Jump to content


Photo

Johnyyyyyyyyy Help!

transplant

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 arislaf

arislaf

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1782 posts
  • LocationGreece
  • Registered Products:12

Posted 17 February 2014 - 06:12 AM

Johnyay or anybody else, how can I put the electronics of the Variax 300 to a hollowbody? Requires drilling and wood cutting or can I transfer them by ungluing the glue from the body?


  • 0

Before line6 was called line6... they used to do r&d for other companies like alesis + others. and when those customers came to visit the offices of line6 (before it was called line6) and the receptionist needed to warn all the guys who were designing products for other companies (and for themselves... ) who were like 'in the back' the receptionist would announce over a tannoy 'tellephone call for 'fred smith' on line 6' the cunning part was that they only had 5 telephone lines, so it was the secret code for "hide your sh1t the feds are comin'" or "someone's coming, let's hide these PODs that we aren't going to release for another few years so they don't see them" 

 

BEST CABS: www.studiocat.com


#2 stevekc

stevekc

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 769 posts
  • LocationSan Luis Obispo, CA USA (central coast)
  • Registered Products:14

Posted 18 February 2014 - 10:10 AM

This is just a link to the typical procedure

http://www.exit45.com/VaxII


  • 1

#3 cruisinon2

cruisinon2

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4299 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 18 February 2014 - 10:16 AM

This is just a link to the typical procedure

http://www.exit45.com/VaxII

 

Wow...I will forever remain mystified at the patience required to pull off something like that, and I had front row seats for a custom build that I had done for me years ago...saw it in various stages along the way, so I get what's involved, but when you lay it all out in pics like that it's crazy. Hats off to anybody who can do that!

 

I get cranky when the cable box doesn't respond to the remote fast enough... ;)


  • 0

#4 radatats

radatats

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2291 posts
  • LocationOrange County, NY
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 18 February 2014 - 11:48 AM

amazing job, what a very talented individual... super impressed...


  • 0

Quit complaining and DO something or help somebody with their issues...


#5 clay-man

clay-man

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1953 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 18 February 2014 - 02:30 PM

Does Warmoth still make Variax bodies?


  • 0

For a minute there, I lost myself.

Radiohead_bear-728286%5B1%5D.png 


#6 arislaf

arislaf

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1782 posts
  • LocationGreece
  • Registered Products:12

Posted 18 February 2014 - 02:33 PM

The deal is that I own a HB30 from washburn, and today I bought a second hand variax 300, looking to transfer these to there...Possible? And if yes, how?


  • 0

Before line6 was called line6... they used to do r&d for other companies like alesis + others. and when those customers came to visit the offices of line6 (before it was called line6) and the receptionist needed to warn all the guys who were designing products for other companies (and for themselves... ) who were like 'in the back' the receptionist would announce over a tannoy 'tellephone call for 'fred smith' on line 6' the cunning part was that they only had 5 telephone lines, so it was the secret code for "hide your sh1t the feds are comin'" or "someone's coming, let's hide these PODs that we aren't going to release for another few years so they don't see them" 

 

BEST CABS: www.studiocat.com


#7 Charlie_Watt

Charlie_Watt

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2498 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 18 February 2014 - 06:53 PM

The 300 guts are different than the ones shown in the above build.  That was based on an original 500.  That build was done many years ago if I recall correctly.  You used to be able to get routing templates to do the 500 transplants and Warmouth did make a Variax body.


  • 0

#8 radatats

radatats

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2291 posts
  • LocationOrange County, NY
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 18 February 2014 - 07:04 PM

The deal is that I own a HB30 from washburn, and today I bought a second hand variax 300, looking to transfer these to there...Possible? And if yes, how?

 

yep, here's the link to his White Falcon, looks like it would be a similar awesome project...   :)

 

http://line6.com/sup...stions/?p=16052


  • 0

Quit complaining and DO something or help somebody with their issues...


#9 johnnyayyy

johnnyayyy

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1377 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 19 February 2014 - 01:55 PM

Johnyay or anybody else, how can I put the electronics of the Variax 300 to a hollowbody? Requires drilling and wood cutting or can I transfer them by ungluing the glue from the body?

 

Well lollipooooooooop... most of the info on Variax transplants seems to have disappeared from the web over the years, once upon a time there was a site that showed a hollowbody conversion step by step as it was being done.

 

For my White Falcon copy I cut a hole in the back of the body, I put all the V300 electronics into a small project box from Radio Shack, then I made a rear cover plate for the guitar and screwed the box to the cover plate. I cannot access the switching or the knobs as they are sealed in the box, all tone selection is done by VDI/HD500. I could have easily put the knobs on the body but I didn't want anyone to know it was a Variax, the only giveaway visually is the jackplate.

 

It was an easy conversion and took only about a day of work start to finish, wouldn't take much longer if I had installed the pots and the switch normally.

 

For the bridge I used a GraphTech Tune-O-Matic.

 

I don't know how to open the body and reglue it to avoid cutting the hole in the back of the body, a luthier could probably tell you that.


  • 1

#10 stevekc

stevekc

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 769 posts
  • LocationSan Luis Obispo, CA USA (central coast)
  • Registered Products:14

Posted 19 February 2014 - 02:15 PM

www.vettaville.com

 

Varaix 300 Internal pics

http://www.vettaville.com/variax.htm

http://www.vettavill...iax300pics1.htm

300chassis2.jpg


  • 0

#11 arislaf

arislaf

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1782 posts
  • LocationGreece
  • Registered Products:12

Posted 20 February 2014 - 06:58 AM

Thank you guys! a lot of usefull information found here! thank's a lot for your time! and the advices !


  • 0

Before line6 was called line6... they used to do r&d for other companies like alesis + others. and when those customers came to visit the offices of line6 (before it was called line6) and the receptionist needed to warn all the guys who were designing products for other companies (and for themselves... ) who were like 'in the back' the receptionist would announce over a tannoy 'tellephone call for 'fred smith' on line 6' the cunning part was that they only had 5 telephone lines, so it was the secret code for "hide your sh1t the feds are comin'" or "someone's coming, let's hide these PODs that we aren't going to release for another few years so they don't see them" 

 

BEST CABS: www.studiocat.com






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: transplant