Jump to content


Photo

Can't Get The 2.0 Firmware To Install In My Jtv-69s - Help


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 stos2

stos2

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 February 2014 - 05:06 PM

I just purchased the JTV-69S, and was going thru the process of installing Line 6 Monkey, Workbench, etc.  Monkey, Workbench HD and all drivers installed correctly.  When I connected the  JTV guitar to update the flash to 2.0, it fails.  I've tried several times, but keep getting the same failure 

 

"Flash Memory

Tyler Variax Update Failed

(Code 80009000) Unknown MIDI error"

 

Please help.  It changed something, as the modeling doesn't work on the guitar at all now.

 

Stos2


  • 0

#2 stos2

stos2

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 February 2014 - 08:26 PM

I was able to get it working after a few more tries. Not sure what I did, but all seems good now.
  • 1

#3 cruisinon2

cruisinon2

    Uber Guru

  • Members
  • 5014 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 01 March 2014 - 10:27 AM

I was able to get it working after a few more tries. Not sure what I did, but all seems good now.

I was able to get it working after a few more tries. Not sure what I did, but all seems good now.



It's probably nothing you did. It is an iffy process on a good day. Why I don't know. Many tales of woe on here about updating problems and getting Workbench and/or Monkey to recognize the guitar...same thing has happened to me. Sometimes I think it doesn't like which way the wind is blowing...
  • 0

#4 ucnick

ucnick

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 18 April 2014 - 07:54 AM

I have recently experienced the same issue with my JTV59 (non-US). I am in a bit of a pique about it. :angry:

 

Purchased the JTV59 end of March, worked great, a defintie asset fore my gigging, but needed to add in open E tuning for slide work, so wanted to use the Workbench, which requires ver 2.0 of the FW. Turns out this was a mistake, should have just done it on the axe in the old FW. Anyway, two days ago decided to do the alternate tuning creation. Battery was almost fully charged, should not be an issue. Running 64-bit Win7 home edition on a dual-processor Intel platform. USB connected directly to the PC.

 

After some monkeying around with the software (pun intended) to get all the software ducks in a row, I got the flash updated, sort of. I received an error message box similar to the one below, but it differed in that it said the MIDI drivers were already in use and please correct. Or something to that effect. Uh oh. Unplugged the guitar cord to shut it off and disconnected the USB cable to the PC, then reconnected and powered up the guitar, ran the Monkey, which reported flash 2.0 successfully installed. Hm. Then opened the Workbench, it recognized the guitar, ok great. Created the open E tuning, assigned it to Reso G (not one I am likely to use), uploaded it (successfully, according to the Workbench) and shut it all down. I did not have my guitar plugged into an amp, I assumed it was all straightforward. Bad assumption.

 

Plugged it in last night to woodshed, went into model mode, and... no models or tunings. None. Just the same flat tone, much lower level then the mags. The LED selectror LED lights up as normal, and when I turn to ResoG on the Alt Tuning now the LED turns deep blue, but no models or tunings. At that point, just put it away, I wanted to woodshed my chops, not chase down firmware bugs.

 

So there it sits. When I get a chance, I wll try to reflash (with the guitar connected to an amp this time!) and try to get it to work, but... this is ridiculous. It should not be such a pain to do this, seems the much vaunted Line 6 technology is still a bit hinky and neds some fixes. When I bought my HD300 a few years ago, I tried to update the FW but it was so trouble-filled I gave up, it is still at ver 1.0! I will say the JTV59 models sound and play much better then the old models, they feel like real guitars, and in modelling mode the axe responds almost identically to mag pups,. And the mag pups are pretty good (just have to back them away from the strings to get them to open up). But the software/firmware issues are just plain silly. I am an EE by profession and deal with all kind of SW tools and rarely see anything that is as flaky as this. Well, maybe Windows. But come on, guys. I know it's just a $1000 guitar (!?), please fix this instabilty, if my company sold stuff this flaky we would be in deep trouble. Please fix!

