Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Jump to content

I Just Purchased The Jtv-59 Sunburst

I just purchased the JTV-59 Sunburst. Have been playing on and off for 45 years. I am very impressed with this guitar. Action seems a little better then my 1972 Goldtop LP I owned when I went to Berklee College of Music. The only other one I currently own is a 2002 Jackson Soloist SL1 USA. I find the Variax playability runs a close second to it. And when considering the library of guitars sounds its has, it almost evens the score. No cosmetic issues, selection knobs work fine and the intonation is dead on. I have loved working with the power of the HD 500 with the Jackson. Looking forwrd to exploring the use of it with the Variax going forward.

When not playing the guitar, I have been a professional video editor for the past 30 years. Heres some of my work.

http://www.hdshotsan...ts/Welcome.html

Yeah, I hear ya! I don't have as many years yet, been 25 years for me- but enough that I know what it feels like to rediscover what a guitar can do, and be pleasantly surprised. I just bought my JTV59 sunburst last month, preceded by only a couple weeks by a new DT25 - have had the HD500 since 2010.

I am still on the fence, in terms of which 'firmware' sounds better- mine came loaded with the first iteration, 1.71 or something. I played it a few jam sessions, then updated to 2.0. Definitely a difference, though I hadn't spent enough time with the previous versions of the models to notice a substantial change in sound.

I think of like this - the pre-2.0 firmware models are the end of the line for the previous Variax guitar and pickup models. 2.0 represents the very first "HD" offering of their Variax guitar models, so it can be assumed there will some issues - there are many, many threads on here of people battling back and forth debating the merits of each.