Jump to content


Photo

Are footswitches better in HD500X?

footswitch endurance resistance hd500x microswitch

Best Answer phil_m , 19 June 2014 - 11:25 AM

Well, it's a different plunger mechanism from what I understand, and it is being marketed as being more robust. As to what that means, I can't say exactly. I can't say I've seen anyone complaining about the switches on a HD500X failing, but I do see people having issues with the HD500 switches every now and then. But, of course, the HD500 is an older product with a broader user base at this point, too.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 lachinelli

lachinelli

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 19 June 2014 - 10:50 AM

My HD500 works fine and all and I know the 2 differences between HD500 and HD500X. I hardly use dual-amps but I was interested in knowing if footpedals on HD500X endure better. It's my belief that the changes are only aesthetic; just more light, different footswitch but the microswitch in the board is probably the same one.

Does anyone know if footswitches are actually better?


  • 0

#2 phil_m

phil_m

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 8486 posts
  • LocationMinneapolis, MN
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 19 June 2014 - 11:25 AM   Best Answer

Well, it's a different plunger mechanism from what I understand, and it is being marketed as being more robust. As to what that means, I can't say exactly. I can't say I've seen anyone complaining about the switches on a HD500X failing, but I do see people having issues with the HD500 switches every now and then. But, of course, the HD500 is an older product with a broader user base at this point, too.


  • 1

"It is not our duty to understand the arbitrary, meaningless dictates of machines"

- Don Norman in The Design of Everyday Things


#3 bmcoonan

bmcoonan

    Just Startin'

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Registered Products:1

Posted 27 July 2014 - 09:46 AM

My bottom row of switches don't appear to 'click' anymore - like I can't feel when they are actually changing like I could when I got it a year ago - the 4 up top still do, but then I don't use them nearly as much so in my experience, I don't find them to be that robust really.


  • 0

<p>Brian HD500X, Marshall JVM 410


#4 stumblinman

stumblinman

    Gear Head

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 882 posts
  • LocationPacific Northwest
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 27 July 2014 - 05:50 PM

There's actually several posts on this board about switch issues on the 500x. How many are attributed to board issues and how many are strictly switch issues has not been quantified.

Well, it's a different plunger mechanism from what I understand, and it is being marketed as being more robust. As to what that means, I can't say exactly. I can't say I've seen anyone complaining about the switches on a HD500X failing, but I do see people having issues with the HD500 switches every now and then. But, of course, the HD500 is an older product with a broader user base at this point, too.


  • 0

#5 phil_m

phil_m

    Uber Guru

  • Line 6 Expert
  • 8486 posts
  • LocationMinneapolis, MN
  • Registered Products:2

Posted 27 July 2014 - 06:36 PM

There's actually several posts on this board about switch issues on the 500x. How many are attributed to board issues and how many are strictly switch issues has not been quantified.
 

 

Well, the post you quoted is from over a month ago, and back then I hadn't seen any posts about people having issues with the HD500X's footswitches. And, actually, other than the comment in this post, I still haven't really. I'm not saying there aren't any. I don't see every post on this forum, but I do see most of them. I'm not making any claim other than sharing my anecdotal evidence.


  • 0

"It is not our duty to understand the arbitrary, meaningless dictates of machines"

- Don Norman in The Design of Everyday Things


#6 Matt_Brown

Matt_Brown

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Registered Products:5

Posted 19 January 2015 - 09:03 AM

I've had my 500X just over a year and last night the lights on the switches on the left hand side failed to light (FS4/8 & Looper/Tap).  Today they fault has moved across the board and only FS2 and 3 light when active.  The other switches 'work' but as you can't see what is on/off its very confusing!

 

Anyone else had this issue or can suggest a resolution?  I will contact the dealer but I guess they are gonna say its out of warranty! :-(


  • 0

#7 Matt_Brown

Matt_Brown

    Iknowathingortwo

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Registered Products:5

Posted 25 January 2015 - 10:37 AM

Ok, so couldn't get it sorted under warranty. Opened the unit up and the ribbon connector had come loose. Clipped it back in and lights are fine!

just in case anyone was thinking of helping with this :-P
  • 1





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: footswitch, endurance, resistance, hd500x, microswitch