26 replies to this topic

#1 SpiritSeeker

SpiritSeeker

Just Startin'

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 June 2013 - 07:34 AM

I am extremely confused, but that is another story. :)

I have been playing guitar for 30 years (since I was a wee tot). I am looking for a modeling amp and speaker(s) for my studio and playing with friends. There are lots of options out there but I just don't know the real scoop vs. the hype.

I love Line 6 products but everyone is talking Kemper and Fractal.

Is the Line 6 Pro HD that inferior?

I am thinking about buying a Stage Source L3t and a Modeler. I play an Anderson Classic Strat and a Martin 000 acoustic. I realize that this is the Line 6 forum, but what do you guys think about the options open to me? I guess I can buy a Kemper and L3t but for 3x the price, is is really that different from the Kemper? I won't be profiling any existing amps/cabs, but will need profiles/rigs.

I won't be playing with Larry Carlton, Keith Urban or Brad Paisley.

Thanks

Bill

#2 TheRealZap

TheRealZap

Uber Guru

• Line 6 Expert
  • 14805 posts
  • LocationClemmons, NC USA

Posted 05 June 2013 - 08:03 AM

Neither of those options are 3x better than the HD.... although they clearly should be better given the price difference! it's subjective... and you'll never find owners of those other devices who say "the HD was better and i'm just a sucker"

basically... they will all say they have the better deal... to justify their purchase... and it may well suit their needs better... 

I personally think that your needs and your desire to use the L3 speakers... the HD would be better for you...

but i can't deny that those other units probably have benefits as well... 

my advice... please yourself.. listen to them, and if you see\hear something you like and can justify the cost go for it.

#3 silverhead

silverhead

Uber Guru

• Line 6 Expert
  • 11094 posts
  • LocationOttawa, Ontario, Canada

Posted 05 June 2013 - 08:08 AM