Airport Express on my way to the gig.  Set everything up in 5 minutes, and not ONE hiccup.  Extra bonus was that because the wifi is 802.11n, the lag was GREATLY reduced on the iPad app.

 

So far, that's been the best wifi setup for the StageScape.

 

I just wish that Line 6 would add the spectrum analyzer to the EQ on the iPad.  I can see where it'd probably be a problem with some methods of transmission, but with the Apple setup, it should be able to work...


  • 1

#2 gordwait

gordwait

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 88 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 05 January 2014 - 06:28 PM

Just got the same Apple based setup working too, no problems at all..

 

Interesting you mention the missing spectrum analyzer view on the iPad edition,

that would be nice. It's a lot of live data to shovel over the network without getting laggy, but it should be possible..


  • 0

#3 ba88ist

ba88ist

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 24 September 2014 - 03:15 PM

YES!!! YES!!!  YES!!!! This is really worth it! I talked with Tech support after trying several adaptors and reading many forum posts. some of the older posts sent me off in several directions but now Its crystal clear: The ONLY way to go is with the apple gear...as mentioned above!! 

 

After-all we can afford a $1600.00 Mixer right? whats $145.00 in parts so we can connect our $500.00 iPad ... small price to pay for ZERO connection related stresses at the gig. 

 

Another thought: If you have the cash go out and buy two more ethernet adaptors .... its safe to say they won't be around forever! 


  • 0

#4 Rick_Auricchio

Rick_Auricchio

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • LocationCambria, CA USA (central coast)
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 24 September 2014 - 04:31 PM

An additional advantage of the Airport Express is that it can be set to receive Airplay music. Just connect a 1/8" cable from the Express to the aux input of the M20d and you have music playback from your iPad or iPhone.

 

One could even buy a length of dual-Ethernet cable (called "siamese ethernet") to keep the wiring cleaner. Install Ethernet connectors on half of the cable and the 1/8" plugs on the other half.

 

http://www.hometech....e/ht-cat6s.html


  • 0
Bassist since 1970, operating live sound and small studio since 1994. Macintosh expert.

#5 ba88ist

ba88ist

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 24 September 2014 - 10:12 PM

Yeah Rick, it's convenient that Everyone (except the drummer) can play music from their phones via airplay feature so it's great for rehearsals where you want to play a tune for the band to show them a musical idea.

Also everyone (except the drummer) gets to mix their own monitors on their own iPad!!

It's CRAZY!!! Only one rehearsal so far but everyone came out smiling !
  • 0

#6 case67

case67

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • LocationSouthwest Germany
  • Registered Products:18

Posted 24 September 2014 - 11:19 PM

Hi all,

 

i have the same Apple setup with USBtoEthernet and Airport Express.and i like it.

 

There are two points to mention:

- the two wifi bands 2.4 and 5 GHz of the Airport Express are always ON, not possible to switch the 2.4 off and use the 5 only.

  I use Line6 wireless XD mics and they operate on the 2.4 GHz and i need to avoid any interference with other wifi devices like the Airport Express.

- Airplay is nice, but i would use it for rehearsal only. On stage with 'wifi active audience smartphones' i would always use a cable from iPad to m20d.

  The risk of a dropping wifi connection between iPad and Airport Express is just too high, imho.


  • 0

#7 SiWatts69

SiWatts69

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • LocationSouth Yorkshire, UK
  • Registered Products:13

Posted 25 September 2014 - 01:57 PM

- the two wifi bands 2.4 and 5 GHz of the Airport Express are always ON, not possible to switch the 2.4 off and use the 5 only.


This was covered in a previous thread...

Whilst you can't shut down the 2.4GHz network on the airport express, you CAN set it up such that your iPad and iPhones only connect to it using 5Ghz. This will at least reduce some of the potential crosstalk clutter in the 2.4GHz band even if it can't remove the channel altogether.

Keep your Airport Express a significant distance away from your XD receivers and you should be fine.
  • 0
Complete DreamStage:
M20d with 2x L3m, 2x L3s, 2x L2t & 2x L2m
XD-V75HH & XD-V75BP wireless

#8 hspeulman

hspeulman

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 13 March 2016 - 03:53 AM

I recently bought the apple extreme . This works well with the Stagescape? Or do I reset it first. My iPad recognizes them not to institutions. what do I verkeeerd . Any tips ?

Kind regards
Henk
Netherlands
  • 0

#9 hspeulman

hspeulman

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 13 March 2016 - 03:54 AM

I recently bought the apple extreme . This works well with the Stagescape? Or do I reset it first. My iPad recognizes them not to institutions. what do I wrong . Any tips ?

Kind regards
Henk
Netherlands
  • 0

#10 66d35

66d35

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 55 posts

Posted 13 March 2016 - 09:42 PM

I use an Airport extreme. Fantastic - rock solid, fast, reliable connection.

 

Do you have the USB to Ethernet adapter fitted?

 

I so, all you normally need to do is to connect an ethernet cable to one of the Airport's LAN ports (not a WAN port) and then go to 'System' on the M20D and make sure the Wi-Fi is active.


  • 1

#11 hspeulman

hspeulman

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 17 April 2016 - 07:48 AM

I use an Airport extreme. Fantastic - rock solid, fast, reliable connection.

 

Do you have the USB to Ethernet adapter fitted?

 

I so, all you normally need to do is to connect an ethernet cable to one of the Airport's LAN ports (not a WAN port) and then go to 'System' on the M20D and make sure the Wi-Fi is active.

What am I doing wrong? I have reset my extreme Apple. The Extrreme aangsloten on the Stage Cape with an Ethernet cable. (Adapter cable Ethernet to USB is not Aplle). My Ipad sees no Stage Cape. It seems so simple. What am I doing wrong?


  • 0

#12 silverhead

silverhead

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 15682 posts
  • LocationOntario, Canada
  • Registered Products:15

Posted 17 April 2016 - 09:51 AM

What am I doing wrong?..... (Adapter cable Ethernet to USB is not Aplle)...

That may be what's wrong. I was originally trying to use a non-Apple adapter with no success. Bought the Apple adapter and it immediately started to work flawlessly.


  • 0
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans.
.... John Lennon

#13 66d35

66d35

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 55 posts

Posted 17 April 2016 - 11:10 AM

The Ethernet adapter is critical. Very few work correctly. The only two I have had success with are the Apple one and another by Moshi.

 

Tried several others and they all refused to connect.


  • 0

#14 hspeulman

hspeulman

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 April 2016 - 06:59 AM

Maybe you can help me anyway . I just bought an original USB / Ethernet adapter and connected. My apple extreme I reset. Should I pre Extreme before I on the Stage Cape connecting Awaiting certain settings. The movie of the Line6 suggests not connect . My Ipad sees no internship cape. I also see that no connection is made between cases and Extreme.
Extreme need to ensure communication between the Stage Cape and my IPad . That does not happen . I see all kinds of other routers ( where I normally work at home ), but no placement cape.
Should I do anything before the Extreme ?
Thanks for the answer.
Henk from Netherlands


  • 0





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: stagescape, network