Jump to content


Photo

Thinking of buying preowned (possibly already registered FBV Shortboard MkII


Best Answer phil_m , 21 May 2014 - 08:59 AM

The previous owner can and should de-register it when he sells it to you. It's not a big deal at all. As far as using it to do the update, you don't even have to have it registered for it to connect to Monkey and do the update. That's the case with all Line 6 products. Firmware updates are never dependent on the product being registered. Monkey will ask you if you want to register, but you can say no and move on.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 RobEd94

RobEd94

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 May 2014 - 08:33 AM

I'm wanting to buy a preowned FBV Shortboard MkII as I can't really afford a new one. I have a question though, if the previous owner has already registered it with their Line 6 account will I be unable to register it with my account and not be able to update my Spider IV amp?


  • 0

#2 phil_m

phil_m

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 5479 posts
  • LocationMinneapolis, MN

Posted 21 May 2014 - 08:59 AM   Best Answer

The previous owner can and should de-register it when he sells it to you. It's not a big deal at all. As far as using it to do the update, you don't even have to have it registered for it to connect to Monkey and do the update. That's the case with all Line 6 products. Firmware updates are never dependent on the product being registered. Monkey will ask you if you want to register, but you can say no and move on.


  • 1
Time is a train
Makes the future the past
Leaves you standing in the station
Your face pressed up against the glass

 


#3 RobEd94

RobEd94

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 May 2014 - 09:26 AM

Thank you. It just said that the Infusion update requires the 'purchase and registration' of the FBV, so I got a little confused. http://line6.com/sup...?st=0#comment_0


  • 0

#4 fflbrgst

fflbrgst

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1704 posts
  • LocationNew England

Posted 22 May 2014 - 04:19 AM

I don't believe that's the case - only the purchase and registration of the Spider IV is needed, as some people have been able to update their amps by bringing them to the store where they purchased and using the store's FBV and online connectivity to update their amps.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users