Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

Come Back To Us, Prodigal Company. An Open Letter.

scheater5

I'm about to make a post that people hate.  People hate it because, "if you hate the company so much, why are you posting on their forums!!!??!!  Just go away!"  But I don't hate Line 6.  

It's what Line 6 has been doing lately that I don't see eye to eye with.   

Dear, Line 6.  I'm a professional musician.  I have QSC speakers and a Presonus board.  I don't care how "neat-o" your new speakers or mixer are.  

If I wanted an amp, I'd buy the one that made the sound I wanted.  And if I wanted one of your amps, I'd buy the one designed by Bogner.  A professional musician doesn't want an amp with an iPad.  

Maybe you're having great success.  Maybe the 16-year-old-with-parent's-money market is lucrative right now.  Bless you for it.  But don't let us fall by the wayside.  Us, the gigging musician who has carried your company through good times and down economies.  Us, who will come back, time and time again, to a company that does us right.  We're not "loyal," we just want to trust our gear on stage night after night.  

But Line 6, you haven't been trustworthy lately.  I want - I desperately want - to stay in this ecosystem, because with a few tweaks, a Variax and a PodHD truly could be a dream rig.  But I'm eyeing greener pastures a lot lately. 

Update the firmware to the Pod.  If nothing else, fix the dumb math mistakes that forum users have pointed out over and over.  

The trade shows and people who want "new shiny" have enough to chew on for a while.  Throw the gigging man a bone.  We want to come back home, Line 6. 

• Upvote 6

...A professional musician doesn't want an amp with an iPad.  .... 

...with a few tweaks, a Variax and a PodHD truly could be a dream rig..... 

...we just want to trust our gear on stage night after night......

+3000 t0 scheater5 (1000 for each bullet point) :D