Jump to content


Photo

Pod Hd 500x And Variax 300, Workbench Not Work.

variax pod hd 500x workbench

  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Sqwier

Sqwier

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 24 April 2014 - 08:16 AM

http://line6.com/sup...nch-175-an-r565

 

Seems the software "workbench" don't work with pod hd500x and variax 300/500/700.

Fu**ing kidding me? I paid for a pod hd500x and a variax 300, and i have to pay more for a workbench interface??! Seriously?


  • 0

#2 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17784 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:17

Posted 24 April 2014 - 08:35 AM

Yes, that functionality will not be added to the 500x, you could slightly downgrade to the 500 (non x) and it will work.

the 500x was released after the original variax workbench had ceased development.


  • 0

#3 Palico

Palico

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 741 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 29 April 2014 - 08:43 AM

Hmm. I'm planning on getting HD500X and would like to keep my workbench for Variax 500. Any where I could find the list of compatable devices to use for interface to the old workbench? Is only the older POD units? I really would not want another one around but if I could pick up old bean or something cheap just of that.


  • 0

#4 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17784 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:17

Posted 29 April 2014 - 08:45 AM

why not just get a pod HD500 instead of the 500X, the differences are minor.


  • 0

#5 Palico

Palico

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 741 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 29 April 2014 - 09:35 AM

That though had cross my mind. A bit cheaper to get a used one too. When I do drop some cash I just try to get caught up technology wise. Keeping the Variax 500 mainly because I like the fact it doesn't have magnetic pickups. 


  • 1

#6 Palico

Palico

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 741 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 29 April 2014 - 10:01 AM

Ahh I found the plastic USB inteface can still be had from sweetwater for $100. Suck to drop 100 on a little inteface. Maybe I should keep my X3 live around since I would get about $100 in trade in for it. Just for the interface and I could keep it setup for home practicing.  

 

I love the flexablity of this digital stuff but the keeping the old setups working was eaiser! Also have to keep a machine around that can run it as long as I want to keep using this version.  

 

For Line6: Keeping just enough backwards comptablity in the new software to work with old hardware might be a good selling point. Gutiarist seem to like old equipment we comfrotable with.


  • 0

#7 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17784 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:17

Posted 29 April 2014 - 12:09 PM

I do keep hoping that they will come out with a cheaper gen2 variax... no pickups, etc... just a foot in the door model like a melody maker kind of thing.

the more variaxes they sell the more likely they are to keep long term support.


  • 1

#8 arislaf

arislaf

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1816 posts
  • LocationGreece
  • Registered Products:12

Posted 29 April 2014 - 12:30 PM

I do keep hoping that they will come out with a cheaper gen2 variax... no pickups, etc... just a foot in the door model like a melody maker kind of thing.

the more variaxes they sell the more likely they are to keep long term support.

This would be awesome!! For us, the guys that hate pickups would be perfect!!


  • 1

Before line6 was called line6... they used to do r&d for other companies like alesis + others. and when those customers came to visit the offices of line6 (before it was called line6) and the receptionist needed to warn all the guys who were designing products for other companies (and for themselves... ) who were like 'in the back' the receptionist would announce over a tannoy 'tellephone call for 'fred smith' on line 6' the cunning part was that they only had 5 telephone lines, so it was the secret code for "hide your sh1t the feds are comin'" or "someone's coming, let's hide these PODs that we aren't going to release for another few years so they don't see them" 

 

BEST CABS: www.studiocat.com


#9 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17784 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:17

Posted 29 April 2014 - 12:55 PM

I agree, but apparently they added pickups etc as a means of addressing complaints about the original variax...

meaning they aren't too keen on making this happen...

i think it would be killer and sell tons.. especially in a telecaster/esquire shape which would help the no pickup look and have a larger than needed pickguard to hide the electronics/routing.


  • 0

#10 Charlie_Watt

Charlie_Watt

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2515 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 29 April 2014 - 01:03 PM

I am sure that they got many requests to include pickups before they designed the JTV's.  I like the pickups.  I don't think they will come out with a cheaper Variax because it would just cause more grief for support.  The Variax is not an easy product to support as it is.


  • 0

#11 Palico

Palico

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 741 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 30 April 2014 - 04:40 AM

This would be awesome!! For us, the guys that hate pickups would be perfect!!

 LOL. I thought I was the only one. A TeleShaped Variax with no pickups would be awesome. I'll buy it in heart beat. Wonder if the someone could gut a JTV and custom build something like that. But I don't know if the eletronics would function without them since L6 designed them with the Mags in mind. 


  • 0

#12 arislaf

arislaf

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1816 posts
  • LocationGreece
  • Registered Products:12

Posted 30 April 2014 - 04:50 AM

 LOL. I thought I was the only one. A TeleShaped Variax with no pickups would be awesome. I'll buy it in heart beat. Wonder if the someone could gut a JTV and custom build something like that. But I don't know if the eletronics would function without them since L6 designed them with the Mags in mind. 

