Jump to content


Photo

Firmware Update


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Goooner1

Goooner1

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • LocationUK
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 21 March 2014 - 03:10 PM

My cheap eBay USB-Midi cable arrived today, had a go at trying to update the DT25 firmware, was getting nowhere with it earlier, kept getting mid error. Tried rebooting the PC, the amp, putting the amp in safe mode, trying different USB ports, wouldn't have it at all.

After reading on the forums, I ordered a better cable off Amazon for around £23.

Just came back and gave it another go, don't know why, but I thought I'd give a try to swapping the midi cabled around, I plugged the cable marked in into the out on the amp and the out on the cable to the in on the amp.

Worked first time clear.png

 

Just thought I'd put it out there in case anyone else was having the same problem, from what I've read it's quite a common issue.


  • 0

#2 Brazzy

Brazzy

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2299 posts
  • LocationU.S.A.
  • Registered Products:16

Posted 21 March 2014 - 03:26 PM

What goes out goes in. You connected them correctly. I guess they could've labeled them A and B.
  • 0

#3 Goooner1

Goooner1

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • LocationUK
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 21 March 2014 - 04:17 PM

Knowing absolutely nothing about midi, it just seems totally illogical to me to plug the lead labeled In into the Out socket, but what do I know? :)

At least it's working.
  • 0

#4 Brazzy

Brazzy

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2299 posts
  • LocationU.S.A.
  • Registered Products:16

Posted 21 March 2014 - 05:44 PM

I agree with you. I had the same moment, lol. So here's how it goes the signal flows out one connector and "in"to the other.


  • 0

#5 stumblinman

stumblinman

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 882 posts
  • LocationPacific Northwest
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 21 March 2014 - 11:42 PM

I have an old midi/usb cable lying around.  Maybe I should try this to see if it works the wrong way instead of the right way.  Such a weird thing, but makes sense at the same time.  I work in industrial instrumentation and process control, and I've always thought it was odd that we had analog input cards that actually read an output from a transmitter, and analog output cards that send a signal to an input on a valve positioner.  It's all a matter of perspective....


  • 0

#6 Goooner1

Goooner1

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 51 posts
  • LocationUK
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 22 March 2014 - 02:58 AM

Yeah, when you think about it a bit more, it does kind of make sense out from the amp into the midi thing.

Just as well I decided to give it another go, or I'd have spent another $30 on a better cable and had the same problem :)
  • 0

#7 radatats

radatats

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2317 posts
  • LocationOrange County, NY
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 22 March 2014 - 04:22 AM

Think of it like the send/return jacks on your FX loop.  You wouldn't plug the send into the other send would you?  Its telling you what direction the data is travelling at that plug point.  Data on your cable is coming OUT of the computer and needs to go IN to the DT and vice versa... 


  • 0

Quit complaining and DO something or help somebody with their issues...


#8 innovine

innovine

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 322 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 22 March 2014 - 04:45 AM

Knowing absolutely nothing about midi, it just seems totally illogical to me to plug the lead labeled In into the Out socket, but what do I know? :)

At least it's working.

 

When you have sockets on a machine, it's easy to label them with their function, IN, and OUT. But when you have a cable with midi on one end and usb on the other it's not so obvious. In this case, it's telling you what's on the other end of the cable, ie, the midi plug with OUT on it is carrying the OUT from the usb port, and would have been connected to the OUT on the computer if you were using a traditional midi cable...

 

By the way, I have two midi to usb cables, and one labels them this way, and the other labels them the opposite way, ie with where you are supposed to connect them to. *facepalm*


  • 0

#9 Brazzy

Brazzy

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2299 posts
  • LocationU.S.A.
  • Registered Products:16

Posted 22 March 2014 - 06:26 AM

Think of it like the send/return jacks on your FX loop.  You wouldn't plug the send into the other send would you?  Its telling you what direction the data is travelling at that plug point.  Data on your cable is coming OUT of the computer and needs to go IN to the DT and vice versa... 

 

Yeah maybe it would have been better to label them send and returns since it's a different connector and you can't accidentally plug a midi into an effects loop, lol.


  • 0

#10 Brazzy

Brazzy

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2299 posts
  • LocationU.S.A.
  • Registered Products:16

Posted 22 March 2014 - 06:28 AM

By the way, I have two midi to usb cables, and one labels them this way, and the other labels them the opposite way, ie with where you are supposed to connect them to. *facepalm*

 

Holy Smokes, lol.


  • 0

#11 cindy8260

cindy8260

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • LocationNorth VA
  • Registered Products:4

Posted 10 April 2014 - 04:46 AM

Thanks Guys this worked. I had no idea how the MIDI cables worked, OUT to IN IN to OUT "what" it make scense now. amp MIDI out to cable MIDI in. 


  • 0