 

 


  • 0

#5 cruisinon2

cruisinon2

    Uber Guru

  • Members
  • 5014 posts
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 18 April 2014 - 09:19 AM

I have recently experienced the same issue with my JTV59 (non-US). I am in a bit of a pique about it. :angry:

 

Purchased the JTV59 end of March, worked great, a defintie asset fore my gigging, but needed to add in open E tuning for slide work, so wanted to use the Workbench, which requires ver 2.0 of the FW. Turns out this was a mistake, should have just done it on the axe in the old FW. Anyway, two days ago decided to do the alternate tuning creation. Battery was almost fully charged, should not be an issue. Running 64-bit Win7 home edition on a dual-processor Intel platform. USB connected directly to the PC.

 

After some monkeying around with the software (pun intended) to get all the software ducks in a row, I got the flash updated, sort of. I received an error message box similar to the one below, but it differed in that it said the MIDI drivers were already in use and please correct. Or something to that effect. Uh oh. Unplugged the guitar cord to shut it off and disconnected the USB cable to the PC, then reconnected and powered up the guitar, ran the Monkey, which reported flash 2.0 successfully installed. Hm. Then opened the Workbench, it recognized the guitar, ok great. Created the open E tuning, assigned it to Reso G (not one I am likely to use), uploaded it (successfully, according to the Workbench) and shut it all down. I did not have my guitar plugged into an amp, I assumed it was all straightforward. Bad assumption.

 

Plugged it in last night to woodshed, went into model mode, and... no models or tunings. None. Just the same flat tone, much lower level then the mags. The LED selectror LED lights up as normal, and when I turn to ResoG on the Alt Tuning now the LED turns deep blue, but no models or tunings. At that point, just put it away, I wanted to woodshed my chops, not chase down firmware bugs.

 

So there it sits. When I get a chance, I wll try to reflash (with the guitar connected to an amp this time!) and try to get it to work, but... this is ridiculous. It should not be such a pain to do this, seems the much vaunted Line 6 technology is still a bit hinky and neds some fixes. When I bought my HD300 a few years ago, I tried to update the FW but it was so trouble-filled I gave up, it is still at ver 1.0! I will say the JTV59 models sound and play much better then the old models, they feel like real guitars, and in modelling mode the axe responds almost identically to mag pups,. And the mag pups are pretty good (just have to back them away from the strings to get them to open up). But the software/firmware issues are just plain silly. I am an EE by profession and deal with all kind of SW tools and rarely see anything that is as flaky as this. Well, maybe Windows. But come on, guys. I know it's just a $1000 guitar (!?), please fix this instabilty, if my company sold stuff this flaky we would be in deep trouble. Please fix!

 

I sympathize with ya...and I agree. The firmware shouldn't be affected by realtive humidity, sunspots, seismic activity, which way the NASDAQ is headed, or whatever the other arbitrary circumstances are that makes it get all pi$$y. But you may find that just reflashing will clear it up...I've had a couple of unexplainable issues that occured after seemingly successful updates that went away with another firmware flash...or two.


  • 0

#6 ucnick

ucnick

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 19 April 2014 - 09:52 AM

Finally... it worked. Four tries to get that happy little "firmware successfully installed!"box! The open E tuning creation works great in Workbench! Thanks for the advice! IMHO the error box is fixable, would be nice for L6 to do so.

I may even try to update my Pod HD300 FW as well...
  • 0

#7 edstar1960

edstar1960

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1664 posts
  • LocationUK
  • Registered Products:7

Posted 20 April 2014 - 06:29 AM

I was able to get it working after a few more tries. Not sure what I did, but all seems good now.


I have had the same experience with upgrading to fw 2.0 ..... Same midi errors ...... But if you try reflashing several times it suddenly works ..... No idea why ..... Drives me nuts ...... It should work every time without fail ....
  • 0

#8 ucnick

ucnick

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 20 April 2014 - 11:07 AM

Agreed. It needs to be corrected.
  • 0

#9 bwisnasky

bwisnasky

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Registered Products:7

Posted 14 November 2014 - 07:17 AM

What I ended up doing was rolling back to 1.71 and then applying the patches one by one.. 1.82, 1.9, 2.0 and then 2.10 and it worked fine....


  • 0

#10 dkemusic

dkemusic

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 14 November 2014 - 11:34 AM

I always download the firmware first and then update from file with monkey.  I've never had much success using monkey for the whole update.