Matter of fact, i tried to remove the guts of my 69s and put them in my 700 without the mags... I have to cut wood from my 700 to make it fit (at minimum).

Very big risk, i didn't take... A tele, or a flying V, or even the 700 shape are awesome!!!

 

P.S. We are abou6-7 that hate the mags :)


  • 1

Before line6 was called line6... they used to do r&d for other companies like alesis + others. and when those customers came to visit the offices of line6 (before it was called line6) and the receptionist needed to warn all the guys who were designing products for other companies (and for themselves... ) who were like 'in the back' the receptionist would announce over a tannoy 'tellephone call for 'fred smith' on line 6' the cunning part was that they only had 5 telephone lines, so it was the secret code for "hide your sh1t the feds are comin'" or "someone's coming, let's hide these PODs that we aren't going to release for another few years so they don't see them" 

 

BEST CABS: www.studiocat.com


#13 worshipwino

worshipwino

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 August 2014 - 04:33 PM

Ahh I found the plastic USB inteface can still be had from sweetwater for $100. Suck to drop 100 on a little inteface. Maybe I should keep my X3 live around since I would get about $100 in trade in for it. Just for the interface and I could keep it setup for home practicing.  

 

I love the flexablity of this digital stuff but the keeping the old setups working was eaiser! Also have to keep a machine around that can run it as long as I want to keep using this version.  

 

For Line6: Keeping just enough backwards comptablity in the new software to work with old hardware might be a good selling point. Gutiarist seem to like old equipment we comfrotable with.

Yes, Line6, Your new equipment shouldn't penalize your old equipment??????

 

http://line6.com/sup...nch-175-an-r565

 

Seems the software "workbench" don't work with pod hd500x and variax 300/500/700.

Fu**ing kidding me? I paid for a pod hd500x and a variax 300, and i have to pay more for a workbench interface??! Seriously?

Seriously sucks,,,


  • 0

#14 worshipwino

worshipwino

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 August 2014 - 04:37 PM

So, by buying A HD500X my Variax 300 workbench isn't compatible?

Great promotion feature...


  • 0

#15 worshipwino

worshipwino

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 August 2014 - 04:39 PM

Yes, that functionality will not be added to the 500x, you could slightly downgrade to the 500 (non x) and it will work.

the 500x was released after the original variax workbench had ceased development.

That would mean returning my HD500X.


  • 0

#16 worshipwino

worshipwino

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 August 2014 - 04:41 PM

Yes, that functionality will not be added to the 500x, you could slightly downgrade to the 500 (non x) and it will work.

the 500x was released after the original variax workbench had ceased development.

That would mean returning my HD500X.

 

why not just get a pod HD500 instead of the 500X, the differences are minor.

Not really,


  • 0

#17 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 17784 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA
  • Registered Products:17

Posted 09 August 2014 - 04:42 PM

Yes, confirmed it doesn't work, and will not be made to work... all that was in the thread...

i realize you're not happy with that... but that's the way technology works...

it's just workbench... your variax will continue to work... and you can still play it forever.


  • 0

#18 32water

32water

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 01 December 2014 - 02:41 PM

Line 6 doesn't mention the argument selling HD500X, do you think this is correct?!! I don't think it is. My Variax 700 cost 1400Euro, It is absolutely not correct.


  • 0

#19 32water

32water

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 01 December 2014 - 02:43 PM

And then....We lost functionalities like setting a different tuning, do you still think it is correct?


  • 0

#20 radatats

radatats

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2322 posts
  • LocationOrange County, NY
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 01 December 2014 - 03:00 PM

research? you mean BEFORE I buy it?

 

manual-manual-we-dont-need-no-stinking-m


  • 0

Quit complaining and DO something or help somebody with their issues...


#21 clay-man

clay-man

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1964 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 01 December 2014 - 03:33 PM

Will never agree with this decision that Line 6 made. Could of easily gotten a 500x and saved me so much trouble and pain with dealing with a sketchy 500 unit, and they'd actually profit from my purchase.


  • 0

For a minute there, I lost myself.

Radiohead_bear-728286%5B1%5D.png 


#22 Charlie_Watt

Charlie_Watt

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2515 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 01 December 2014 - 05:17 PM

The USB interface that comes with WB still works.


  • 0

#23 WardMan

WardMan

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 21 December 2014 - 07:57 PM

And I wondered why I was having trouble getting Workbench to work after buying my HD500X. It does seem a bit of a backwards step to remove this feature. I understand I can still use my Variax, but I want to experiment with different pickups, tunings etc.


  • 0

Variax 600 > HD500X > DT25  | Pro Tools  | Amplitube

By day I'm a financial planner - at night I play guitar and blog about guitar stuff over at Strictly Guitar

 


#24 Charlie_Watt

Charlie_Watt

    Guru

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2515 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 22 December 2014 - 07:49 AM

Use the USB interface.


  • 0