Jump to content


Photo

Variax Wireless Option

jtv variax pod hd hd500

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 radatats

radatats

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2317 posts
  • LocationOrange County, NY
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 19 February 2014 - 08:16 AM

I was going over some of the ideas on ideascale and came across a request for Variax wireless solution.  I think that is an awesome idea and definitely needed for JTV's to be fully embraced by the professional performers, especially on the bigger stages.  Interestingly, I also saw this link discussing an actual Line 6 unpublished feature built in to the Vetta II.  Apparently they enabled a wireless variax feature during one of the firmware upgrades that enabled the Vetta to make Variax changes over wireless.  It wasn't a complete 2 way communication solution but it certainly opened the door and showed that Line 6 themselves were at one point working it.  Why on earth they haven't exploited that ability with the POD HD series is just beyond me.

 

Anyway, here is the link to the Vetta info.  If you think its a good idea go over to ideascale and vote it up...

 

http://vettaville.nl...more.php?id=166

 

http://line6.ideasca...-23508#comments


  • 1

Quit complaining and DO something or help somebody with their issues...


#2 ajktsb

ajktsb

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Registered Products:5

Posted 19 February 2014 - 08:48 AM

Would the solution above work on other products like HD500/JTV?


  • 0

#3 radatats

radatats

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2317 posts
  • LocationOrange County, NY
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 19 February 2014 - 09:37 AM

not at this time.  as is states in the article, Line 6 actually enabled the capability in the firmware update so until they do something similar with the POD HD series there is nothing for us to build off of.


  • 0

Quit complaining and DO something or help somebody with their issues...


#4 ajktsb

ajktsb

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Registered Products:5

Posted 19 February 2014 - 05:18 PM

Bummer. I use my JTV every Sunday to lead worship and I always use the VDI cable because I use different guitar models in different patches. I've always wanted to get rid of that cable but don't want to manually change guitar models while thinking of flow and all the other stuff
I do as I lead.


  • 0

#5 kakkoee

kakkoee

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 23 January 2016 - 07:02 PM

Just here to add my vote: VARIAX WIRELESS PLEASE!! Without it, the "dream rig" is not a dream. I have the DT25, Helix, and Variax, but in order to have the Helix control the Variax I need a stupid cable at my feet. No way. So now I'm on stage with my head down finding the next patch with my feet, finding the model on the Variax while saying to my bandmates, "Wait...wait...wait... OK!" Not a dream! Still better than using a cable. 


  • 0

#6 inmazer

inmazer

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 27 April 2016 - 03:04 AM

Just want to add my voice to the choir. Line6, please give us a wireless system that gives the same functionality as connection a Variax guitar to the HD500X through a Cat5 cable. I would buy two of these immediately!


  • 0

#7 Rewolf48

Rewolf48

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1123 posts
  • LocationUK
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 27 April 2016 - 03:27 AM

http://line6.com/sup...ireless-variax/


  • 0

#8 cruisinon2

cruisinon2

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4607 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 27 April 2016 - 03:57 AM

They might do it eventually, but at the price DI was quoting, it's gonna be prohibitive for all but the most well-heeled players.
  • 0





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: jtv, variax, pod hd, hd500