Jump to content


Photo

Individule String Volume


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 mferrand

mferrand

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 03 June 2013 - 10:52 AM

Hey All,

 

Is there any way to adjust the volume of the individule strings.  The low 'E' on my JTV59 seems to have less volume then the others.  If I turn up the bass on my amp it affects all the strings which I don't want.  I thought there might be an internal adjustment.

 

Cheers, Mike


  • 0

#2 LarryLion

LarryLion

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
  • LocationCaledon, Ontario
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 03 June 2013 - 10:58 AM

Try using a string with higher steel content, failing which, a higher gauge, or raise the action on that string slightly, or a combination of all three (steel+gauge+action).

 

Larry 


  • 1

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Larry d'Lion

 

2012 Line 6 JTV-69

Plus lots of Tele's, Gretsches,

Mesa Boogie amps, Fender Blues Jr.,

... and lots of acoustic stuff


#3 LarryLion

LarryLion

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
  • LocationCaledon, Ontario
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 03 June 2013 - 11:00 AM

Damn, I should have added, that's for the mag pickups.  If you are just using modeling, I'm not sure my suggestion will make any difference at all - you might find something in the Variax WB software, cannot remember.

 

Larry


  • 1

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Larry d'Lion

 

2012 Line 6 JTV-69

Plus lots of Tele's, Gretsches,

Mesa Boogie amps, Fender Blues Jr.,

... and lots of acoustic stuff


#4 rlumpkin

rlumpkin

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Registered Products:3

Posted 03 June 2013 - 11:17 AM

There is a universal string volume setting in the Variax workbench for the modeled tones (Larry is correct). 

 

This will apply for all models - unfortunately you can't set up different volumes for different models.  I wish I could set up a five-string, "blues-G" tele for Keith Richards' songs by setting the 6th string to 0 volume, but this currently isn't an option.


  • 0

#5 mferrand

mferrand

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 03 June 2013 - 12:35 PM

To All,

 

Yes - this is for modeled versions.  I was hoping maybe on one of the boards there were six tiny adjustments!

 

Cheers, Mike


  • 0

#6 nikoniablue

nikoniablue

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • LocationSt Albans, England
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 04 June 2013 - 08:12 AM

There is a universal string volume setting in the Variax workbench for the modeled tones (Larry is correct). 

 

This will apply for all models - unfortunately you can't set up different volumes for different models.  I wish I could set up a five-string, "blues-G" tele for Keith Richards' songs by setting the 6th string to 0 volume, but this currently isn't an option.

For Keith Richards you could (virtually) tune the sixth string up to G and the rest to regular open G.  That way, if you hit the low E string while doing Rolling Stones impressions it will sound pretty much the same - better for that use than the standard low "D" in open G tuning.


  • 1

#7 delahoya

delahoya

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 26 September 2014 - 11:21 PM

Any solutions... I have the same problem on my JTV-59.... Low E less volume than the others. Please help??


  • 0

#8 thorneven

thorneven

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 300 posts
  • Location"Upstate" New York
  • Registered Products:9

Posted 27 September 2014 - 02:31 PM

In Workbench HD, pulldown menu Edit > Global String Levels.  AS has been said previously, that adjustment is for models (string saddle piezo pickups), not the magnetic pickups.


  • 1

1969 Les Paul Custom / Spider V 120 (studio) & 240 (stage) / FBV 3.  FORMERLY: JTV-59 + Pod HD500X + Spider IV, Vetta 2 / Behringer FCB1010. HISTORY: Spider IV, Spider III, AX212, Marshall, Acoustic, and various preamp + amp rack componentry.


#9 cruisinon2

cruisinon2

    Uber Guru

  • Members
  • 5062 posts
  • Registered Products:5

Posted 30 September 2014 - 04:27 AM

Any solutions... I have the same problem on my JTV-59.... Low E less volume than the others. Please help??


Individual string volumes are changeable, either globally or on a per model basis, in HD Workbench. If your low E is not loud enough with all 6 string volumes set to 100% (which is the default), then you could try lowering the others to compensate, until everything evens out. Will likely be a trial and error thing...
  • 0

#10 edstar1960

edstar1960

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1664 posts
  • LocationUK
  • Registered Products:7

Posted 30 September 2014 - 04:51 AM

There is a universal string volume setting in the Variax workbench for the modeled tones (Larry is correct). 

 

This will apply for all models - unfortunately you can't set up different volumes for different models.  I wish I could set up a five-string, "blues-G" tele for Keith Richards' songs by setting the 6th string to 0 volume, but this currently isn't an option.

 

With Workbench HD you can set individual string volumes for each model - and that allows you to set the low E string to zero volume so it can't be heard if you so wish. You have to be on firmware v2.0 or v2.1 for Workbench HD. If you are on v1.9 or lower then you have to use the old Workbench which does not allow you to do this.


  • 0

#11 delahoya

delahoya

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 30 September 2014 - 10:11 AM

I solved my problem. In another post someone mention "be sure to put the fat side of the string facing up"


  • 0

#12 Rewolf48

Rewolf48

    Power User

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1203 posts
  • LocationUK
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 01 October 2014 - 03:53 AM

You'll have to explain that one to me... my strings are round in profile and don't have a "fat side"  :huh:


  • 1

#13 cruisinon2

cruisinon2

    Uber Guru

  • Members
  • 5062 posts
  • Registered Products:5

Posted 01 October 2014 - 04:11 AM

You'll have to explain that one to me... my strings are round in profile and don't have a "fat side" :huh:


Anxiously awaiting an explanation for this one myself...
  • 0

#14 GLP122751

GLP122751

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 02 October 2014 - 08:47 AM

Found the thread still not sure what they are talking about

 

http://line6.com/sup...ew/thread/79793


  • 0

#15 cruisinon2

cruisinon2

    Uber Guru

  • Members
  • 5062 posts
  • Registered Products:5

Posted 02 October 2014 - 04:37 PM

Found the thread still not sure what they are talking about

http://line6.com/sup...ew/thread/79793


That's because it doesn't make any sense. I've been looking at guitar string for 25+ years. They're round...round things don't have "sides".
  • 0

#16 GLP122751

GLP122751

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Registered Products:6

Posted 02 October 2014 - 07:09 PM

I totally agree 


  • 0