 

Dan


  • 0

#11 davidb7170

davidb7170

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 839 posts
  • LocationDavenport, IA
  • Registered Products:9

Posted 16 November 2014 - 01:51 PM

I have never (knock wood) had the usb troubles that have been reported here that often become the problems with updates, etc., but I try to avoid hooking it up very often, with all the reported problems and also the reported issues with the usb jack on the HD500X. I am extremely mindful of it when using it. Since they made the Workbench again functional using the HD500(X) & JTV's, I have been hooking up more to do that -- using the dongle/interface worked, but the guitar sounds different via the Guitar In versus the DVI, which is how I use it, so throws off my tweaking... I've been much happier using WB via the HD500X & VDI. I do still tend to edit the HD500X patches directly on the unit. I hookup & use the software to archive, but not really to do tweaking of the HD, as even when tweaking the JTV's with WB, they sound different when tweaking versus when you upload the patch to the JTV -- a subtle change between the tweak version and the uploaded version -- I find that with the HD editing as well... I never feel I hear the final outcome of either the JTV or HD tweak until I unhook from the PC & reboot the HD & JTV...

 

I had one problem with a firmware update (a couple of FW versions back - don't remember which). I have 2 JTV's a 59 & a 69S. I updated my 59, and it went fine, then I disconnected and rebooted the HD500X with the 69S, did the FW update and it didn't take -- had no output from the guitar - mags or models... Kept from panicking, and tried it again, this time it took. I have no idea why one time it did and the other it didn't. No reported usb communications errors, no difference other than the JTV model. I have never felt easy about hooking up to the PC, and yet I hear of folks where they normally operate hooked up.... Wonder if they do this while gigging? That could explain the incidence of broken usb jacks...

 

I never do a FW update on either the JTV's or the HD500X if I have some gigs coming up in the very near future, as I want time to deal with it if it goes south on me. I usually want to do when I have a weekend off, as you need to keep a clear, calm head when working through a problem. I've gotten very comfortable with tweaking HD settings on the unit itself.

 

If I recall correctly, in earlier versions of the POD family -- like the XTL & X3L - I've had both, you had the choice of using the USB or MIDI for FW updates, Workbench, and the POD editing software. I notice they still use MIDI for updating the DT amps, I believe. Have we lost that ability with the HD line? The unit still has MIDI In and Out, but all discussion of it is for MIDI linking to other devices - Out to amps with MIDI capabilities, In from DAW etc., but no mention of program or FW use that I've found anywhere. I have a midi controller hooked to an external MIDI module on my PC that could be used if I were to break the HD500X usb jack.... But if that usb jack is the only way in or out to program or archive the patches, we all have to treat it with kid gloves... I can find no mention of MIDI in that use with the HD line... If I'm missing where the info is, someone please direct me there.

 

Dave


  • 0

Line 6 Gear - Variax 300; JTV-59, JTV-69S, Pocket-POD, POD XTL - (RIP), POD X3L, HD500, HD500X, HELIX
1966 Gretsch Country Gent, 1973 Fender Tele Deluxe, 1978 Strat, 2017 Tele Elite, Epiphone LP Classic, Epiphone Special with P-90's
Gigging Amps: Alto TS210, Alto TS112A, Quilter Tone Block 200, Crown XL1000; Yorkville NX35 Speakers

 


#12 davidb7170

davidb7170

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 839 posts
  • LocationDavenport, IA
  • Registered Products:9

Posted 16 November 2014 - 02:15 PM

One other quick note -- I noticed one time when using WB, the WB software via the 500X & VDI could not communicate with my JTV with the volume knob all the way off. I usually roll off my guitar volume when shutting down my rig for the session, and hadn't rolled it back up this particular time when I was going to mess with the models. When I rolled the volume knob up, everything worked fine. I don't know if this was a fluke or not, but I now always make sure the volume knob on the JTV is full up when doing any tweaking. It could be that was a problem when I had the FW update bugger. I don't know...

 

Dave


  • 0

Line 6 Gear - Variax 300; JTV-59, JTV-69S, Pocket-POD, POD XTL - (RIP), POD X3L, HD500, HD500X, HELIX
1966 Gretsch Country Gent, 1973 Fender Tele Deluxe, 1978 Strat, 2017 Tele Elite, Epiphone LP Classic, Epiphone Special with P-90's
Gigging Amps: Alto TS210, Alto TS112A, Quilter Tone Block 200, Crown XL1000; Yorkville NX35 Speakers